We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed for one night for a work Christmas-do. The hall in which we had the party was lovely, perfect for a Ball. The food was pretty good, although the Christmas pudding was a little dry. Otherwise I enjoyed the meal. Breakfast equally was good; not excellent, but what you would expect, fairly average, nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about. My bedroom though was disappointing and in need of refurbishment. For example, the table where the tea/coffee etc were placed was completely water stained - it looked really shabby. Covered in cup stains. One of the lights in the bathroom did not work, and the two 'matching' lamps did not match, so not a good overall look.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room - I suspect we got the bottom of the pile as it was on offer for the wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the party in our Millennium Suite. Thank you also for your comments regarding our food, we have noted your comments regarding the standard of your bedroom - we are aware our bedrooms need uplifting and renovating, please note this programme is due to start next month. Hopefully, we will be welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

we stayed here twice, snow feb 2012 and storm 23rd dec 2013.... booked in last minute to save driving home in poor conditions. Got a good deal B&B and evening meal less that £100.00 for two.
room good size , clean, tea and coffee, lovely beds, very nice diner and great breakfast. lovely grounds and easy parking. Arrived late and left early so can't say much more but would always return if stranded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PERCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. I can see you have stayed with us in all weathers ! Thank you once again for your comments which we were very pleased to receive, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Main hotel and grounds are fine. However limited phone signal and no heating in the conference centre made for a very cold day. Colleagues resorted to wearing their coats. Food etc we're what you would expect, ok but nothing special. However the rooms were terrible. I was on the 3rd in one of the larger more expensive rooms. Whilst they were clean it was very very shabby. It did the job (bed and hot water) but needs some serious money spent to bring it up to the standard if a premier inn room!! Shame really as the hotel clearly is trying hard in other areas. All I can say is that I hope the wedding suite isn't a similar standard!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebarnhamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your informative and constructive review. We apologise most sincerely for the lack of heating in your conference room and the discomfort suffered by yourself and your colleagues. We have noted all your comments, all of which are shared with members of our management team. You may have already read we are embarking on a renovation programme of bedrooms and corridors, this is due to start next month. We appreciate your comments regarding our service and we have some beautiful surroundings and gardens. We do hope your company will return to us and you will see the changes we have made in a few months time.
Thank you once again for your review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here before a flight at Gatwick, the staff were friendly, the room was ok, but nothing special, the food at the resturant was really good, and the grounds were lovely, overall everything was really nice except the room, the room was clean though and fine for a 1 night stay, it was very outdated though. They do wake up calls and organize the transfer for you which is nice. I would stay here again for a night, but not any longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bekkrawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your overall experience and the hotel's surroundings. We are aware our rooms are in need of updating and wish to advise that our renovation is due to start next month. We are glad you found us convenient to the airport, hopefully, you will consider returning in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were allocated the Effingham Copthorne on our recent holiday, via Holiday extras. I have used this services several times, and have not been disappointed, until now.

This hotel is very tired and certainly not 4*, as described. (We previously stayed at the other Copthorne, which was fine).
We were only able to eat in the "sports bar" ( a grubby pub-like area with dirty wobbly tables) from a very limited menu as the deep fat fryer was broken !

The curtains in the room were so old they were shredded - photo attached.

I am also complaining directly to the hotel, but am anxious about booking with Holiday Extras in the future, and we will be travelling a lot - the next trip is in February.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us booked via our partners Holiday Extras. We are very sorry you found both your room and the choice of food fell far below your expectations. Please note our renovation programme is due to start in February, we have new staff, a new Operations Manager and can only see our hotel going from strength to strength. Please consider returning once our renovation is completed.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Well, not amazing, but very good.
Sorry, couldn't resist the pun.
Stayed for the one night before flying from Gatwick.
The staff were freindly and efficient, the spacious room, clean and tidy and the bed comfortable.
Toiletries were supplied in the spotless bathroom.
They even have Sky Sports on the telly.
We got the room fo a bargain £40 from booking.com and would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a comfortable nights sleep before flying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable, clean and tidy - also of course, that you got a great rate with us via booking.com, our partner.
We hope you had a great holiday, thank you once again
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lovely setting with extensive grounds. Stayed for one night over the August Bank Holiday in 2013. The communal area at reception was not too bad, but the corridors leading to the rooms were in real need of a good upgrade : carpets, walls, doors etc ...all need a full overhaul. The rooms themselves are okay size-wise, but decor again in need of upgrading. Breakfast was okay - buffet and, to be fair, you could eat as much as you wanted.

I'm not overly fussy - I have (and will do so again) stayed in some very basic places and have been very happy with them. I must say however that if you expect 4-star quality, it would be better to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were glad to read you enjoyed your stay although you had some areas of concern. Please note our renovation of bedrooms and corridors is due to start in February, please return to see us. By the way, we were assessed by the AA and our 4 star rating was confirmed in September last year.
Do please return in the future.
Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
183 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing