We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stopover Before Flying from Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Stopover Before Flying from Gatwick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We booked this hotel as an overnight stopover before catching our flight the next morning and received special rates. We eventually reached the Copthorne after attempting to book in at its sister hotel of the same name, which was nearby. So, make sure that stop at the correct branch, as many people make this mistake.

All members of staff at the hotel were very polite and friendly and our room was large, clean and tastefully decorated, with the usual amenities. The main building was also well maintained and clean. However, it was not possible to turn the radiator on in the rather clod bathroom.

The hotel has a restaurant, but we decide to dine in the bar, which was un-crowded and roomy. We were served by very pleasant staff, however they kept disappearing to an area behind the bar leaving customers waiting to be served. The food was rather expensive and very basic and the beer was cold and gassy (no draft real ale).

Not wishing to present an misleading review by highlighting the negatives, we would stay at this hotel again as the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review - we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered good value for money. All comments are viewed and reviewed by our management team, so thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    360
    347
    254
    214
See reviews for
201
645
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Well first of all I must say we only paid about £50 including Breakfast and having read previous reviews knew what to expect.

On check in about 7:30pm in the evening they admitted they hadn't put the cot in our room that had been requested...annoying as our daughter was already asleep in the car. They did sort it quickly though. We noticed a big function in the conference centre and realised it was actually a Fight Night (Boxing) thankfully our room was at the opposite end of the hotel.

I went and checked the room first expecting the worst but was pleasantly supprised. Now don't get me wrong this hotel is in need of a full refurb, the corridors are taty and carpets almost threadbare, the rooms are the almost the same, but it was spotlessly clean and fully functioning.

Now we had a lot of bags, no offers of any help from staff, thankfully I found a trolley otherwise it would have been 4 very long trips!

Then i tried to park the car, not a space in the whole carpark drove round it twice...parked by the door again and explained to male receptionist that I wasn't happy to leave it there as it was right by the door where 100s of drunk people would come out of later. He was less than helpful asking if I had checked the whole carpark, and said it should be fine - I wasn't convinced! Finally the female receptionist overheard me and offered me her parking space and she would move hers, a kind offer which I accepted.

Reasonable bed in room, but very warm in the hotel even without the radiator on. Then we were woken at 12:45am by the very noisy boxing fans leaving. This needed to be better managed. Thankfully we didn't have an early morning flight!

Breakfast was edible but nothing to write home about. Checkout painless again with no offer of help from anyone until the HotelS General Manager saw our bags and kindly offered assistance. Maybe he should try and rub some of his good manners and customer service onto his staff!

All in all reasonable and would stay again if I needed something in the area...I would check what functions were on though, my wife certainly said she felt a bit on edge when she saw what was going on.

Room Tip: Away from conference centre just in case, higher room numbers are further away. Probably would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieed_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for your informative review following your recent stay with us. We always do our utmost to ensure hotel guests who are not attending a function are located in a room as far as possible away from our function room. We do occasionally hold Boxing Nights, please be assured these events are well controlled and governed by a security company and hotel guests may be assured of their entire safety. Naturally, when a large event is taking place our car park is very busy, however, we were glad you were assisted by a member of staff. Thank you for pointing out areas of the hotel which are in need of updating. We are aware that our corridors and some bedrooms are in need of modernisation and wish to assure you this matter is being addressed.
May we thank you once again for your constructive and honest comments which will only benefit future travellers.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for one night in April before our 9am flight from Gatwick. Our check in was smooth and the receptionist was very friendly. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and both myself and my husband had a good nights sleep here - it was very peaceful. The view from our room was also a bonus. We had a meal in the Sports Bar which was simple but nice all the same. Check out the next morning was quick and easy. The Shuttle Bus from the Hotel to the Airport was on time, efficient and much cheaper than a taxi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regan1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here last year before an early Gatwick flight. Check in was quick and painless and we were informed we had been given an upgrade - lovely. Wish we'd arrived earlier to enjoy the view. We were stuck in traffic on the M25 for 1 hour, then took a detour. Room was nice, everything was clean though a little tired in places. Had a good nights sleep, bed was comfortable.

We had an evening meal which was very nice and reasonably priced. Far enough away from Gatwick to not be disturbed by planes, though could watch them in the distance.

Caught the bus in the morning with no problem.

Return bus transfer no problem.
I don't like having to pay extra for the bus and not being able to get a return ticket, have to make sure we have cash when we return.

Car looked as though it had been parked under a tree where a thousand birds had been roosting. Had to get a bottle of water to clean the windscreen before we could leave. It had been a fortnight in the sun and the bird guano was baked on.

We're staying here again in a few weeks time, will let you know if it's been improved

Room Tip: We liked the club room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay - we are so sorry about the bird droppings on your car. Unfortunately, areas of our car park are lined with trees and the birds tend to nest in the trees at the time of year, so sorry about the inconvenience. We are glad you enjoyed your meal also the view from the Club room balcony. Hoping you had a very nice holiday and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

for a 4 star hotel this falls short on cleanliness and decor. The service was good, the food excellent, the bed-sumptuous and the view from our room - stunning! a great pity then that the window itself was filthy and the radiator under the window was thick with dust and cobwebs. The furniture looked like it was left over from the blitz - dated and damaged/stained. A real shame!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micklin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, your comments are much appreciated. We have asked our Head Housekeeper to check the areas you have suggested need our urgent attention regarding cleanliness i.e the window and the radiator area. We agree this is not acceptable. Please be assured we are aware some of our rooms are need of refurnishing and updating, these matters are currently being addressed by our Head Office.
Thank you once again for your informative review - PS - we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and our nice beds.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having read the previous reviews I was slightly anxious about our stay at the hotel however it was really good value for money. Lovely grounds, impressive reception area, quick check in, helpful staff and a very large family room. We did not have any problem with the furniture or decor, it was certainly far better than the Copthorne Gatwick where we stayed last year. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening which I considered to be reasonably priced. I would certainly book the Effingham Park again if flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morawelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us with your family. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and also your meal in the restaurant.
We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed one night before our flight from Gatwick. We found the staff very helpful in resolving an issue with our booking. We had a comfortable nights sleep and the room had all the facilities we needed. Lovely shower! Decor needs a bit of updating but didn't affect our stay!! would use this hotel again if flying from Gatwick .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReEbHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we were glad to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon. We are very glad you felt we offered good value for money.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing