We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We used the hotel for an overnight stay prior to visiting Lingfield Racecourse. We booked through Holiday Extra.com at a cost of £26!! for one night stay. We arrived at around 5pm, booking in was smooth and trouble free. Our room was clean and spacious. Plenty of toiletries and tea/coffee making packs. We had drinks in the bar, which is a pleasant area, but drinks are rather pricey.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and professional.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us while attending Lingfield Races. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay booked through our partners, Holiday Extras. Hopefully, you will return again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

First room smelt in bathroom, moved rooms, tatty and stained furniture, moved again to what was supposed to be a superior room, very dated and tatty furniture. Couldn't fault staff for the way they dealt with our complaints. This hotel due for a complete refurbishment, bar area had torn seats and tatty scratched tables. We ate in Sportsmanship bar, very poor food, small portions and Expensive.
Really awful experience. Left complaints form but have heard nothing. How can this place be called 4 star?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with the standards provided, however, we were glad to note the staff did all they could to assist. Yes, we are due to undergo a refurbishment project starting with our corridors and bedrooms, we hope you will return when the work has been completed.
With best wishes, thank you once again for taking the time
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We used this hotel as a stay over before an early morning flight to Lapland. We chose it because of 'Ask Alfred' which is a childs package. Charles was well looked after and made to feel special. Our room was spacious and clean. Only 1 restaurant or bar food so not too much choice with a small one. All staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us with your family. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff.
Hopefully, you will return to us in the future.
Thank you once again,
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed one night before taking an early flight to join a cruise from Tenerife. The room was quite big with the asked for twin beds, the evening meal was a bit disappointing, but we arrived after 8pm on a Friday, so there might not have been much left. On returning I did not like to drive the 150 miles back in the dark, so I asked the receptionist if it would be possible to get a room for the night at last minute rates, which he agreed: B & B for £75, which I thought very reasonable. Unfortunately the evening meal was really disappointing this time, we left after waiting nearly an hour for a pork chop, which got served to our room, but was inedible, but we did not get charged for it. Breakfast in the morning was a little better. But we would use this hotel again as it is convenient for Gatwick Airport and the parking is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ren245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise. Although we can see you believe we offered good value and convenience for the airport, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with the food - this is very unusual as we normally receive compliments about our meals - your comments have certainly been passed on to our chef. Hopefully, you will return to us next time you are travelling.
Best wishes and thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night before flying to the Caribbean from Gatwick. The room was clean and tidy but old fashioned and worn around the edges. At £75 to include the parking (but no breakfast) we can not complain. The taxi to Gatwick was £11.50 which makes it less attractive, next time it might be better to pay more and stay at the Hilton at the airport.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any refurbished updated rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad you felt we offered good value for money, we are actually located 6 miles from the airport and have negotiated a special price with our local taxi provider. As you may have read, our bedroom and corridor refurbishment programme is due to start soon, so please consider returning to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed for one night for a work Christmas-do. The hall in which we had the party was lovely, perfect for a Ball. The food was pretty good, although the Christmas pudding was a little dry. Otherwise I enjoyed the meal. Breakfast equally was good; not excellent, but what you would expect, fairly average, nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about. My bedroom though was disappointing and in need of refurbishment. For example, the table where the tea/coffee etc were placed was completely water stained - it looked really shabby. Covered in cup stains. One of the lights in the bathroom did not work, and the two 'matching' lamps did not match, so not a good overall look.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room - I suspect we got the bottom of the pile as it was on offer for the wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the party in our Millennium Suite. Thank you also for your comments regarding our food, we have noted your comments regarding the standard of your bedroom - we are aware our bedrooms need uplifting and renovating, please note this programme is due to start next month. Hopefully, we will be welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

we stayed here twice, snow feb 2012 and storm 23rd dec 2013.... booked in last minute to save driving home in poor conditions. Got a good deal B&B and evening meal less that £100.00 for two.
room good size , clean, tea and coffee, lovely beds, very nice diner and great breakfast. lovely grounds and easy parking. Arrived late and left early so can't say much more but would always return if stranded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PERCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. I can see you have stayed with us in all weathers ! Thank you once again for your comments which we were very pleased to receive, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £40 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing