We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Airport Hotel - but a little dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I have stayed here several times on my way to/from holiday. The location is perfect as it is very quiet & set in great grounds. I do agree with other reviews that the hotel is rather dated, the corridors and bedroom do urgently need updating. I stayed in room 224 and the corridor leading there from the lift could do with ventiltaion - the smell was not the most pleasant. I ate in the Sports Bar, which was fine, my only gripe would be the menu is rather limited & could do with updating, however it is a better venue to eat than the main restaurant which I find overpriced & soulless. The Health Suite is excellent, with a light and airy swimming pool & single sex sauna/steam areas, all of which are clean & tidy. I will be using this hotel again as there are always good room rates available. I paid £61 for a twin room - great value for an airport hotel with facilities.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Beachlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you very much for writing a review on our hotel.     We were extremely pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, our food and our health club.     We are also very pleased that you believe we offer good value and conveniece to the airport.      Looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.Kind regardsGuest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

Our family of 10 flying out for a Wedding in Turkey were caught up in the volcano disruption. We were transferred to the CopthorneEffingham to await flights. All staff were extremely helpful. Operations Manager Mat Williams and Donna on reception at the Effingham went out of their way to help with arrangements and our return home as the Wedding was unable to go ahead. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudleys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us in April. Your comments regarding our staff and service are much appreciated and we do hope you will return to the hotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

My wife, myself and ten other holiday-makers were transferred from Manchester Airport by Easyjet on Thursday 15th April 2010, due to our flight being cancelled because of the volcanic ash and were booked on a flight out from Gatwick the following day.
We were upset to say the least at having to transfer but we were told this was a good hotel and we would be looked after.
When we arrived the female receptionist said there were no rooms for us.
She told us that it was no use sitting in reception as we were not staying at that hotel.
We felt she was un-necessarily rude and unfeeling.
If it was not for the mini-bus drivers arranging another hotel for us we would have been thrown out on the street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Stupot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are extremely sorry you felt you were not well looked after by our staff during the period of the volcanic ash. We can only assume a room was not booked for you by your airline. Once again, our sincere apologies, we normally receive many compliments about our staff so this situation was very unusual. Thank you again for your feedback which was discussed at the time your review was posted by our management.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

As the title says we've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and it really does deserve a repeat review.
We were supposed to be staying here on the Saturday night and then using the parking facilities and flying for a much needed holiday to Malta on the Sunday. Well, thanks to the Iceland Volcano hassles, it quickly became clear this was not going to happen. We made the decision to go to the Copthorne anyway as we'd paid for it and Holiday Extras weren't going to give us a refund and our insurance company wouldn't pay out because of the "act of God"......
When we arrived, the welcome was amazing from a fantastic member of staff called Donna. She genuinely felt sorry for us and did everything to give us a lovely stay.
The hotel itself does need some attention such as soft furnishings, paint work etc. This has been mentioned before but this sort of thing does not affect our enjoyment. The location of this hotel is ideal as it's just far enough into the surrounding country to be peaceful but still close to Gatwick airport. The shuttle bus is available on a regular basis but it does stop around 22.00 at night so this could cause issues with late or delayed travellers.
The facilities are excellent as is the food. You can have a basic pub meal or something very special in the Terrace restaurant. The breakfast is worth the money as it's a help yourself buffet and there is the usual selections.
The rooms are good and always clean. The beds are very comfortable. If you need the TV whilst you are staying, there are plenty of channels. My only moan is the WiFi situation here. For some reason, you can only access the internet either on the TV in your room or in the public areas. This isn't ideal as we had my laptop and we had to keep coming out of the room to use it!!!! Not good. Please Copthorne, make WiFi accessible in each room.....Travel Lodge/Premier Inn all provide WiFi in each room.

We love this hotel for the location, food, cleanliness, facilities, car parking and airport shuttle bus and value for money. But the customer service here has to have a special mention. Nothing is ever too much trouble for any of the staff. If there is a problem, they try to deal with it and staff are as genuine as they come.
Thanks for helping us salvage a little bit of enjoyment from our disaster of a holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you very much for writing a review following your stay in April. We apologise for not responding earlier. Your comments and review were passed to the General Manager and his team at the time of your stay. It was very kind of you to go to such lengths to compliment us on the welcome we gave you as well as the staff, food and facilities. We do hope you will be booking another holiday soon and that we can welcome you back again. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Stayed 1 night at the Copthorne for a visit to Lingfield Park Races. Have stayed several times before as its the best value hotel you can get in the area. We paid £50 and I think we got a bargain. I dont think the hotel is shabby - just a bit dated but would rather continue paying the reasonable rate rather than the increased prices the hotel would charge after a refurbishment.
Haven't had food in the restaurant so cant comment on that but bar food was fine and not too badly priced.
Didn't sleep too well as lots of people coming and going during the night who insisted on banging doors behind them - walls not too thick so noise certainly travels !
Pool looked lovely - didnt use it this time but my family have used it before and enjoyed it.
Room warm and comfortable and will definitely be going back if the rates stay the same.
One word of warning - we got hotel to book us a taxi to the racecourse, the driver tried to charge us £17.50 which is a good £10 more than it should be - we previously paid £8 maximum and in fact were only charged £7.50 on the return so it may be better to ring a taxi yourself and check the price in advance rather than being ripped off !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel following your stay in Febraury. We were so glad you enjoyed your stay when visiting Lingfield Races. Comments such as yours are very motivating for our staff to read and of course we are glad you believe we offer good value for money. I hope you will come back to us next time you go to the races,
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

When arriving at the Hotel, it looked picturesque, but this was mainly due to the white blanket of snow covering everything. On entering the reception it was very spacious, but a little shabby, the hotel seemed a bit busy, and we were to find out later that was because Gatwick airport had closed due to the weather and passengers were shipped out to hotels in the area.

We had booked a suite as it was a treat for my boyfriends birthday and due to work commitments we couldn’t travel too far, the room was lovely and spacious with a beautiful 4 poster bed, however, like the rest of the hotel, the finishes looked a little tired and in need of some investment. We couldn’t get the spa bath to work properly!

We had booked a table in the restaurant and they had been informed we were celebrating a birthday, the service from the staff was fantastic, the best I have every experienced, the restaurant manager Richard could not be more helpful and friendly, we both had steaks and they were wonderful, cooked perfectly, we then went down stairs to the sports bar and again the service received from the staff was excellent.

We went early for breakfast and greeted with a welcoming smile from the Manager Richard, had a lovely breakfast, then returned to or room, when we checked out the staff were excellent and were genuinely interested to find out if we had an enjoyable stay. Which we both did, Thank You!

With a bit of investment this could be a really first class Hotel, but the staff made up for this.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Our apologies for the delay in responding to your review on our hotel. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay celebrating your boyfriend's birthday and that you enjoyed the hotel and the service you received. I do hope you will return to us soon, may be for your boyfriend's birthday next year. Thank you once again.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We live locally and were flying out of Gatwick. Sad to say the flight was cancelled and the airline offered to put us up in a hotel for the night. Having gone to the Effingham in the past and enjoyed it (albeit over 10 years ago), I quickly agreed to the offer of the Effingham and encouraged others on the flight to do the same. Boy did I feel embarassed. The hallways were beyond tired, the carpets stained, the doors in need of varnish and repair (it looked as though a family boisterous dogs had been scratching them for several years). The rooms nothing more than functional. The decor looked at least 20 years old. The meal we were provided with was not up to factory canteen standards, the chicken not cooked properly. As I watched the blood come out of my chicken leg, I decided that even I couldnt risk going down with holiday tummy before I had even left the country. I picked only sporadically on the pasta, that had all the characteristics of an elastic band. Even had the chef been up to the task of cooking a piece of chicken properly, the meat was of a poor standard. I saw the soup starter and to say it was anaemic would not be stretching a point, I declined the offer. The pudding was unidentifiable. The only plus point was a surprisingly comfortable bed. The sad thing was that if you looked at the underlying building and past the Crossroads motel decor, it is a lovely place and could become so again (if you knock down the ridiculously unsympathetic extension).

I left wondering how such a grand old lady could have fallen so low. The owners should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Factor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, following your stay when your flight was delayed. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal and that the accommodation provided did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment. Your comments have been shared with our Head Chef and members of the management team who have followed up all the points you brought to our attention.
We hope you enjoyed your holiday following your delayed departure.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,314 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.3 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £54 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing