We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

On arrival the receptionist said we had not got a reservation, (we had booked it 4 months previously and had got confirmation)?? After a 15 minute wait, they finally booked us in. The room had a king size bed plus 3 other single beds, (there was 2 of us), the room and bathroom were both very tired looking. There was some sort of boxing venue going on and it was therefore very noisy and busy. We left our car there for 2 weeks whilst on holiday, and on our return the shuttle bus didn't turn up, we waited an hour and a half and then got a taxi. When we went to pick up our car it had been parked under trees at the back of the hotel and was absolutely filthy with dust and sap. Overall it was a bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel following your stay with us prior to your holiday. We were very sorry to read that initially we could not find your reservation and you were then seemingly booked into a family room. We are also very sorry you were disturbed by an event taking place at the hotel. Our shuttle bus is operated by an outside company, we have therefore asked for a report on your comments. Last but not least, our car park is lined by trees which have been there for many, many years. Unfortunately, some of the trees overlap the car park and drop sap at this time of the year. We do realise your overall stay was very disappointing. When you are next travelling from Gatwick we would like to attempt to make amends and hope you will consider returning to us. Please feel free to contact Judith Campbell in the General Manager's office who will be delighted to discuss and look after every aspect of your future stay. We do hope you had an enjoyable holiday and returned home safely.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    377
    362
    262
    224
See reviews for
212
678
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We have just returned from a wedding held at the above hotel. It was stunning - the room was decorated and tables to perfection, the staff were welcoming and the waiters extremely courteous and effecient. The whole day went smoothly and everything was just operated like clockwork. The bride and groom were made to feel special for the whole day. I have worked in the same industry, and know these things do not happen without a lot of hard work and forward planning. Food was delicious and hot. Well done

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you very much for your review following your attendance at a wedding held at our hotel. We were so pleased to read you felt everyone, including the bride and groom were well cared for and that you found our staff efficient and friendly. Hopefully, you will have an opportunity to return to the hotel in the future. Thank you once again, your comments will be passed on to all the staff, especially those involved in planning the wedding and working on the day.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This hotel was highly disappointing- I would not give iut 3 stars never mind the 4 in currently has. The furniture in the rooms were battered; the whole hotel need redecorating (looked like it hadn;t had a lick of paint since the 1970s), my bathroom had cracked tiles and a broken mirror and the food.... I ate breakfast and lunch in th hotel because my package included it- it was edible but not enjoyable: I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings.

The staff also tended not to be friendly, for example, I checked in... dragged all my stuff to my room and the key wouldn't work- after going down with all my luggage the receptionist implied it was my fault- "mobile phones can decode them" no apology and I didn't even have my phonw with me.

I would not stay here again unless very desperate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay. We do have several projects in hand which will involve improvements to the hotel, firstly we are providing all rooms with new beds, this will be happening in the next few weeks. We are extremely sorry you did not enjoy your meals - we are only sorry we were unable to address your disappointment at the time and hopefully make improvements for you. We can appreciate your frustration when you found your key did not work and you had to go back to reception, also the manner in which this was handled by our Front Office staff member. Please be assured your e mail and comments will be addressed with all the Managers concerned and the necessary actions taken. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review following your stay and to give us the opportunity to make improvements in the light of your comments. Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Service great got a room upgrade. Location great, lovely views easy access to airport and motorway. Nice size room and good bathroom; one of the best night sleep in an airport hotel. They do need to sort out a plug near the main mirror for us girls to do our hair.

Room Tip: I enjoyed Room 307, with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaTidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Thank you for posting a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, your accommodation and the surroundings, also that we offered good value for money. We hope we may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My problem wasn't with the hotel itself, that was perfectly adequate but the booking system was a total nightmare! Booked online to stay at one copthorne hotel, and received the confirmation email, but when i rang them to make an enquiry about my booking the reception staff informed me it had been made with a different hotel. The reception staff could then not change the booking and i was unable to speak to the reservation department as it was not open after 5pm, on a sunday nor on a bank holiday!! I have never dealt with a hotel whose reception cannot take nor ammend a booking! When i was eventually able to speak to the reservations dept, and asked to have the booking changed back to the hotel i originally wanted to stay in, they failed to send me a confirmation email even though i specifically asked for it. I rang them again to ask for written confirmation, and this time again gave my email address to make sure, but still no confirmation email arrived. I have to say this chain is the most infuritaing, confusing and unhelpful i have ever had the misfortune to try to book with. Will not be staying with them again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug186934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion regarding your booking. We do hope you have by now received your confirmation. If by any chance you have not, please contact Judith Campbell in the General Manager's office. We are aware that sometimes guests make mistakes as we have two hotels at Gatwick located quite close together. May we assure you we will be addressing the issue of poor communication which you experienced, in particular as you phoned outside normal office hours when our reservations office was closed. We do hope you have now received your confirmation.
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Hotel looks nice form the outside but that's as far as the good news goes. Tired, scruffy (scratched doors and furniture) and looks dated inside. Woken up at 6.30am by one of the cleaning staff talking LOUDLY on her mobile phone directly outside my room, I had to get up and tell her to clear off! In a hotel, this is inexcusable. My colleague ended up with itchy bites on his arms and legs, whether this was because of his hotel room we do not know but it seems like a coincidence. We did not eat or drink in the hotel, judging by other reviews this seemed like a good call. For food and drink, there is a very nice pub 10 mins walk away, the Duke's Head I think it was called.

Room Tip: Eat at the Duke's Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axelariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you were disturbed by one of our staff. It is against the rules for staff to use their phones while on duty, so may I assure you this point has been brought to the attention of our Head Housekeeper. We are also sorry your colleague believes he may have been bitten by insects. We would have wished to investigate this further as we are not sure if you reported the matter. Any suggestions of insects are taken very seriously and have to be investigated. Lastly, of course we are disappointed you chose not to eat in the hotel. It is always a nice option for guests to have the choice of either eating with us or visiting local pubs and restaurants.
Thank you once again for your informative review.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

we stayed here as a deal before flying out on holiday from Gatwick, which we have done before from other hotels very successfully, but this was horrid. The hotel looked seedy, the food was dreadful and the Sports Bar which was the only place for us to get a drink was diabolicle. On our return the car had been moved miles away from the hotel and not moved back for out conveinence and parked under a tree so the paint stained with sap and leaves. Not a good experience in any way at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay, in particular the Sports Bar, we appreciate everyone's taste differs, however, your comments have been passed on to our Head Chef. We are sorry your car was not brought round to the front of the hotel at the end of your holiday. We have a specific system where cars may be moved to our long term car park at the rear of the hotel, they are then brought round to the front of the building ready for collection at the end of the holiday. It is very unusual to receive a complaint of this nature regarding our car parking procedures. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing