We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a tired hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a tired hotel!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here one night before flying on holiday and one night on our return. We also left the car in their car park for the two weeks we were away. The first room we had was covered in cobwebs at ceiling level. As we don't like duvets we asked the room maid for some sheets to put under the duvet. First of all she though we wanted the bed made then came along with two other members of the housekeeping staff before we could make them understand exactly what we required. When employing staff they should have a good command of the English language, here they did not. On the second stay we had a room where everything in the bathroom was loose. The bathroom door lock was broken, the grab rails on the bath were loose as was the toilet flush handle and the basin taps. The bathroom smelt of damp and the tiles were very mouldy in places. We had the same problem with asking for extra sheets and this time they brought us bath towels! We parked our car in the main car park at the front of the hotel and did not leave our car keys with reception. If we had have left the keys the car would have been moved to the back of the hotel and parked on grass under trees many of which were pine. We saw cars parked there with a inch depth of pine needles on them and no doubt pine resin too and parking under trees also means bird droppings all over the cars and we all no what that can do to paint work. The pictures in the corridor were stuck in their frames with masking tape.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathlyn171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay, in particular relating to communicating with our staff and regarding the accommodation itself, our sincere apologies. Yes, we do normally move cars within our site and there are trees in this area, we do understand your concerns regarding the pine trees.
May we thank you for your review for the benefit of other travellers. We hope you had an enjoyable holiday.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    383
    365
    262
    230
See reviews for
217
685
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before holiday as part of a parking package. Yes it's a bit dated but I believe a refurb is due. The process of leaving the car was smooth enough on arrival and return so won't complain. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment but highly recommend The Dukes Head nearby!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our park and fly package convenient. Sorry you did not try our restaurant, however, the Duke's Head is a nice pub. I hope you had a nice holiday.
With best wishes and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked this hotel for one night stay and two nights parking. Horrible, room extremely tired and shabby. The bathroom was a good size, broken hairdryer and that's the best that can be said about that. Perhaps a 2 star rating would be more appropriate, 4 star as advertised is laughable. The halls to the rooms and stairs (no lift for those with heavy bags) were all really dated and scruffy. The staff were helpful and the parking okay, however I think there are lots of much better alternatives around Gatwick. First and last time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and found the accommodation did not meet your expectations. We are slightly confused regarding lifts as we have two passenger lifts servicing all our floors. We are glad you found the staff are parking were both satisfactory. Thank you once again for your review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford, kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for the night before flying.
Hotel was clean and comfortable and not far from airport.
Had a bite to eat in the bar downstairs - rather expensive but convenient if you don't want to go out. Next time we will take some snacks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s00ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient for the airport, also that you enjoyed your meal in the Sports Bar. Hoping you had a lovely holiday and that you will return soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Awful hotel, I know it was just a stopgap before flying but even so worst night sleep I have ever had, rock hard mattress, pillows like concrete Slabs (2 days to get neck back to normal). Smelt grubby, very old fashioned in urgent need of update. Service rubbish, food medioca .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlwestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to read how upset and disappointed you were with your stay, We are very sorry you found the beds so uncomfortable. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We do hope you had a nice holiday and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stopped at this hotel in October 2013. One night was enough ! Room was shabby in desperate need of refurbishment , bathroom smelt. Service was appalling and very slow. Food and drink was very expensive . Menu was unimaginative and food tasteless .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. All guest comments and feedback are very important to us so thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE - this hotel claims to be a four star but falls way below expectations. It is in dire need of refurbishment, something that seems to be taking years. The worst thing about it is the noise from wedding guests - something I now know has caused other guests problems in the past (see earlier reviews). The staff know this is a problem to other guests and claim that they now accommodate regular guests away from the function suite and the wedding guests rooms but it is simply not true. We had to put up with noise until after 3.30 am even though we complained to the front desk. Not great when you have a transatlantic flight early the next day.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, don't stay anywhere near the function suite and make sure function gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry you were disturbed by wedding guests and wish to apologise most sincerely. Please be assured we try our very best to allocate rooms away from the function room for those not attending the wedding. We are very sorry you were so badly disturbed.
We hope you had a good flight and a lovely holiday and thank you again for your review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing