We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up-grade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“up-grade”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We up-graded and stayed on the third floor . Superb room big clean balcony flat screen tv great power shower . Had a really good meal in the sports bar . Bed was very comfy king size.have stayed here for four years in a row before we go on hols will b stopping here again next would highly recommend .

Room Tip: Third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your nice words. We hope you had a wonderful holiday.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    377
    362
    262
    224
See reviews for
212
678
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We book the Copthorne often..well twice a year, for predictable satisfactory budget accommodation. The staff are usually fine, the room adequate and the shuttle service prompt and polite. We hope to travel the world for the next 30 years..say 60 visits to Copthorne..why change to one other of the plethora of similar airport hotels unless something is drastically wrong? There are always at least two of us, usually sharing a room for convenience.We spend loads in the bar, usually eat dinner and buy breakfast and leave the car, which to date has never been lost or damaged, staying also on our return . I estimate we spend £250 pp per visit(s), ish.
So losing us costs the hotel £30k in the next 30 years income, and the competition gets the money to invest in décor etc.
This time my friend and I returned after 5 weeks in the USA touring, and a 23 hour journey from San Diego via Iceland to Gatwick, waited 1 hour for luggage then arrived at Copthorne.
The car was returned , we were given our key and as we made our way to the lift the receptionist was LOUDLY discussing how cheap the price we had paid for B+B was.
We were tired and when we found the carpet so stretched and loose we could trip on the folds(216..avoid at all costs!!)we ignored this, the open cupboard with nothing in it(drawers, fridge??)the toilet seat left up, one flannel between two of us to wash with..in favour of sleep. The shower plug was stuck in so the water didn't drain and the curtains showed several near holes where daylight shone through the ragged material. We woke wondering what time it was and could see our watches said 6?? but no idea what day it was-it was light. The clock said 10, obviously incorrect and-are you surprised?-the TV did not work. The toilet bowl and flooring were chipped. We signed out at 6.45pm. The receptionist was nice but could not check us out. When we reported what was wrong we were offered coffee before we left..it was 6.45pm ..we had checked in 4.5 hours earlier. The real frustration is not the apology ..that was OK and mouthed well, but the clear intention to ignore the problems and not write down the issues or read my list to put it right. So I'm not going back. Not even if they paid me. Even if the next time would be OK..because I can stay elsewhere and take that risk.

Room Tip: Don't choose 216...in fact refuse to take it! Great view THROUGH the curtains though..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a constructive review following your brief stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so disapointed with your room and also with the level of customer service you received including the attitude of our reception. We are very sorry you have decided not to return to us in the future especially with all the travelling you plan to do. We have asked our Head Housekeeper and Operations Manager to report back regarding room 216. Please be assured we have taken your comments seriously and also to add that a renovation of our hotel is planned for the future.
Thank you for your comments.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked here as part of a stay and park deal for a flight from Gatwick. The check in was fine, the staff werent overly friendly but not rude either. I was pleased as when I booked I had requested that the rooms of the people in our party were near each other, I wasnt holding out much hope but they did do it.
The hotel itself is very dated, it was clean but could do with a refurb, its all old fashioned and a bit tacky.
We didnt eat there, however the food did look nice. We did have a few drinks in the bar, as always with airport hotels these cost a small fortune but to be expected.
We booked the transfer to the airport, it is disappointing that you have to pay £4.50 a head each way for it or so we thought. There were 4 of us so we paid £18.00 on the way there however, on the way back when we rang the same transfer actually told us it was £11.00 for the whole taxi so we overpaid on the way out.
To be honest I`m just all a bit indifferent about it. It wasnt horrendous but wasnt my best hotel stay ever. Its ok to lay your head for the night before a flight but any longer I wouldnt stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review. Your comments and feedback were very constructive, thank you. We are very sorry it was not pointed out that a taxi may have been cheaper to go to the airport as there were 4 passengers. I was glad to read your accommodation was allocated close to each other. Thank you for awarding your stay 3 stars. We are planning renovation work on the hotel which will include new carpets and soft furnishings in all bedrooms. We hope you will consider returning in the future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night at the races and certainly wished we hadn't
Reception was unhelpful and absolutely not friendly - everything I asked was too much
We had booked a club room but the guy couldn't be bothered to explain what the benefits were and therefore we saw no benefits other than a shocking quality of house wine
The taxi company that the hotel endorse - road runners - were slightly late for our first part of the short journey and then didn't even bother to turn up at the end of the evening - left us stranded on a Saturday night !!! Despite calls to them they still didn't turn up and no apology.
The room was fine - clean and large with a balcony but in need of updating.
The bar service was as bland as reception.
In all only use this hotel if it's just a base in which case you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with several aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding our Front Office staff will be discussed with our Operations Manager and Road Runners, who are our designated taxi company will certainly hear of your complaints regarding their service. We hope you enjoyed the races and thank you for your constructive review and for sparing the time.
With best wishes
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We checked in and the guy on the desk was friendly enough but was chattering on about some thing we could buy for £30 each but didn't really say what it was..... I was also asked to fill in a form which it turns out was to sign up to a reward account - errr didn't want one but thanks for explaining it so clearly!!!

When we got along to the room I really wish we had turned around and gone elsewhere. The carpet in the room was threadbare at the end of the bed, the bed itself was the most uncomfortable, overused mattress I think I have ever slept on! The nice relaxing nights sleep hubster and I were looking for before an early morning flight was not what we had.

The location of the hotel, not having to pay for overnight parking and a quick check out were the best things going for it.

I hate leaving bad reviews but having used Trip Advisor for the basis of a number of our hotel choices of late (sadly this not being one of them - I will learn from this mistake!) I owed it to fellow reviewers to make comment.

I'm sure back in the 90's when everything there was new and not in any way dated it was a lovely hotel. I've learnt and already booked alternative accommodation for our next pre-holiday stay near Gatwick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are, naturally, very sorry you felt so disappointed with your overall experience and your room. Please accept our apologies, we are aware that several of our rooms are in need of updating and we are very sorry you found yourselves experiencing this. Although our carpets in some rooms are in need of replacement, generally, comments from our guests regarding beds, cleanliness and comfort are good. Thank you, anyway for using Tripadvisor to share your views with fellow travellers.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked as a park transfer and stay. Transfer excellent though when we returned we learnt there is no further bus collection service so after waiting an hour and a half we booked and paid £15 for a taxi. Taxi driver was most apologetic and really helpful. Hotel is very tatty. Threadbare bedroom carpet and stained ceiling. Bathroom clean with good facilities and bed comfortable but definitely not the class it states on the tin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you were not advised that we do not now operate a shuttle bus service back from the airport. The same company operate the taxi service and this is the phone number you should have been given to pick you up at the airport. The taxi fare from the airport to hotel should be £11.50, we are so sorry for this. Regarding the hotel, we are about to embark on a refurbishment programme and are aware that some of our rooms are overdue for attention, so please accept our apologies.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to a morning flight. We had a fairly good experience, with all staff being attentive, efficient and courteous. We had a comfortable room with a small balcony. The hotel is a bit tatty in places (the side of our bath, for example, seemed unfinished at the bottom and the lampshade was a bit ragged) and the communal areas feel a bit souless with piped music and little natural light. I thought it was excellent value for the stay and the parking (the whole thing worked out cheaper than on-airport parking alone would have done) but drinks at the bar were expensive (nearly £4 for a J2O!) The shuttle bus worked really well going to the airport. We were told that we could get a taxi tranfer back for the same price by ringing a particular number and quoting that it was the shuttle bus, but ended up with the driver arguing about this, which wasn't great at the end of a long day's travel. However, once at the hotel, the car pick up worked smoothly. I would definitely consider using this hotel again for an airport stopover but wouldn't recommend for an actual holiday.

Room Tip: Room upgrade was worth doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read you were happy with most aspects of your stay and that your overall experience was a positive one. We are sorry you found the cost of drinks somewhat expensive, although we always monitor our costs and compare ourselves with other hotels in the area. We were glad to read your parking and your car pick up went well and that you would consider returning to us in the future.
Many thanks once again for taking the time,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing