We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We regularly use this hotel for overnight stays prior to Lingfield races. Always impressed with this hotel for the price paid. Staff have always been friendly and never have to wait long to check in/out. Some of the rooms are a little dated but always spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Room service food is very good and reasonably priced. Have to say that for the price this hotel is an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us when visiting Lingfield Races. While we are aware some of our rooms are in need of updating, and a refurbishment programme is planned, we make sure our rooms are spotlessly clean and our staff will go that extra mile to look after our guests. We hope you did well at the races and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    376
    356
    258
    218
See reviews for
208
671
55
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Rebecca C reported that the TV did not work on 8th July, we had room 216 on 11th July and guess what, the TV still did not work and the staff made out that this had only just happened which obviously was a fob off and even though management assured in a reply in Rebecca's report on here that they would get housekeeping to look at it, they obviously do not take reports or customer service seriously, furthermore, I went to the front desk and requested a 4.45 shuttle bus only to be called at 4.10 saying that the bus would be leaving in 5 minutes! Please copthorne, get your act together as there are many hotels out there to choose from!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry your TV was not working, it was checked by our maintenance staff and we have asked for it to be checked again although the room is currently occupied. Unfortunately, the TV problem we had was intermittent but we are now checking again. We are very sorry for the miscommunication regarding the shuttle bus, our sincere apologies. We realise how much choice there is in the Gatwick area and the importance of providing good customer service to all our guests. Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a fine place to stay if you're looking for a low-budget hotel, but I would avoid it if you have small children. The hotel has not been well maintained. The rugs are threadbare, the beds are tired, the bathrooms are dank, and the facilities are just outdated. We tried to make the best of it, and the kids really did enjoy some tennis and golf. In fact, the golf course is in much better shape than the hotel.

Unfortunately, the service at the hotel was underwhelming. One evening we waited for almost an hour-and-a-half for dinner in the sports pub. I had ordered wings and was surprised to be served three wings and three fried shrimp - after waiting an hour-and-a-half. The kids were starving when their pizzas arrived and though the pizza was decent, it looked like they had ordered it from another place for delivery.

The worst experience happened at check-out. There we were informed that we were billed an extra 50 pounds because one of the children had wet his bed. We've traveled the world and probably average 50 room nights per year (we take two or three rooms per night) and I've never run across an extra charge for a wet bed. I was in a rush for a flight, so I didn't protest much, but I wish that I had. This was highway robbery. We'll never stay here again and I wouldn't suggest anyone with small kids should either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svincent68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with your family. We are very sorry you found so many aspects of your stay disappointing and not meeting your expectations. We appreciate some areas of the hotel are in need of updating, a refurbishment programme is planned for the near future. Please accept our apologies for the long delay with regard to your food being served, I was glad to read you enjoyed your pizzas and wish to assure you that they are made in house in our own kitchen. I understand our housekeeper left you a note advising we would have to charge for the cleaning of the quilt and mattress, I am very sorry but this is our normal practice and I understand this accident unfiortunately happened on your first night. May we thank you once again for taking the time to post an informative review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in order to have somewhere to park whilst we were away and to enable us to make an early start in the morning.
The room was adequate for a short stay and the morning call was spot on time.
We didn't eat here as we thought the menu a bit mundane and unimaginative.
Staff were attentive and informative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and found our location convenient for the airport. We hope to welcome you back again next time and also that you had a nice holiday.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on 04/06 July 2014
Definitely NOT for the disabled I have polio that makes life very difficult for me to get into a bath tub
As I have a walk in shower at home but there was no such facility here and the only disabled room was occupied by my mother who is in her eighty's and needed the room more than me the staff were fantastic the food was great the hotel needs to be brought into the 21st century needless to say I won't be staying there again.

Mash 6

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding our disabled facilities, please accept our sincere apologies. Unfortunately, we only have the one adapted room and this room has a shower within the bath. We are so sorry for the inconvenience.
Thank you for brininging this matter to our attention.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here just over 2 weeks ago for access to gatwick airport and long stay parking as I'm sure many do. This hotel is very dated and could do with being brought up to the standard of hotels locally.
Unable to review the food as we walked 5 min down the road to a local pub for food as the price in the hotel was high. The pub is lovely, well priced and within easy reach of the hotel.
My main complaint as the reason for a low rating is because of what happened the evening of our stay. On return from the pub we thought a night cap drink in the so called "sports bar" would end the evening off nicely before a long flight in the morning, well how they have the nerve to call it this is beyond me as pool table not working, table football not working, big screen TV not working, and the price of drinks is out of this world ! A low cost airline flight is cheaper. Not so bad you may think, well the best was yet to come.
As we were off to bed a lot of noise from reception was to be heard and as we walked passed and bride and groom still in full dress and suit were standing their both in floods of tears as the hotel manager was refusing to give them a room! The other couple we were with went over to ask if they could help and found out that they had a booking for the night but as apparently no payment had been made he was refusing to let them stay. This was now around midnight. They had their booking confirmation but to the manager this was not enough, if they wanted to stay they would have to pay again around £120, the bride though the tears said we shouldn't have to but if they did just to get a room she said I want a room that has no durt, dust or mould with the managers response being and to quote " then I suggest you find another hotel "
I found this utterly outrageous on his part, what were the ment to do, 40 miles from home, no money and no room on their wedding night !
We suggested to the manager that they got a room and all the booking/ payment was sorted the next day but he flatly refused, nice customer service skills.
Unfortunately no one could help and the poor couple were left standing outside. This is the reason from my review, avoid this hotel if you can !!

Room Tip: All rooms I saw looked the same, dated, dirty and in need of re ferb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin27s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a reviw following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you felt so upset about the wedding guests you came across in our front office while we appreciated your concern regarding these clients, please be assured we were dealing with the matter as per our policies. The matter has been fully investigated by our Operations Manager,
We are very sorry, once again, that you felt disappointed with your stay.
Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cleer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed here a few times when flying from Gatwick and have never been disappointed. We were upgraded (free) this time. Room was huge with king size bed, large flat screen TV and very clean. The only negative comment I can make is that the section we were in had just been refurbished and smelt strongly of paint and wood stain. Very comfortable bar and restaurant (although not cheap) but also not over expensive for London area. We also leave the car here as it is very reasonably priced and transfers to the airport are only £10 by taxi. Easy check in/out and car always ready when we returned. We will be staying again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words and your recent review of our hotel. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you would certainly return in the future. We are so sorry about the smell of paint, unfortunately, this is more noticeable when the weather is warm, our sincere apologies. We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing