We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
portsmouth
1 review
“Excellent customer service in a lovely location”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The hotel was in a lovely setting with a beautiful lake in the grounds and golfing. My husband and I were greeted with a smile at reception and the room service was quick and excellently presented. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had dinner reserved in the hotel restaurant and all our needs were met and nothing was too much for the waiters and staff during our meal. We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzycat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were extremely pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the location, staff and facilities.
We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel soon, thank you once again for your compliments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    371
    353
    255
    217
See reviews for
204
662
55
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

we stayed here for just one night prior to flying from Gatwick. The staff could not have been more helpful both on the night we stayed and on the return when we picked up the car. we chose to have a meal in the restaurant on the evening that we stayed which was delicious, again the service was excellent. I would recommend Copthorne Effingham Park to anyone for this purpose.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastwood27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient to the airport. We have passed your comments on to our Head Chef regarding your meal in our restaurant. We hope you had a most enjoyable holiday and that we will see you again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The location is good for transiting in and out of Gatwick, particularly if you want to be away from the airport complex itself, but you're still only 10/15 minutes away. Public rooms are well presented and staff very helpful. It gets the 4th star for all the extra facilities offered, but if you're transiting through you may not have a chance to enjoy them.
However, the rooms are tired and a little shabby. It needs significant investment to upgrade them, and given the room price per night, it's perhaps a little overpriced, more of a 3 star than a 4, based on the rooms alone. There was also a strange (almost "nursing home") smell in the corridors and elevators.
I had a discounted rate, so perhaps got a "discounted" room, but if I had paid full price I would not consider this good value. Breakfast was an extra £11.00 per head, which alot, compared to what other hotels provide and charge for similar.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We very much appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and your comments have been noted.
We are glad you found our location convenient and the staff helpful and friendly. All comments made by our guests are reviewed by our management team, so thank you once again. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel.
The first time was also a single overnight stay before flying off on holiday.
We booked here because they have a leaisure club with a pool, a gym, and sauna, jacuzi, steam room.

The first time we stayed the Gym, pool and other leisure facilities were all out of use.
We kicked ourselves for not checking in advanced, but put it down to experience.

Today we rang ahead to ensure the leisure facilities were available.
Unfortunately, when we got here there were still a number of problems.

We have been members of a local gym for many years, and expect a certain level of service from a gym/leisure club.
The first problem was that they didn't have any towels for guests.
We had to go back up to reception and collect them ourselves, even though there were three very bored looking assistants who could have offered to get them for us.
I don't understand why they couldn't have had a pile of towels in the gym ready for hotel guests.

The next problem was they had decided to turn the men's changing room into a temporary Ladies changing room.
We had no problem with this, but there was no indication or signs to indicate where the men were supposed to change.
It was in fact in the ladies around the corner, but nobody bothered to put up a sign, and I had to ask where the men's changing room was.

The next problem was the lockers took pound coins.
Now I realise this might be a bit picky, but, I'm in a hotel, and I don't happen to carry loose change when I go for a work-out in my local gym.
So, it's back to the gym reception to ask to borrow a pound coin.

The gym equipment was reasonably up-to-date, although it was strange to still see 14" portable tellies on the wall and not flat-screen LCD. It's now pretty obvious they don't like spending money on this place.

After pounding the treadmill we returned to the changing rooms, and I changed for the pool/sauna.
Through another door was the jacuzzi filled with tarpaulin, the steam room (out-of-order), the sauna and the showers.
I walked through to the pool, and in this larger room was another defunct jacuzzi and a reasonable pool area.

Overall, a very disappointing experience of the leisure facilities, considering that was the main reason for returning to this hotel.

post-script from the Mrs;
The temporary ladies changing rooms were so filthy she was reluctant to take her flip-flops off.
However, she had pre-booked a facial in the "Violet Haze" beauty rooms, which she found absolutely fabulous, a wonderful start to her holiday, and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a constructive and informative review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you felt so disappointed with our leisure facilities and that you were not informed the steam room and spa bath were not functioning. We were very concerned to read your comments regarding cleanliness and lack of signage. We are currently investigating the changing room situation, this normally occurs when cleaning is taking place, however, signage should have been displayed and made clear to guests where gents should change. On check in, guests should be advised that they should collect a towel from the Front Desk if they are planning to use the leisure club. Overall, we are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations and wish to confirm your comments will be fully investigated and discussed with our management team. We were very pleased to read how much your wife enjoyed her treatments with Violet Haze. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed here as we won a night at a Slient Auction. We had a meal in the Terrace Restaurant which was lovely, compliments to the chef! The restaurant manager was very friendly, and Yousuf the receptionist was very polite and smiley, he made us feel very welcome! Thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Cothorne Effingham Park is, pleasantly, surrounded by beautiful woodlands. We were surprised with the excellent service and assistance which we were given by each of the hotel staff whom we met during our stay. Our room was. very clean throughout. With the outside temperature being at 'Minus 2 degrees Celcius' the room temperature was very comfortable indeed and also very quiet,.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfzamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank you very much for your review, following your recent stay.     We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay along with the surroundings of the hotel, also that you were well cared for by our staff.      We do hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you once again for your nice comments.Kind regardsGuest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here on return from Kenya having parked my car there before departing for my holiday. Very efficient and friendly. Excellent transport to airport (payable on bus) and safe parking whilst away. Hotel is top rate and food very good. Beautiful golf course to look out on and very quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay.    We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel, also that you found our location convenient to the airport with on site car parking.     We hope you had a wonderful holiday to Kenya and that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing