We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70s,80s dinner dance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Horley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“70s,80s dinner dance”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a good Hotel however the function i went on the 6th of october was dissapointing, the room stinks like a sewer, the band were poor and the food was not good.
This is such a shame because previous events i have been to here have been very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    378
    363
    262
    225
See reviews for
212
680
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Recently stayed for one night on bed and breakfast rate at sensible money. Anywhere near most major airports is usually pretty expensive and average and here is no exception. corridors especially very battered and tired looking. breakfast pretty good but hot choices limited (when i was there bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans and scrambled eggs, as I don't like scrambled eggs or beans my plate looked a bit sad!) If you have a tastecard you can use it for 2 for 1 in the sports bar which makes a burger and chips at £12 a go almost ok! better bet would be to go out to eat, lots of pubs locally and lingfield has a Smith and Western which is great if you love texmex/ American food, the ribs are just great. Oh and don't expect a swim, the pool is shut

Room Tip: garden floor roome best but they might ask a £20 upgrade fee, a lot for a balcony and bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seandLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Accept this is predominantly an airport hotel but it doesn't give a great impression to visitors. Ok the reception and bar are reasonably plush but go upstairs and the rooms are very tired. In todays business world not to have a good wi fi available is a real handicap. I couldn't get a decent reception on wireless and at £2.50 for 30 mins the hard conection just wasn't worth it. We are trying so hard to get tourists to come and stay in the uk and airport hotels have a role to play. Come on Copthorne you can and must do better.

Room Tip: If you upgrade the rooms may be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Copthorne Effingham Gatwick taking advantage of their overnight room rate with 15 days car parking whilst going on holiday.
We checked in after 10pm and found reception manned by trainees. Whilst they were very polite they were not particularly forthcoming with information about our stay. We had booked a club room which had it not been for our Internet research we would never have received the additional benefits we were due. They didn't pick up on the fact that we had booked the car parking and we had to request the documentation to put this in place. Only for the fact that we have booked other hotels with such offers did we know what to do.
However, our room was perfectly satisfactory, clean and well furnished. The bed was well presented, bedding crisp and clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was basically satisfactory, again clean but very dated. The overall impression of the hotel is that it is in need of some modernisation and renovation. A little attention to detail would not go amiss.
We had our complimentary drink in the bar, part of the Club room package. The selection of drinks was limited and the Sports Bar area very tired and shabby. It certainly didn't make you want to stay for a second drink.
A big plus point to this package was being able to leave your car at the hotel for 15 days. There is a shuttle bus that takes you to and from the airport at various times throughout the day. This costs £4.50 per person one way.
Overall, we feel this package was good value for money and for this alone we would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We checked in 20:30
Quick Check in
Down for dinner in foyer restaurant
food, service and VFM very good.
Returned 15 nights later to pick up car with no hitches.
Transfer to airport £4.50 per person each way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Took advantage of an extremely good value overnight with 15 days parking. Convenient location, good size room and good quality restaurant. Prices reasonable but service a bit laboured. Unfortunately sleep quality compromised by noise from other guests (there were wedding parties there). Noise was from corridor rather than adjoining rooms.

Car parking was well organised and collection went ok although bus shuttle does go round the houses a bit, and is only at 1hr frequency. Overall ok and would stay again but would take ear-plugs!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Upon arrival at the Copthorne (approximately 10.30pm) the grounds and reception area appeared to be pleasant enough, although it was no Crowne Plaza. The receptionist was welcoming and informed us that our room had been upgraded. Much to our disappointment this is where the positives end.

Initially we allocated room 321 on the third floor. Upon leaving the lift we proceed down a rather shabby hallway towards our room. The carpet was in need of a deep clean/renewing from the heavy foot fall. There were white specks on the carpet, the skirting board and dado rail as if someone had been sanding the walls.

In the bedroom the hard and soft furnishings were in a very poor state of repair, as were the doors i.e. water ring marks, deep scratches, felt dirty to the touch. The carpet in the bedroom was stained and in large areas threadbare to the point of walking on the backing. There wear cob/dust webs that had obliviously been there for some time. In places the wall paper and boarder was pealing. There was a pubic hair in the double bed. There was paint on the teapot, the TV was extremely dated and the room had an unpleasant underlying odour.

The balcony was in need of a good jet wash and a coat of paint. The patio table and two chairs were a miss match and very dirty.

As for the bathroom. Grout around the bath was badly discoloured, chrome was wearing off the taps fittings. The shower cubical door encrusted with mould and I dread to think what else may have been present! I did not inspect further, as I had seen enough and considered the room to be inhabitable.

I did ask at reception if they had another room, pointing out that we were unhappy with the cleanliness of room 321. The receptionist said they had only one twin bedded room available, to which I said I would like to inspect before accepting to move rooms.

The night porter then showed me room 124. Again this room was in a bad state of repair and cleanliness (the majority of points as above), however it was an slight improvement on the previous. The beds/towels were clean and the shower/bath was cleaner, so I rather reluctantly accepted that we would move to this room. I did make a point of saying to the night porter and a little later to the night receptionist. ‘If it had not been for the fact that we had risen at 7.00am (Boa Vista time) that morning. Spent approximately two hours at the air port with its ‘natural’ air conditioning, in temperatures up in the 40’s°C. Six hours on a small plane, then another couple of hours getting through Gatwick. Not knowing the area and the lateness of the hour, we defiantly, under no circumstances would be staying at the Copthorne.’

After moving our luggage into room 124, we went to the sports bar for a drink. Yet again we found more decor, furniture in a very poor state of repair and lack of cleanliness. Such as, some of the ‘leather’ sofas were torn, with their stuffing protruding. The rug in front of the ‘big screen’ had a very large stain ect, ect, ect!

Being part of the anti social, social group before retiring I went out the front entrance for a cigarette. I did look to see if there was a sign pointing me in the direction of a designated smoking area or a bin provided to put my cigarette butt in. I saw neither. Whilst being outside I spoke the night receptionist. He asked me if we were happy with the room change, were upon I repeated my statement given to the night porter (as above). He also asked me what I thought was wrong with the rooms, I highlighted the some of the points made in this letter. The receptionist went on to say he would make a note of the points I had made.

Finishing my cigarette I asked him if there was somewhere to put it out. He said there was not and to simply drop it on the ground and at some point someone would brush them up. In my opinion this seems very poor practice to have the outside of the reception area littered with cigarette butts at what is supposedly a four star hotel.

After a not a so good nights sleep, we went for breakfast served in the Terrace Restaurant. Although there was only one other couple eating at the time, we had to wait to be seated, with no apology. We found the restaurant to be reasonable clean, although many of the tables had not been cleared (bearing in mind it was almost empty). As there was only one cup and saucer on the table we sat at, the waiter took a clean one from the next table that still had used crockery and utensils on it. The breakfast was average, not including the black pudding that was welded to the bottom of the Bain Marie.

We strongly feel at this present time the four star rating, does not reflect the actual accommodation or services at the Copethorn. Since returning home we have looked at their web site and find the images provided there to be misleading. More accurate images can be found on Trip Adviser that resent guest have put on. In our opinion the hotel needs a total revamp and the staff need addressing on their lacksey-daisy, could not care less attitude.

If you have got this far, thank you for reading.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank babajaga16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing