We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
160
438
408
283
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
438
408
283
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflying from gatwickbit datedtaxi serviceovernight stayexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After reading several derogatory reviews of this Hotel we were very pleasantly surprised with our courteous reception and room. We had booked a 1 night stay with nearby parking at APH at a very reasonable price. The room was on the 2nd floor with lift or stair access and was roomy and warm. The double glazing windows are not fitted correctly so there is a slight draught when the curtains are open. We did not use the Restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Would certainly recommend for an overnight stay before flying.

Room Tip: Room 210 was very adequate and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne_Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay booked through our partners, APH. Thank you very much for taking the time. We hope you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

this hotel is in need of some urgent TLC. parts were ok, others decidedly not. Our room was definitely below par, wallpaper peeling off in places, one of the curtains needed re-hanging, and why is it that bathrooms always seem to have an abundance of black "stuff" in the grouting or between the floor tiles. Does this hotel (and similar ones we have used) have staff who report such things to the management? We stayed on New Years Eve, and thought the dinner deal looked good, but in reality it looked like the standard dinner/price, which we decided to accept. Interestingly-some previous reviews mentioned 'no chips' tonight-the fryer is broken'. funny that, we were told the same. In fairness, our dinners were very good. There was absolutely no ambience or atmosphere in the hotel for this special date, we went to bed and saw in 2014 in our room! We did not sleep very well either- why is it some guests have no consideration for other people, and make a lot of noise when those people are trying to sleep?
will we return? what do you think!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennvyaj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with your overall stay and the accommodation provided. We have noted all the points you have made, I am very sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere in the hotel on New Year's Eve - we had a large private function in our Millennium Suite. We are glad to note you enjoyed your meals - it was very unfortunate our fryer was out of commission for a while, however, all is fixed now. Please note our refurbishment of our bedrooms starts in February.
Thank you once again,
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Firstly, internet is not free! More and more hotels offer this as a value added these days and those that don't face getting left behind! Seriously this would be one reason I would not select this hotel in the future. Anyway the room was ok, the bed had a slant too for the preference of people sleeping on one side, so I chose the other, I didn't t eat there so I can't comment, as I went to the dukes head pub on the round about which is wonderful but that will be on another review.

I would say this is ok, better than Europa, which is close to Gatwick, but think of it as not more than a room / bed for the night and you won't be too disappointed.

I booked on booking.com and got a good rate so can't complain too much.

Room Tip: Booking.com !
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DMLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am sorry you were surprised to be charged for internet use, we are aware some hotels offer free internet and our policy is constantly being reviewed, however, it is a service we currently charge for. Thank you for your comments about your bedroom, we are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Duke's Head Pub, it is very nice.
Thank you very much once again for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad you found your booking offered value for money when booking through our partner, bookings.com.
Best wishes for 2014.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went here to meet up with family.We had to wait ages to order. The menu was very limited as it was, but they had run out of my first two choices. We were then told we could choose from the bar menu but when we chose fish and chips, we were told that their deep fat fryer was broken so we couldn't have anything with fries. We subsequently learned from another guest that it had been broken for a week but obviously they hadn't got round to getting it fixed/replaced.I chose a salad which they then told me was not available. I then went for a sandwich which was when it came was of a standard below many cheap cafes. We were not offered any money off the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ruthmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your meal. Unfortunately, our fryer had broken down the week before, so please accept our sincere apologies. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with your meal overall and thank you for bringing these points to our attention,
With kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Adequate stay. Needs refurbishment though.

I stayed here for a one-night stay, as we were having a Christmas work function.

The double room was clean and of a good size, with an outdoor paved balcony area. This was needed, as the room was too hot. There didn’t appear to be any air conditioning in the room, but there was a fan in the wardrobe. I can only assume that the room would be quite intolerable during Spring and completely intolerable in Summer. Leaving the slide door open all night would not be an option.

The bathroom was clean and adequately presented. The room overall was fine, but does need a slight refurb along with the rest of the hotel. The television wasn’t working on arrival, a problem that was common to other guests who I knew were staying there. This was reported and dealt within a few hours.

The breakfast was very good and well presented. I would stay here again, but would try to avoid Summer months due to the overheated rooms. The staff I encountered were polite.

Room Tip: If you have adouble room, ask for the ones with a balcony, so you may have the option of going out and getting some air or having the door open.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodnoltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are sorry your room was so hot. In the summer you may have the balcony door open as there is no security issue. As you may have read we are planning a renovation of our rooms and I am sure you would enjoy these should you return. We do hope you enjoyed your Christmas party and hope to welcome you back next year.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews