We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff in outdated and tatty hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff in outdated and tatty hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

First room smelt in bathroom, moved rooms, tatty and stained furniture, moved again to what was supposed to be a superior room, very dated and tatty furniture. Couldn't fault staff for the way they dealt with our complaints. This hotel due for a complete refurbishment, bar area had torn seats and tatty scratched tables. We ate in Sportsmanship bar, very poor food, small portions and Expensive.
Really awful experience. Left complaints form but have heard nothing. How can this place be called 4 star?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with the standards provided, however, we were glad to note the staff did all they could to assist. Yes, we are due to undergo a refurbishment project starting with our corridors and bedrooms, we hope you will return when the work has been completed.
With best wishes, thank you once again for taking the time
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    355
    346
    253
    212
See reviews for
199
640
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We used this hotel as a stay over before an early morning flight to Lapland. We chose it because of 'Ask Alfred' which is a childs package. Charles was well looked after and made to feel special. Our room was spacious and clean. Only 1 restaurant or bar food so not too much choice with a small one. All staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us with your family. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff.
Hopefully, you will return to us in the future.
Thank you once again,
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed one night before taking an early flight to join a cruise from Tenerife. The room was quite big with the asked for twin beds, the evening meal was a bit disappointing, but we arrived after 8pm on a Friday, so there might not have been much left. On returning I did not like to drive the 150 miles back in the dark, so I asked the receptionist if it would be possible to get a room for the night at last minute rates, which he agreed: B & B for £75, which I thought very reasonable. Unfortunately the evening meal was really disappointing this time, we left after waiting nearly an hour for a pork chop, which got served to our room, but was inedible, but we did not get charged for it. Breakfast in the morning was a little better. But we would use this hotel again as it is convenient for Gatwick Airport and the parking is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ren245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise. Although we can see you believe we offered good value and convenience for the airport, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with the food - this is very unusual as we normally receive compliments about our meals - your comments have certainly been passed on to our chef. Hopefully, you will return to us next time you are travelling.
Best wishes and thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night before flying to the Caribbean from Gatwick. The room was clean and tidy but old fashioned and worn around the edges. At £75 to include the parking (but no breakfast) we can not complain. The taxi to Gatwick was £11.50 which makes it less attractive, next time it might be better to pay more and stay at the Hilton at the airport.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any refurbished updated rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad you felt we offered good value for money, we are actually located 6 miles from the airport and have negotiated a special price with our local taxi provider. As you may have read, our bedroom and corridor refurbishment programme is due to start soon, so please consider returning to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamsphire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed for one night for a work Christmas-do. The hall in which we had the party was lovely, perfect for a Ball. The food was pretty good, although the Christmas pudding was a little dry. Otherwise I enjoyed the meal. Breakfast equally was good; not excellent, but what you would expect, fairly average, nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about. My bedroom though was disappointing and in need of refurbishment. For example, the table where the tea/coffee etc were placed was completely water stained - it looked really shabby. Covered in cup stains. One of the lights in the bathroom did not work, and the two 'matching' lamps did not match, so not a good overall look.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room - I suspect we got the bottom of the pile as it was on offer for the wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the party in our Millennium Suite. Thank you also for your comments regarding our food, we have noted your comments regarding the standard of your bedroom - we are aware our bedrooms need uplifting and renovating, please note this programme is due to start next month. Hopefully, we will be welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUSSEX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

we stayed here twice, snow feb 2012 and storm 23rd dec 2013.... booked in last minute to save driving home in poor conditions. Got a good deal B&B and evening meal less that £100.00 for two.
room good size , clean, tea and coffee, lovely beds, very nice diner and great breakfast. lovely grounds and easy parking. Arrived late and left early so can't say much more but would always return if stranded.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PERCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. I can see you have stayed with us in all weathers ! Thank you once again for your comments which we were very pleased to receive, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Main hotel and grounds are fine. However limited phone signal and no heating in the conference centre made for a very cold day. Colleagues resorted to wearing their coats. Food etc we're what you would expect, ok but nothing special. However the rooms were terrible. I was on the 3rd in one of the larger more expensive rooms. Whilst they were clean it was very very shabby. It did the job (bed and hot water) but needs some serious money spent to bring it up to the standard if a premier inn room!! Shame really as the hotel clearly is trying hard in other areas. All I can say is that I hope the wedding suite isn't a similar standard!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebarnhamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your informative and constructive review. We apologise most sincerely for the lack of heating in your conference room and the discomfort suffered by yourself and your colleagues. We have noted all your comments, all of which are shared with members of our management team. You may have already read we are embarking on a renovation programme of bedrooms and corridors, this is due to start next month. We appreciate your comments regarding our service and we have some beautiful surroundings and gardens. We do hope your company will return to us and you will see the changes we have made in a few months time.
Thank you once again for your review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing