We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs investment in Leisure Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel.
The first time was also a single overnight stay before flying off on holiday.
We booked here because they have a leaisure club with a pool, a gym, and sauna, jacuzi, steam room.

The first time we stayed the Gym, pool and other leisure facilities were all out of use.
We kicked ourselves for not checking in advanced, but put it down to experience.

Today we rang ahead to ensure the leisure facilities were available.
Unfortunately, when we got here there were still a number of problems.

We have been members of a local gym for many years, and expect a certain level of service from a gym/leisure club.
The first problem was that they didn't have any towels for guests.
We had to go back up to reception and collect them ourselves, even though there were three very bored looking assistants who could have offered to get them for us.
I don't understand why they couldn't have had a pile of towels in the gym ready for hotel guests.

The next problem was they had decided to turn the men's changing room into a temporary Ladies changing room.
We had no problem with this, but there was no indication or signs to indicate where the men were supposed to change.
It was in fact in the ladies around the corner, but nobody bothered to put up a sign, and I had to ask where the men's changing room was.

The next problem was the lockers took pound coins.
Now I realise this might be a bit picky, but, I'm in a hotel, and I don't happen to carry loose change when I go for a work-out in my local gym.
So, it's back to the gym reception to ask to borrow a pound coin.

The gym equipment was reasonably up-to-date, although it was strange to still see 14" portable tellies on the wall and not flat-screen LCD. It's now pretty obvious they don't like spending money on this place.

After pounding the treadmill we returned to the changing rooms, and I changed for the pool/sauna.
Through another door was the jacuzzi filled with tarpaulin, the steam room (out-of-order), the sauna and the showers.
I walked through to the pool, and in this larger room was another defunct jacuzzi and a reasonable pool area.

Overall, a very disappointing experience of the leisure facilities, considering that was the main reason for returning to this hotel.

post-script from the Mrs;
The temporary ladies changing rooms were so filthy she was reluctant to take her flip-flops off.
However, she had pre-booked a facial in the "Violet Haze" beauty rooms, which she found absolutely fabulous, a wonderful start to her holiday, and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a constructive and informative review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you felt so disappointed with our leisure facilities and that you were not informed the steam room and spa bath were not functioning. We were very concerned to read your comments regarding cleanliness and lack of signage. We are currently investigating the changing room situation, this normally occurs when cleaning is taking place, however, signage should have been displayed and made clear to guests where gents should change. On check in, guests should be advised that they should collect a towel from the Front Desk if they are planning to use the leisure club. Overall, we are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations and wish to confirm your comments will be fully investigated and discussed with our management team. We were very pleased to read how much your wife enjoyed her treatments with Violet Haze. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,296 - 1,302 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed here as we won a night at a Slient Auction. We had a meal in the Terrace Restaurant which was lovely, compliments to the chef! The restaurant manager was very friendly, and Yousuf the receptionist was very polite and smiley, he made us feel very welcome! Thank you :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Cothorne Effingham Park is, pleasantly, surrounded by beautiful woodlands. We were surprised with the excellent service and assistance which we were given by each of the hotel staff whom we met during our stay. Our room was. very clean throughout. With the outside temperature being at 'Minus 2 degrees Celcius' the room temperature was very comfortable indeed and also very quiet,.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfzamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

Thank you very much for your review, following your recent stay.     We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay along with the surroundings of the hotel, also that you were well cared for by our staff.      We do hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you once again for your nice comments.Kind regardsGuest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here on return from Kenya having parked my car there before departing for my holiday. Very efficient and friendly. Excellent transport to airport (payable on bus) and safe parking whilst away. Hotel is top rate and food very good. Beautiful golf course to look out on and very quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay.    We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel, also that you found our location convenient to the airport with on site car parking.     We hope you had a wonderful holiday to Kenya and that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

After a 6 hour drive we arrived to be greeted by an objectionable male receptionist who was unhelpful to say the least. The room itself had an unusual odour and was quite shabby, not quite what we expected from a 4 star establishment. During the night we were awakened by rattling pipes and a noise from the bathroom like a draining sink. This carried on all night. We didnt require the offered wake up call as we didnt sleep a wink! The transfer to Gatwick was quick and easy which I have to say was the best service offered.
If you require rubbish service and sleep deprivation this is the hotel to book!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Thank you for your review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very concerned to read you were not given a hospitable welcome on arrival at the hotel, we will be investigating the behaviour of the receptionist you have described with his Manager. Please accept our sincere apologies, also for your disturbed night, your comments regarding the plumbing noises will be investigated by our Property Maintenance Manager. Please be assured all your comments will be investigated. We are extremely sorry you were disappointed with your stay, of course, however, we were pleased to read you found the transfer and proximity to the airport to be convenient.
Thank you once again for your response.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

On first impressions walking into the lobby, very nice but thats where the pleasantries stop.
Two girls on reception one very nice and helpful the other could not care less.
We were given our room key and thats that, no info on breakfast, meals etc.
Once in the room we were very dissapointed for a four star hotel. The bathroom has seen better days, very tired decor and mould around the bath, not nice!
We then decided to try out the leisure facilities, what a joke. The pool was ok, but the kids pool shut, steam room shut, jacuzzi shut and changing room showers you can only describe as being there, not very good at all. The hotel lounge bar was ok but very expensive, the larger sports bar in the basement not too bad but again the decor around the hotel has seen better days.
One last note about the housekeeping - Sunday morning 8am, they came waltzing into our room trying to clean it, when I told them to get out as we were still in bed only to have them mutter something and slam the door on there way out.
Would not stay at this hotel again, there are better ones in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghDuffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very disturbed to read your comments on the variable welcome you were given by our Reception team, may I assure you your comments will be investigated as will our housekeeping staff who entered your room in the morning, our sincere apologies. We are very sorry certain facilities in the health club were not functioning and that you were not advised. We have also noted your comments regarding our food and beverage products and have asked our Property Manager to advise with regard to your bathroom.
Thank you once again for your constructive comments, we are extremely sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Thank you again for a fantastic weekend. Everyone at the Copthorne made our stay relaxing and made us feel very special. This is the fourth time we have stayed here and again the room was clean and spacious. We had breakfast and dinner during our stay and the food was very good and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive.

I have stayed in many hotels both for pleasure and business and I can honestly say the service we receive from all staff members at the Copthorne is exemplary. I am staying at the Copthorne again next week on business and I will be bringing my wife back again in March to celebrate her Birthday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on our hotel following your recent stay, our apologies for the delay in responding to you. We were naturally very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodation , food and service to be of a high standard. We do hope you enjoyed your next stay and we look forward to welcoming your wife and yourself back in March. Please let us know when you are staying so we can surpise her with something nice.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,331 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing