We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff..poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely staff..poor rooms”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, the night before we went on holiday on the 12th may 2013. When we arrived there was a problem with our room the heating was broken,so we had to wait about 30 mins plus for another room. I have to say I was quite keen to see the room after the impressive reception,and during our wait staff where brilliant,the manager couldn't do enough,playing with the children and getting us coffee and juice,so can't fault the staff. But as we entered our room,it was like a different a hotel to the reception. There were leak marks all over the ceiling, masses of wallpaper peeling off the wall..where it looked like water had run down it..carpet was worn and grubby..it was a poor room,I didn't complain as we was only there for 1 night, but the rooms need desperate attention..most definitely not 4* based on the room I stayed in

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were so pleased to read you were well looked after by our staff, only sorry you felt so disappointed with your room, please note all your comments have been noted and passed to the management team. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    384
    365
    262
    230
See reviews for
219
685
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I have stayed at the Gatwick Copthorne a couple of times and thought it excellent value, so tried to book again. Unfortunately I didn't pay close enough attention and got booked into the Copthorne Effingham instead. What a huge disappointment! There is no comparison between the hotels. The Effingham is run down and dated and in dire need of an upgrade. Walls were badly marked and scuffed, bedroom decor was pure 1980s, there was no air con or way to change the bedroom temperature (which was like an oven), the TV did not work at all. Wifi is only available at extra cost, and on arrival back to Gatwick we found the shuttle bus only goes once an hour, so had to pay for a taxi. The only plus point is that the bedrooms were a decent size. This hotel must be doing serious brand damage to the Copthorne Group. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your constructive and informative review. I am sorry you booked the wrong hotel by mistake, having wished to stay at the Copthorne London Gatwick. I am very sorry so many areas of your stay were so disappointing and appreciate your comments. I am sorry we do not have the demand to run our shuttle bus more often, however, I do hope you had a most enjoyable holiday. I do hope you will return in the future to Copthorne London Gatwick. We are currently carrying out a refurbishment at that hotel, which will be followed by the Copthorne Effingham. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Stay here for a friend's wedding. On check in I was told I had no reservation at the hotel and was booked into their sister hotel down the road. Luckily I had email confirmation with me so they apologize for the mix up and sorted a room out.
Room was dated and not very clean for a four star hotel. Thread worn carpets, dusty lamps, furniture tired and stained. The public areas are much the same.
I have stayed in better three star hotels.
Staff friendly and service for breakfast good. Glad I didn't pay full rate for our stay as would have been very disappointed. Hotel requires a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozbozboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry about the mix up over your room and only glad it was sorted out for you. Please note we are planning a refurb, we are currently working on our sister hotel at the moment, we will then be putting a project in place for the Copthorne Effingham. Please bear with us, hopefully you will consider returning in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great prices, awesome service and very close to the airport and no noise from the planes
Been here few times before and enjoyed it even more this time.
Were going on a 2 week vacation and had to wake up at 4.00am with 2 kids to get ready.
Received wake up call in time and taxi arrived as ordered. At checkout asked for some coffee
and was expecting no as answer, but guess what even though it was 4.30 am some new Asian chap got us some coffee and got some milk for my kids which was just a cherry on top.WOW
Although the rooms are tired, I think the staff are excellent and thats what makes the difference.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning in the future, also that you were so well looked after by our staff.
Thank you once again
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights here at begining and end of a holiday. Booked with 1 weeks parking on a "secret deals" type package through Holiday Extras,as my usual hotel/park package for Gatwick wasn't available. But the hotel blurb looked inviting, a luxury hotel with superb restaurant offering a la carte english dining, choice of bars set in park land, attached golf club etc. We actually set of from home early so we could get our holiday off to a great start, a few drinks, super meal... well what a dump. Reception was ok. But our room was disgusting. The smell of damp and general dirtyness hit you as you walked through the door; several large wet stains on ceiling, completely threadbare and dirty carpet, a thick layer of grime on the radiator. The lighting was apalling. All the furniture was damaged and looked like it had just been liberated from a skip.Worse was the bathroom- broken tiles with thick black mould, filthy bath panel...I still shudder at the memory. Service in the Sports Bar was decent and friendly, but the large screen TV was at full volume for the benefit of only 4 guests- we took our drinks outside to the "smoking area" which was filthy.
In the Restaurant we were seated at a table next to a large party from the golf club, who were less than impressed with the "shepherd's Pie" and frozen mixed veg they queued at a buffet for as their set meal. It smelt awful. We were served iced water which we sent back twice as something- water/ice/glass? tasted stale and of detergent- so had to buy a bottle on third attempt. Menu is poor, and unimaginative- steak or steak or the ubiquitous filo pie for vegitarians.. To be fair service started well, our starters were nice although very small portions-I had a goat's cheese jobby described as "mature"- it wasnt ripe in any way, but pleasant enough. We both had steaks- I ordered mine rare- it was medium, but I did not return it as it was tender and tasty. But accompanied by only a very small portion of veg, and no sauces on offer. Unacceptably, a few chips pretentiously served in a tiny wire basket were frozen. This is absolutely unacceptable at these prices. We ordered a bottle of expensive wine and asked for another after our starters- the service collapsed from here! Our wine did not arrive untill we were finishing our steaks, well, actually it did, but it was not opened because the restaurant was experiencing a computer problem. Apparently the Copthorne needs technology to open bottles. We ordered a pudding that they had run out of- not sure how, as we appeared to be the first guests ordering that night- we plumped for an alternative which simply never arrived. No staff could be attracted anywhere near us....eventually a waitress responded and we cancelled pud and asked for the bill. No bill arrived. We got up and went to the desk for the bill and were rudely told to sit down and wait "for 10 minutes or so!" as the computer was playing up. We asked them to write the bill out- they had our order written in front of them,- but no they wouldn't. So we went out for a smoke and returned to sign the bill later. Not once did we get an apology or even a smile, the Maitre d' - so polite at the start of the meal- was now just plain rude. They lost our custom for pudding, coffee and brandy as a result.
And so to breakfast next morning. It was disgusting. Every thing was cold, having been pre-cooked god knows when and left to warm up in scalding hot bain maries, I have never seen or tasted such old foul scrambled eggs- black pudding was dry and brown on one side, raw on the other. The guy serving obviously considered he was above waiting at table, and hovered around the desk failing to make eye contact with any one and ignoring all efforts by the fairly large number of guests in at 6.30 am.- We eventually got some weak coffee, but that was it- it wasnt untill he was joined by another staff member that we got a top up.
I dreaded coming back to this dump on our return- we nearly didnt make it anyway- for some reason the hotel shuttle stops at 9.35pm. Our mobile had run out of battery so we made our way to the bus stop to use the "free" phone direct to the hotel to arrange a taxi. The Copthorne reception was engaged and remained so....luckily a very nice driver with the IBIS Hotel rang a taxi for us- we should have stayed at the Ibis in the first place!
When we arrived back at the Copthorne our experience was rather differant; the man on reception was very welcoming and friendly, and we were asigned a much better room. It was still shabby, but this room was clean, well lit, with a balcony, clean bathroom, nice toiletries, and spacious. - it was the same price however...If only we'd had this room first time round, not had dinner or breakfast, then this stay would have been ok for the price, just.
My partner stays in many business hotels and says this is not the normal standard of Millenium hotels. I shan't be testing the assertion any time soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP64SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed report following your stay with us. We are very sorry almost every aspect of your stay was so disappointing and you were provided with very poor service. Please be assured your comments have been noted by all department heads concerned. We are extremely sorry you have had reason to complain about so many aspects of your stay. We are currently carrying out a refurbishment programme at our sister hotel, Copthorne London Gatwick which will be following by bedroom upgrading at the Copthorne Effingham Park. Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here as part of a park & fly deal with APH. Far enough from Gatwick to not have noise problems & close enough to APH for a quick & easy transfer. Food in the restaurant was excellent, and even better with 50% off if you have a Taste Card! Apart from the tired carpet in our room, nothing negative to report.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and parking with our partners, APH. As you say, we are so lucky to be close to the airport but do not suffer from any flight noise. Hoping to see you again soon and that you had a nice holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings. I would never have known such an idyllic location existed so close to Gatwick. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, my sleep was undisturbed and the room actually had a full size bathtub I could lie down in, not crouch in like most hotel rooms. The water pressure was very good as well. If I find myself in that area again this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIA_9036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review following your recent stay. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you would not hesitate to return. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing