We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The restuarant is Wonderful to say the very least!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“The restuarant is Wonderful to say the very least!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed one night (our third time in this chain of hotels) before flying to Kefalonia and ate that night in the restuarant. The staff there were brilliant, food excellent and all together a fantastic start to our hoilday. The front of house man (didn't get his name) was proffesional and had a wonderful sense of humour. A fantastic dining experience. The room we stayed in could do with a make over but it was very clean and comfortable, although noisey with doors banging and people (other guests) outside talking. Take out the bath and put in a shower is our advice! Saves water and is quicker and easier. Well done the Copthorne!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairekbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thank you for your review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel, in particular our restaurant. It is also nice to know you were well looked after by our staff. Thank you once again, and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    371
    351
    255
    217
See reviews for
204
660
55
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire-uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed one night as we were flying from Gatwick. We booked a twin room which was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and nice bathroom. We found the reception Staff extremely helpful and polite also the bar staff. We didn't eat in the restaurant but people we spoke to said it was very good. The transfer to the airport was very smooth and efficient. And yes we would book this lovely Hotel again. I can imagine how nice it would be during the summer,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue-ludlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel recently for an over night stay before flying from Gatwick the next morning. The exterior of the hotel was not great, and looks quite dated but the inside is more modern. My room was extremely clean, bright and modern which I must admit I wasnt expecting. The bed I had was huge, it seemed like two doubles pushed together, and the room service I had was good quality and tasty! I also parked my car there for the duration of my holiday and found no problems there either. Overall I would say that I found this hotel to be great value for money. - I would think twice about staying for a weekend or longer, but the night before my holiday was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel following your stay prior to your holiday. We were very glad to read that you enjoyed your room and also your room service meal. We hope you have had a wonderful holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel prior to your next holiday.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The hotel looks impressive on arrival and the reception was bright and airy, unfortunately, that is pretty much where the pro's end. The room was old and pretty worn out with lots of evidence of years of use with a great deal of poor maintenance. The carpet was threadbare in places, the windows did not close properly and were drafty (on a cold night, that could be a problem). The curtains refused to draw quietly, ALL doors close with a loud bang, the bathroom was looking old and tired with a running bath tap and loose toilet flush handle (difficult to use). The TV was out of the arc but there was a TV! No free Internet (£10 per night). After all that, it wasn't an unpleasant stay, you just felt that they could do so much more for there clients!

I would rate the hotel as 3 star at best but I couldn't fault it other than the tired room decor and room facilities. I would recommend the hotel but with the proviso of being aware of the downsides... it wasn't the worst I have stayed in but there are so many better ones for a similar price. The facilities are excellent when you are not in your room!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanKEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel following your recent stay. Your comments and feedback are much appreciated and have been passed to the General Manager. We are aware that some of our rooms are in need of attention and wish to advise that various projects are planned for the future. We would like to thank you for your honest comments and to confirm these have been taken on board. We are also glad you enjoyed the facilities and sports and leisure activities which are available. Hoping to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night and left our car there while we were on holiday. We found the staff to be very professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms were of a good standard and clean and comfortable. I used the pool and sauna which was a little small and dated but was ok. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choice. It did get a little crowded by the time we had finished so it's best to get there early. We finished our morning relaxing in the foyer reading the papers. It was a lovely relaxing start to the holiday. We would definately book this again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review on our hotel following your recent stay prior to your holiday. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and food/services provided. All guest comments are shared with our management and staff. We do hope you will return to us when you are next travelling from Gatwick.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We enjoyed a night at this hotel. We had a lovely stay in a 'Club Room' with a balcony that had a fantastic view. The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent!
A really lovely night away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LallySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you very much for your nice words following your recent stay with us, your comments are much appreciated and we do hope you will return to stay with us again soon. Thank you once again,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is good if you need the basics a travelodge offers, but not the quality I would expect from a Copthorne. Its quiet but not particullary in good repair. food offered was not what I expected. Bus to airport was relaced with one that did not take luggage meaning that I had to sit with three cases on two chairs.
Not recommended unless you want to use or car parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were very sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. May we assure you that all comments made by our guests are reviewed by our Management Team and our General Manager. Our apologies for your cramped ride on the bus, I believe our normal bus, which offers plenty of space for luggage, was out of service. Thank you once again for your comments, we do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing