We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for airport and parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good base for airport and parking”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to a morning flight. We had a fairly good experience, with all staff being attentive, efficient and courteous. We had a comfortable room with a small balcony. The hotel is a bit tatty in places (the side of our bath, for example, seemed unfinished at the bottom and the lampshade was a bit ragged) and the communal areas feel a bit souless with piped music and little natural light. I thought it was excellent value for the stay and the parking (the whole thing worked out cheaper than on-airport parking alone would have done) but drinks at the bar were expensive (nearly £4 for a J2O!) The shuttle bus worked really well going to the airport. We were told that we could get a taxi tranfer back for the same price by ringing a particular number and quoting that it was the shuttle bus, but ended up with the driver arguing about this, which wasn't great at the end of a long day's travel. However, once at the hotel, the car pick up worked smoothly. I would definitely consider using this hotel again for an airport stopover but wouldn't recommend for an actual holiday.

Room Tip: Room upgrade was worth doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read you were happy with most aspects of your stay and that your overall experience was a positive one. We are sorry you found the cost of drinks somewhat expensive, although we always monitor our costs and compare ourselves with other hotels in the area. We were glad to read your parking and your car pick up went well and that you would consider returning to us in the future.
Many thanks once again for taking the time,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    377
    363
    262
    224
See reviews for
212
678
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After a great previous experience at another Copthorne, we booked this hotel as a short break in the south and to go to the nearby races. The great thing about this hotel is the location, and the places to go around it. The hotel is in need of a redecorate, and the staff need some lessons in customer service as we were judged for not wanting an upgrade. The check in staff almost expected it of us. The sports bar is expensive and woudn't put the football on. The restaurant is good there although more menu choice would be much better. Our TV broke on our last night so after informing reception, it took them over an hour to come and fix it and we were required to wait in the room. Despite what Google etc says, there is NO spa and swimming pool. If you were staying for one night it would be fine, but do not stay any longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We can see several aspects of your stay fell below your expectations although you enjoyed the hotel and the places of interest in the local area. We have certainly noted your comments regarding the Sports Bar and the incorrect advertising of a spa. Unfortunately, our pool has been out of commission now since 2011.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over one night while attending an event. There is nothing to complain about this hotel: rooms are comfortable and a reasonable size, staff are friendly and breakfast was good. It's getting a little tired but I understand a refurb is planned. We a got a deal otherwise I think we'd find it a bit pricey for what it is. Beautiful grounds, nice and quiet, we will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were glad to read you enjoyed your stay along with the quiet surroundings and gardens. We are only 6 miles from the airport. Thank you once again for posting a review for the benefit of other guests.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this hotel as a mystery 4* but found the hotel very worn & quite run down, I would only call this a 3* tops. Wasn't dirty at all & was handy for parking while on holiday abroad but doubt I would book it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyblue1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and thank you also for your comments. Although we are aware some areas of the hotel are in need of updating, we do our utmost to ensure the comfort of our guests as well as offering friendly service and good food.
Hopefully you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked in again last week ,using it as my pre flight base. As usual I found the staff helpful and courteous, the room clean and comfortable and the room service prompt . The first time I stayed was after booking it as one of lastminute.com 's secret hotels, and I have been going there pre holiday ever since. I would have no hesitation in booking again in the future and recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on to the grounds are especially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again and that you were comfortable and well looked after by our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked this Hotel via the Holidayextras website as the "Mystery Hotel", one night stay (triple room) and seven days carparking all for £85. Once booked and paid for they tell you the name of the hotel you will be staying at. A quick review on Tripadvisor and i was fearing the worst, however i have to say i was pleasantly surprised by what we got for our money. Reception and check in ran flawlessly and we were in our room within 5 minutes.

The room was very large with a massive bathroom, you also had a large balcony area. the room had a very large bed which was extremly comfy and two single beds, hotel also supplied
a kettle for making coffee/ tea. A flatscreen TV was also provided.
Although the decor in the room was very 1980's it was still presented clean and tidy for our overnight stay.

We had booked the hotels restuarant which charged £17.95 for a two course set meal or £19.95 for three courses, we each had something different from the menu and were all satisfied with what we were given.

The only negative thing i can think of was the heat in the room, i checked the rads and they were off however it was like a sauna in our room, however the wardrobe had two desk fans in it so we left them on all night.


Overall i was happy with my stay and at the price they charged would use again.

Room Tip: take a fan !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobbly1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found we offered good value with our parking package offered through Holiday Extras. Thank you for your comments, of course, we were also very pleased you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. So sorry you felt so hot, we have just had a hot spell of weather, fans are provided in all our rooms as we do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I booked this hotel on the Holidayextras website for a good price, but not knowing which hotel we would get. When the hotel was named I looked it up on Tripadvisor and was horrified at some of the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. I can only speak for our family room which was huge and clean. I did not like the firm beds, but this was just a matter of preference - there was nothing wrong with them. There was some cosmetic damage to the wallpaper, carpet, bathroom floor tiles etc, but this had obviously been done by careless, obnoxious customers. A hotel cannot be expected to redecorate every time this sort of person stays there! Breakfast was adequate.
I asked for my car not to be moved as we had had a bit of trouble with it on our journey, but they took my keys in case of an emergency. On return my car was exactly where I had left it. Check in, check out and return of keys was very smooth and efficient, as was the taxi service to and from the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel for a one night stay with parking before a flight, but cannot comment on a longer holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suephils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and your nice words regarding our hotel. We are aware some of our guests comments differ, as it happens, we are just awaiting the commencement of our refurbishment programme of our bedrooms and corridors. Sorry you found the beds rather hard ! I was glad to read all was well with your car and that you had a safe journey home. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing