We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

for a 4 star hotel this falls short on cleanliness and decor. The service was good, the food excellent, the bed-sumptuous and the view from our room - stunning! a great pity then that the window itself was filthy and the radiator under the window was thick with dust and cobwebs. The furniture looked like it was left over from the blitz - dated and damaged/stained. A real shame!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micklin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, your comments are much appreciated. We have asked our Head Housekeeper to check the areas you have suggested need our urgent attention regarding cleanliness i.e the window and the radiator area. We agree this is not acceptable. Please be assured we are aware some of our rooms are need of refurnishing and updating, these matters are currently being addressed by our Head Office.
Thank you once again for your informative review - PS - we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and our nice beds.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    354
    346
    253
    212
See reviews for
199
639
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having read the previous reviews I was slightly anxious about our stay at the hotel however it was really good value for money. Lovely grounds, impressive reception area, quick check in, helpful staff and a very large family room. We did not have any problem with the furniture or decor, it was certainly far better than the Copthorne Gatwick where we stayed last year. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening which I considered to be reasonably priced. I would certainly book the Effingham Park again if flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morawelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us with your family. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and also your meal in the restaurant.
We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed one night before our flight from Gatwick. We found the staff very helpful in resolving an issue with our booking. We had a comfortable nights sleep and the room had all the facilities we needed. Lovely shower! Decor needs a bit of updating but didn't affect our stay!! would use this hotel again if flying from Gatwick .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReEbHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we were glad to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon. We are very glad you felt we offered good value for money.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Booked for an overnight stop en route to Brighton. Very warm welcome on arrival. Room - a twin - was large and clean. Carpet was rather threadbare and the arms on the chairs were somewhat worn but beds were very comfortable. Good shower in the room too, along with a full size bath. Can't complain for under 50quid and nothing extra for parking, as there is at so many other hotels near Gatwick!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, we were very glad to read your comments and that you found your accommodation comfortable and good value. Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here in March 2012. Upgraded to club room very disapointed furniture stained and balcony very dirty with broken furniture not four star in my opinion and would not stay there again even if offered free room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodlandholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Thank you once again for your review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to our holiday flight from Gatwick. On checking in I had to prove the offer which had been given when booking in advance (free drinks and snacks) and the foreign reception staff were slow. The Club room was comfortable but I would consider it as a standard room at most other hotels.

We waited for ages to get a drink at the bar and arriving at the Restaurant we were both served the wrong main couse. The foreign waiter had the cheek to suggest we'd both ordered the meal they tried to serve us and it was our fault and not his. The meals were sent back to the kitchen and there was a sudden loud sound of plates breaking (or what sounded like plates being thrown against the wall)!

There is very little phone reception anywhere in the hotel. We've stayed at the hotel previously and our experience was similar last time as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmwicks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, we are very sorry you found the service offered to be below standard. We wish to assure you that all the points you have raised have been investigated. Unfortunately, we do have poor mobile reception in this area, this is also true of Crawley Down and the surrounding area, we realise this is very inconvenient for our guests wanting to use mobiles. We are currently talking to mobile suppliers to see if there is any way the signal can be improved. Many thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I've stayed here twice when flying from Gatwick.

The hotel is basic but the rooms are large, the beds are huge and comfortable and the long term parking is very cheap.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle from the Hotel to the airport but a taxi is around the same price (or less) and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaPodAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review and for staying with us again prior to your holiday. We are very glad you found we offered good value for money and that you enjoyed our large beds. Thank you for your nice pictures, hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing