We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“In need of investment”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel once a year for several years to attend an event. The rooms are really run down and there is no sign of any refurbishment programme. The food at breakfast was of poor quality - overdone scrambled eggs, soggy looking mushrooms, tepid coffee served from a big flask. I won't add any pictures - the travellers pictures on this site show enough. Overall not expensive but of poor quality. The staff were nice, though.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank calvin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry you found the standards both for your room and food served to be below your expectations, particularly as you have stayed with us before so many times. Our chef will have viewed your comments regarding your breakfast, please accept our apologies. The renovation of our bedrooms and corridors is due to start very soon, it should be starting in March. Please do come back once our rooms have been upgraded, I am sure you will enjoy the changes we plan to make.
Kindestr regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    376
    357
    259
    218
See reviews for
208
672
55
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Although not up to 4 stars due to refurbishment needed, our room was very comfortable. The restaurant provided a more than adequate meal and the entertainment was amazing. We were lucky enough to be there during Dance Championships. (downside to that, they made an awful lot of noise at night). When booking a mystery hotel with parking for 3 weeks at a cost of around £90, that is good value. Obviously for a one night stay and parking included you are not going to be given the best rooms.

Room Tip: Did not realise we could have asked for a quiet room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 112PamelaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found our parking package offered good value. I hope you managed to see some of the dancing. We will always try to allocate quiet rooms to anyone not attending a function. Thank you once again for your nice words.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel came as part of a parking package when we were flying out of Gatwick, and I was not expecting too much at the price we paid. We arrived at 1730hrs on Thursday 19.12.13. Very large reception area full to bursting with party goers waiting to go across to the function suite. Reception desk was manned by a very pleasant and efficient young lady, and another young lady offered to get us a drink so that we did not have to queue with the party crowd.
Our room was large but a little dated but with a superb bed, and the bathroom was large with a very nice bath, and everything was spotlessly clean. I was told that a refurbishment program will start later this year.
We ate in the Sports Bar and both had the specialty pies. Probably the nicest pies we have had in a very long time.
Yes, the room we had was looking a little tired but the important bits, bed, bathroom and cleanliness were excellent and I could not fault the service we received from the staff. Because of this I have given the hotel a five rating, and we will definitely stay here again when flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRHYTHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for awarding our hotel 5 stars. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation comfortable and that you enjoyed your meals. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are flying from Gatwick. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a reivew.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

3 adults sharing a family room at £90 inc parking sounds good. It was a good price and on entering the hotel we were impressed but that's were it stopped. Room was outdated with peeling walloaper, pillows rock hard, over priced restaurant and no phone signal. I tried to ring home so my husband knew id arrived safely but no phone signal, no wii fii working so can't email. There is a phone in the room, guess what, not working. There are plenty of other hotels around Gatwick airport and I'd suggest you try them. I'm being generous giving it 3 stars

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Becs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry you were disappointed with several aspects of your stay. Unfortunately, our phone signal is very poor, this affects the whole of the Crawley Down area, it is a real shame and an inconvenience to our guests. You may have read the hotel bedrooms are about to be updated, we are aware this is due. We are very sorry your bedroom phone was not working. Thank you anyway for your review, please think about returning to us once our renovation has been completed.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We regularly use this hotel for overnight stays prior to flying from Gatwick as it is handily located near to the excellent Cophall Parking. Always impressed with this hotel for the price paid. Staff have always been friendly and never have to wait long to check in/out. Some of the rooms are a little dated but always spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Room service food is very good and reasonably priced. Have to say that for the price this hotel is an absolute bargain.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words following your stay with us. Yes, we are very handy for Cophall Farm Car Parking. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were well cared for by our staff. Hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I live locally, and booked this hotel in the Millennium Sale. We had a Club room on the third floor, it had already been explained to us the Hotel was undergoing extensive refurbishment. The room was clean, yes a little tired, but nothing major to complain about.
We ate in the bar, I had a burger and my partner fish and chips. The food was piping hot, and good value. We paid 36.00 for two meals with drinks. As we had a club room, we received a voucher for 2 drinks and breakfast, bearing in mind the room only cost £43,00, great value. The staff could not do enough to help, and were friendly and efficient.
The grounds are stunning, and only 10 mins from Gatwick.
I think the people leaving such negative reviews should take a look at the prices of other Hotels in the area.
Once refurbished am sure the exceptional rates, we had will be hard to find again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the voucher for breakfasts and complimentary drinks when booking Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smjh000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your great review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your meal, also that you were well looked after by our staff. Although we are planning a renovation, our prices will always be very competitive so please come back and see us again.
Many thanks and best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We used the hotel for an overnight stay prior to visiting Lingfield Racecourse. We booked through Holiday Extra.com at a cost of £26!! for one night stay. We arrived at around 5pm, booking in was smooth and trouble free. Our room was clean and spacious. Plenty of toiletries and tea/coffee making packs. We had drinks in the bar, which is a pleasant area, but drinks are rather pricey.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and professional.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us while attending Lingfield Races. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay booked through our partners, Holiday Extras. Hopefully, you will return again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing