We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Me and my partner stopped here for one night after our 2week holiday in the maldives . We were very happy with our room.Room service was very quick and the food was good .our car was left here for 2 weeks with no problems at all . we have aready booked to stay here again in december before our trip to cuba .My partner and myself would definately recommend this hotel to our family and friends looking forward to our next stay . Also the reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good english!!!!

Room Tip: ask at reception on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your next stay. Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    372
    353
    255
    217
See reviews for
204
664
55
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We needed a Hotel near Gatwick Airport (and in particular the APH airport) before an early morning flight to the Caribbean.

For the price we paid the Hotel did the job. The Hotel was reasonably clean but it was fine for what we needed it for - we were only there a few hours!

We didn't eat at the hotel but at a nice little Bistro restaurant about a 5 minute walk away (turn left out of the Hotel and it's at the roundabout) called The Dukes Head.

Ideal hotel for APH Gatwick and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercurial1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you very much for your nice review, we were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay, we are very close to APH parking, so glad you found this convenient. Thank you once again and we look forward to the next time you stay with us.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Hi everyone, we stayed in the Copthorne Hotel Effingham in Oct 2011 for one night before we went to Gatwick to fly to Mexico.
Lets start with the check in staff - it was a case of the blind leading the blind,they had no idea what to do,and could hardly understand english - great start.
We went for the option of seven nights parking for our car,so we asked at check in if we could park anywhere,they said yes so we parked out in the open where it was well lit and close to the shuttle bus stop so we didnt have to carry our cases too far - as i walk with a stick.
so parked car and then checked in, handed them our car keys and went up to our room,the hotel itself is dated,it looks like something out of a Hammer Horror film with the room being very old looking and to make things worse there was a party going on in the conference hall which is fine but you could hear everything from the otherside of the hotel so we could not get any sleep as it was BOOM,BOOM,BOOM SHAKE THE ROOM all night long.
After a fantastic holiday in Mexico we came back to find our car had been moved? even when they said it wouldn't be, so now we have to carry our cases up to the check in desk only to find out the car was now on the far side of the hotel grounds.
So to sum it all up Great location with it being only 15 mins to Gatwick but the hotel and staff need updating, sorry but we wont be going back again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the conference hall as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGWORLD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for your disturbed night, we always try to put guests who are not attending a function as far away from the function room as possible. I am also very sorry your car was moved, this must have been necessary to make space, however, it should have been brought back to the front of the hotel in time for your return. I am very sorry this did not happen. I hope you had a lovely holiday and thank you once again for your review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I was going to the USA via Gatwick, so wanted a nice stopover and parking for the duration. I used to stay at Copthorne's many years ago so thought the quality would be good but alas I was wrong.
The problems started with checkin. I had called a few weeks previous to confirm my booking as I had purchased a voucher by EBAY and reserved an additional room, giving my credit card to confirm the booking. On arrival my bookings had been cancelled and the staff were totally unhelpful. They seemed overwhelmed with a function that was going on and could not cope.

The scene was totally embarassing and ruined the start of my holiday as I needed to get angry for the staff to sort the issue out. The member of staff apologised the next morning but a "sour taste" was left. We all make mistakes and I should have had all my paperwork but it is how simple the issues are dealt with.

The standard of the rooms were no better and the ones we stayed in need refurbishing. There was what looked like mould/mildew around the bath taps, a gap in the grouting around the soap dish, I could get my fingers in and dead flies in the lights. ( see my photo's) I think my room numbers were 328 & 236.

I was also advised the courtesy bus to the Airport would cost £4.25 each (one way) at a total of £25.50 for six, when a taxi only costs £10 ? ( To be fair the website does state on one page £4.00 and another £4.25 but this was not visible when I booked). I got a Taxi on the return journey.

I was so disappointed and will not stop at this hotel again and will put Copthorne Millenium hotels the bottom of my list of hotels to select.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skyblueeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us with your family. We are very sorry about the confusion you experienced over your booking. Please accept our apologies, also that you should have been advised a taxi might be a more economical way of travelling to the airport, we apologise for this oversight. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with your overall experience and wish to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here for one Saturday night in October as part of a friend's wedding party. The room was dated in terms of decor and facilities, as was the bathroom. Cooked buffet breakfast served in the morning - not the best I've had. Can't really complain since I paid a discounted rate that was reasonable for the service provided but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your comments and hope you will return to the hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wow after reading so many negative reviews.. I was worried. But hey you can't beat the value for money here! The rooms may be a little dated but they are clean and spacious. Food good value for money. Beds comfortable... Great pillows .. Parking at the hotel not a problem and transfer to gatwick airport 15 mins at 8 am! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The rooms were so old, felt like something out of a horror movie! Hotel in a perfect location for gatwick airport so cant complain about that. Check in staff didnt seem to know what was going on. We were with a group of 3 other families and we had the worst room, felt like we were in the dungeons. Not nice.

Room Tip: choose a nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing