We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good suroundings, good location - shame about the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good suroundings, good location - shame about the Hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for one night - must admit I didnt look at trip advisor before I booked - But i knew it was close to the Airport and East Grinstead as location was very important
Cant fault the location, 10/15 minutes away from the Airport - 15/20 minutes away from East Grinstead
Hotel website looked good aswel - payed £93 for one night
Check in wasnt very welcoming - seemed more of a chore rather than a paying customer
Room was average - the sink had mould around the plug - and had a very nasty smell coming from it - shower & toilet were of average condition
TV didnt work upon arrival - more issues
The bed was very comfortable and was the best thing in the Hotel
The decor and general condition of this hotel was something like going back to the late 1970s - early Eighties - Very tired looking
Had a couple of drinks at the bar - Glass of wine £8.50 - I call it a bar - but it just looked like an afterthought tucked in the corner
My advice - go somewhere else

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review. As advised to other guests, we are embarking on a renovation project which starts early next year. We are very glad you found your bed comfortable and that you had a comfortable night. Also - that you found our location good for the airport and East Grinstead. Please return to us next year once our refurbishment has been completed. The bedrooms will come on stream from about March/April.
Thank you once again and Merry Christmas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    376
    356
    258
    218
See reviews for
208
671
55
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed one night prior to flight , picked this hotel because it was close to car parking and thought as it was a 4 star would be a nice treat,
What a complete disappointment it's tired and in a poor state and in need of much refurbishment,carpets with gaffer tape , all the doors are chipped even picture frames are the same ! Bathroom had mildew around bath, and broken tiles.there is a rather old stale smell in the foyer.
This is not a four star , I suggest this hotel needs to be re assessed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fidgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with your accommodation. We have recently undergone an assessment with the AA who have confirmed our 4 star rating. Please also note our bedrooms and corridors are all due for renovation next year, the hotel will be undergoing many changes. Please come back next year.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

OK if you are overnighting on route to Gatwick but very tired, needs updating, My handles on the wardrobes fell off. Breakfast was worse than awful. Complained to to staff.

If you book anything here, don't expect the final bill to match what you have been told and confirmed. Continuous staff changes on the Function team are a nightmare, the separate building where events are hold have poor lighting due to lack of maintenance/upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very much aware the hotel is in need of updating and this project will be starting in February. Thank you for your comments. We have had some changes in our Events team, we are very sorry if you have been inconvenienced . We do believe our new staff members are settling in well. Thank you also for your comments regarding lighting, these have been passed on to our Maintenance Manager.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night before an early morning flight from Gatwick & can honestly say for what we payed it was very good value for money. Yes it is dated but the staff are friendly the room was large & clean & the bed was comfortable what more could you want for a one night stay from a budget hotel. We did not use the dining facilities as we arrived late & had already eaten.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynndell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation to be nice and comfortable.
We hope you have had a lovely holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After an appalling start at another hotel (see my other reviews) we finally arrived here at midnight. After hearing of our 'eventful' night so far the staff were amazing here. We were given a suite with balcony and bottled water free of charge. I'm not saying this was a 5star hotel and maybe I'm over rating a little due to the disaster with our first hotel of the night but I cannot say enough how great the service was here. transfer to Gatwick quick and on time and will definatley stay here again

Room Tip: Suites are worth it if you want to pay the extra...luckily we didn't have to :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Very many thanks for your review. We were so pleased to read we were able to accommodate you at midnight and that you were well looked after. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We hope you have had a lovely holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked through holiday extras to ensure we had accommodation after 21 hours of travelling on return from our holiday.

We had to wait 10 minutes for anyone to appear to check us in at reception. First impressions were really poor - we were on the second floor, all of the corridoors we walked through were littered with rubbish, empty litre bottles of spirits, glasses etc. Doors to nearly all the rooms were heavily marks, the whole place looked really grubby and nothing like the photos we'd seen prior to booking.

Arriving into our room confirmed this, and we promptly checked out and drove another 4 hours to get home. We informed the lady on reception that we were unhappy with the room, and she replied 'ok'. Poor customer service. Awful hotel - stay somewhere else if you want a good end/start to your holiday, it's nowhere near a 4 star, and Wi-Fi should be included

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rll85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry you decided not to stay with us, please be assured your comments have been taken very seriously and passed to the managers concerned. We are very sorry you were not offered an alternative room and we are currently investigating this. Once again, our sincere apologies, we hope you had a safe journey home.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The shuttle bus from the airport only runs once and hour and takes 40 minutes get to the hotel which is only 6 miles away. This is because it stops at several hotels on the way.

The hotel is tired and in desperate need of renovation. For example there are ripped seats in the bar and tiles falling off the bathroom walls.

The staff are not helpful. I ordered a drink at the bar and was asked to wait 10 minutes while they finished cashing up. I reported noisy central to reception and was told there was nothing they could do.

The only thing 4 star about this hotel is the price of the food and drinks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444EFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay at the hotel. We are planning a renovation next year which we are aware several areas are much in need of. Please accept our apologies for the behaviour of the staff, what you describe is not acceptable. We were surprised to read your comments regarding the shuttle bus as our relatively new provider travels directly from hotel to airport and vice versa, so our apologies for this long journey.
May we thank you once again for your informative review.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing