We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely reception area, shame about the rest of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely reception area, shame about the rest of the hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick on the nights of 26 and 27 August 2011. Having paid an additional £20.00 for each of the two nights to upgrade to a Club room I was somewhat disappointed to find that the carpet in my room was somewhat threadbare and both of the armchairs were threadbare. In addition the furniture was so shabby that I doubt that the average charity shop would be prepared to offer it for sale. The management of the hotel did apologise and stated that the hotel was in the process of being refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with the standard of furniture in your room. Our parent company is currently looking at both our hotels at Gatwick with a view to updating our accommodation although no date has yet been set it will be in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    362
    347
    254
    215
See reviews for
202
648
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Having read other reviews after booking I was somewhat worried. However this was totally unfounded. Staff were helpful at all times. Facilities very good for the price paid. Room and bathroom very clean. Furniture and carpets a little tired. There is a lovely pub/restaurant within walking distance if you don't want to eat at the hotel - The Duke's Head -- booking advised.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to return, also that you enjoyed your visit to the local pub.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked this hotel with parking for our holiday and at £85 for two weeks we thought it was a good deal until we saw the place. We arrived on 5th August and we're very disappointed, the reception area is not representative of the rooms, - after check-in we're directed to the first floor and as soon as we stepped into th lift it went down hill. The corridor was really run down and smelt of curry and when we go to the bedroom it was no better. The room smelt stale, it was furnish with old brown headboards, dresser and wardrobe and it felt like a nursing home. We asked for a room change and were given a big room, similar furniture but without the smell, this one had a covered terrace leading onto a balcony only problem was the roof over th terrace had leaked and we had 3 inches of water in it. This proved interesting, the room was baking ho so we ended up having to wade across the terrace to open the balcony doors to get some air.

On the plus side the bed was clean but if we'd arrived earlier in th day we wouldn't have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review - we are very sorry you were so disappointed with the standards provided in your room, however, I was glad to note we were able to offer you an alternative room on the the 3rd floor. Your comments have been passed on to all members of our management team, thank you for your constructive comments, much appreciated.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The outside of the building & location are great, but that's where it ends!
Arrived at 19.45 hotel very quiet so there was no excuse for the reception we were given. At best the staff could be described as functional, ie we were given our key & told where our room was, but better described as totally disinterested bordering on rude. No offer of help with suitcases etc.
The corridor to our room was littered with numerous towels &even an ironing board leaning against a wall.The room itself was 'shabby', bathroom was ok although the corners of the bath/shower had signs of mould. A basket had not been emptied & contained 2 empty water bottles.Also had door to adjoining room, which we we not told about at check-in, hence could clearly hear what was going on next door.
On visiting the bar, which was empty I was served by a guy who obviously went to the same charm school as the receptionist. He served my drinks, v&t & Magners & when I asked for ice for both was told 'we haven't got any'. Didn't even bother to pour my drink just gave me the glass & bottle.
Didn't fancy eating in the souless bar so returned to room & ordered room service (Club sandwich & steak sandwich) at 21.00. Arrived at 22.00 - cold! Paid in cash but the waiter 'don't have any change - I'll bring it back'. By this time I was tired, hungry and wishing that I was anywhere other than the Copthorne Effingham hotel! I think this hotel is extremely 'tired' & in dire need of a makeover. Not only the hotel but the staff who almost to a man/woman seemed to have overlooked the fact that they were supposed to be providing a service!. In my view the hotel also needs to be re-evaluated for it's claimed 4*. There is absolutely no way that this place can warrent a 4* rating.
My tip if you want to stay at a hotel prior to flying out from Gatwick don't stay here!

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room that does not have a door to the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. We are extremely sorry our accommodation standards fell so far below your expectations. All your comments have been carefully read by our General Manager and passed on to our Head Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager. We have in fact recently been inspected by the AA and our 4 star rating was confirmed, however, we are extremely sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay. Thank you for posting a review for the beneifit of future travellers.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel's fire alarm went off at five fifteen in the morning, and it was over half an hour before we were allowed back into our rooms The manager at the time said this was due to a 'fault', but the staff the next morning backtracked this and only gave a minimal amount of money back. Either way, there was no fire and no reason for the alarm. The hotel in general is pretty run-down, with wallpaper peeling on the corridors and very antiquated lifts. The room we stayed in (a club suite, supposedly one of the best in the hotel) had not been updated for at least twenty years, and the television (a very old model) did not work. On the plus side, the restaurant was decent, though pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were extremely sorry you were disturbed by a fire alarm, but wish to thank you for your constructive comments. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your meal and also hope you will return to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Have stayed here many times and to start the receptionist Charlotte was very helpful and kindly gave us an upgrade. Didnt try the food this time in the evening but breakfast delivery was early and great but note although on card you can have delivery until 10.45 am it actually stops at 10am. Bus to airport on time, takes 20 minutes and good value at £4.25 per person. Parking is great value for money if required as we've done that before. Yes some of the decor is a little dated but if you pay for the 5* swanky hotel you stay there, this isnt that type of hotel which some reviewers seem to forget!

Room Tip: excellent value, excellent service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My friend and I shared a generous twin room with en-suite, we were quite happy to have only paid £55 each night for both of us for a 4* hotel, instead of £200 as listed, though the decor condition is certanly not £200 worth as the room was 80's decor incl. en-suite which needs updating to warrant the more expensive rate, the room was clean and peaceful ( make sure you ask for a quiet room just in case of a function) breakfast wasnt incl. in our price, at £15each,! the much better option was to eat at Haskins garden centre opposite hotel for the best breakfast for £6!
Hotel staff were polite and friendly, we used the swimming pool which was very pleasant.
We would visit again, if the price was right!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from function suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that we offered value for money. Hope to welcome you and your friend back again next time.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing