We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
174
471
429
300
294
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
471
429
300
294
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying from gatwick bit dated taxi service overnight stay excellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the effingham park copthorne en route to gatwick airport. It is in a very pleasant location. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff and good breakfast. We used the local Dukes Head pub for our evening meal which was outstanding and just a short walk from the hotel. Booking is advised as it is very popular!

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank siothchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review and for awarding our hotel 5 stars, thank you ! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your meal at our local pub, the Duke's Head. We hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you once again for your nice words.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A countryside style hotel-a 10 min drive from airport.wifi available as 3G slow.welcome drink upon arrival.lobby is comfortable with a bar & restaurant .buffet breakfast is good but restaurants closes early & room service also closes early.staff managed to provide some food.hotel needs to have flexible meal orders to serve passengers for airport!room is large with desk/chair/tv.bed is comfortable but furniture is old/dirty & should be condemned.bathroom is small.Hotel is due for a renovation.staff make the difference & are helpful in resolving guest needs/problems.use local taxi service instead of official airport taxi.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank michaeldS1905JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so sorry you had problems getting something to eat. We are currently investigating your comments as we offer 24 hours room service and the restaurant is open until 10.00 p.m. I am glad our staff did manage to get you some food. We are sorry you found your room so much in need of updating although comfortable and thank you for your nice comments regarding our caring staff, hopefully we may look forward to welcoming you back soon when we will have completed our refurbishment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on April 01st for one night with my partner and our 22 month daughter. Arrived at the enterance and was very impressed with the outside and was looking forward to getting inside.

Reception area was impressive and lady on reception gave us a lovely friendly welcome and offered us an upgrade for a small charge which we accepted and were very excited to see our room. We were given room 316 which we were told had a terrace which again couldnt wait to see as noticed these when we drove into the hotel and weather was fantastic so good opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the view.

On entering the room I was made up, the room was huge with a big four poster bed and massive bathroom very impressed but this didnt last for long. When we went out onto the terrace I was dissapointed to find no chairs on there which the others had on. It was quite dirty with a smell of drains this was a shame as all this would need is a good jet wash clean and it would look 100 times better. I was looking round the room and the furniture was quite dated and broken. The dressing table draws were all broken so wouldnt open and shut very well the TV unit was now too small to place the flat screen TV in so was very dusty inside with the TV placed on top of it so really no use for it in the room.

My partner decided to use the whirlpool bath before we went for tea but couldnt manage to get it to work. When we went down I asked the same lady who checked us in if she knew about the bath not working. I was shocked when her reply was yes it hasnt been working for a while they had to switch it off due to a safety issue which she said she wouldnt go into! Why was this not pointed out on check in and if it isnt safe why not take it out of the room or not let the room out until it is fixed!! Very dissapointec and felt a bit upset that we were not told beforehand.

The other problem with the room was the heating was far too hot and you couldnt change the tempreture so we all had a restless sleep really this didnt need to be on all night.

Breakfast was ok staff very welcome and friendly which made up for it.

I just want to point out that all the staff at the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming which helped made the stay better than it was.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Emzylou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review and for the time you have taken to go into detail regarding your stay. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your room bearing in mind you had paid for an upgrade. All your comments have been noted and passed on to our Head Housekeeper and Chief Engineer, we are naturally upset you felt disappointed. We are also very sorry you were not advised the spa bath is out of operation and that your room was so hot. We are glad you felt well looked after by our staff, thank you for those nice words.
Your comments and feedback are much appreciated, thank you.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for work function. From the outside and reception it feels above a standard hotel. Unfortunately its rooms let it down. I've read it is undergoing refurbishment and it cant come soon enough. The bathroom is very dirty looking with stains all around the sink. The TV didn't work even after someone came to look at it. We were offered to move rooms but had unpacked at this point. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable though and I slept well. Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from. Check out is noon but unfortunately whilst I was packing after breakfast at 10 a maid let herself in without even knocking! housekeeping should know what guests are leaving when!! We informed reception of this and was told the manager would investigate. Take plenty of money with you as drinks are very expensive £20 for a cheap bottle of wine!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 780natasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. Your comments are very helpful. We realise some of our rooms are in need of updating and refurbishment, thank you for pointing this out. We have noted all your other comments, thank you and of course we are very sorry about the housekeeper disturbing you. We constantly check the price of drinks and wine in the area in order to make sure we are in line with other similar hotels. Thank you once again for posting your comments for the benefit of other travellers, they are much appreciated.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this at the last minute through Booking.com. When I arrived the building looked impressive and thought I'd found a cracker, checking in was efficient and staff were friendly. Entering my room was when it went down hill, although clean it was somewhat tired and shabby, the carpet didn't have any pile in places and the decor was dated. The TV didn't work and was told that it was a problem in many rooms and someone was coming out to look at it the following day. Breakfast was ok and staff attentive. I also noticed that some of the fire doors were damaged with glazing beads missing so wouldn't fancy being caught up in an emergency, the fire safety order should be considered.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Swipe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recent honest and constructive review. We are very sorry you found your room and facilities were not to the expected standard. Please be assured we are aware our rooms are in need of updating. All your comments have been noted and passed on to the managers concerned, so thank you for these and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews