We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for Gatwick airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Gatwick airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed here for one night before flying from Gatwick and thought it was excellent value for money with the two weeks parking. Rooms are a bit dated but they are comfy warm and have everything that you need. Room and bathroom were large.

Cars are left were you leave them and are not moved as with some other hotels. They do like you to leave the keys with them in case of emergency but you don't have to hand them in until the morning so you can put anything from your over night stay in car instead of having to take it with you.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pool was nice but the juccuzi and sauna were a bit disappointing as they were in the changing rooms so they were single sex so as a couple we were unable to share. The only other down side was that food and drinks were quite expensive but you usually expect this for a airport hotel. There was a pub not far away but we didn't go there as we couldn't be bothered to go out again.

Would def use this hotel again. On arriving back we did get a taxi back to the hotel as it is only £16.00 so if you are 4 it is just as cheap as getting the courtesy bus.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read that you felt we offer a convenient location for Gatwick airport and that you had a comfortable, enjoyable stay, also that you were well looked after by our staff.
Thank you for making the point regarding the taxi service, with 4 people it makes it very economical to take a taxi, and a quick option rather than waiting for the shuttle bus. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review in order that other guests may benefit from your first hand feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    364
    347
    254
    215
See reviews for
202
650
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stayed for one night as a solo business traveller, won't be going back. Location is wonderful, tranquil with golf course and fitness centre, however a little money should be spent on sprucing the place up. Room was a great size but very drab décor, as was the rest of the hotel.
As a business user, mobile connections with the outside world were non existent so work could not be done.
There is a lot of alternatives nearby and I will be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetboy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay and thank you for your comments regarding our quiet surroundings, golf course etc. We are only very sorry that overall we did not meet your expectations, particularly from a communications point of view. We are currently talking to our various providers as we are aware how important communication is to all our guests, business users in particular. We are also in contact with the various mobile phone companies as we are constantly aware the mobile signal is not up to strength. Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, while we are aware all guests have a choice, we do hope you might consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed overnight at the Copthorne Effingham for one night before our holiday and our rate also included our parking for the week we were away. We found our travel industry rate to be very competitive, but even the regular internet rate was only £73 to include a night's accommodation and a week's parking.

We were truly delighted with the service. We arrived late at night with our little boy in tow, the hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and had our booking all ready. We were able to drop everything...(car seat, pram, 4 lots of bags) right outside the door and then we parked our car less than a minute's walk from the front door and there it stayed until our return (I understand occasionally they move cars around if it's busy though). The porter then helped take everything to our room. I offered him a tip for his kindness, but he seemed genuinely reluctant to accept it!

Yes, the rooms a a little dated and the hotel has the feel of a 1970's US motel. However, we had an enormous room, with a cot all set up for our little boy, fresh clean sheets and towels. The room was quiet with no aircraft noise.

Next time we will definitely try and arrive earlier in order to take advantage of the great looking pool and leisure facilities.

The bus runs hourly to the airport and takes up to half an hour, costing £4 per person each way. It picks up right at the hotel front door and drops a short walk from the terminal. The terminal is pretty chaotic with building works, so the stop does seem further away from the terminal. There are trolleys available near the bus stop, but I believe there is a charge, not sure if it's refundable.

All in all a great hassle free service, one which we will definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel following your recent stay with your family. We were very pleased to read that you felt we offered value for money, our staff were friendly and that we are convenient to the airport. We hope you had a lovely holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Do agree the hotel is a little 'tired' in places,but this did not effect my overnight stay, which did include onsite car parking. Remember, this hotel offers good value for money for an overnight stay, its not 5* and I certainly did not pay 5* prices. I would personally rate the hotel as a good 3*.

Did I get value for money - yes. Would I stay here again - yes.
Bathroom - clean with ample towels
Bedroom - large room, very warm, comfy bed, clean sheets & pillows
Restaurant - we paid for buffet breakfast in advance at a cost of £7.70pp. Value for money - yes especially compared to the airport breakfast cost

Remember, pre-book the breakfast with the hotel directly, and have change where possible for the bus service to/from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliealliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review on our hotel. We were very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and found we offered good value for money and convenient for parking and the airport. All your comments have been noted, regarding our rooms and general standard, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and agree that eating at the airport can turn out expensive. Hoping to see you again soon, and thank you once again for taking the time to post a review. PS Hope you enjoyed your holiday !
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here for one night prior to catching a flight from Gatwick. Hotel is billed as a four star and it might have been worthy of this rating in the past but not currently. Reception area is nice enough but the rooms are showing severe signs of wear and are badly in need of a major refurbishment. A very limited choice of TV channels was available and for a hotel which sells itself as a convenient stop over for travellers passing through Gatwick its shuttle bus service stops very early in the evening (8pm I believe). At the other end of the day breakfast doesn't start until 7am which is late given the shuttle bus service starts at 5am. The hotel was adequate in that it is close to Gatwick and it provided a bed for the night with clean sheets but it was shabby and did not live up to a four star rating. Good value if you need to combine holiday parking with a hotel stopover.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review on the hotel. We have noted all your comments and are aware that some of our rooms are in need of updating, our Company does have several projects in hand for the future. Breakfast starts at 7.00 a.m. at a weekend, we apologise if this was late for your early start. Although we do not operate a 24 hour shuttle bus service to the airport, most guests find our timings fit their schedule i.e first bus from the hotel is at 5.00 a.m. and last bus from the airport is at 8.30 p.m. We were glad to read that overall you found we offered value for money and convenient for parking and within easy reach of the airport. We do hope you will consider returning in the future.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

All the reviews about the hotel decor are correct. It is dated and in need of refurbishment. The room is big but then we paid extra for it and a bottle of champagne. I thought we had free movies but every time I tried it was £8.95 per movie!!.
We stayed over for one night before a gatwick flight and decided to eat in the hotel. the portions are small small small and our bill was £65.00. The quality is average but they should really address the size of the portions for the price. Should have gone out and ate!. Service is good though.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clintthrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you had problems with our movie channel and we will certainly look into this. We have also noted your comments about the food portion size and have asked our Head Chef to comment. We do hope you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location convenient to the airport also that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked the hotel before an early morning flight but for us it was a disaster. Firstly the food took over an hour and a half to come and we struggled to keep our tired children motivated until it came so they were all into bed late. Then our room was opposite a party room with an extremely noisy disco and drunk, loud people periodically shouting outside. The only help the staff were able to offer were EARPLUGS!!! which they promised to deliver 30 mins later. Instead they phoned to ask whether we still wanted the earplugs thereby disturbing the children that had already fallen asleep so we said ''no'' as we knew that the next thing would be them knocking on the door. I and the two youngest managed to sleep through the noise, my 10 year old son eventually dropped off, but my poor husband with back pain took all his bedding off the bed and tried to sleep near the door on the floor, i.e. the furthest part of the room from the noise and he had a terrible sleepless night. We paid a lot for 4* accommodation and cannot believe what a disasterous night we had. It is a disgrace to put a family opposite a noisy disco in the first place and not offer to move them. This is a hotel that will take your money but does not care.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you had such a disturbed night. We always try to put any families or guests not attending a Christmas function in a separate area of the hotel so they are not disturbed. As we have your surname we will be investigating your booking and will be contacting you regarding your poor experience. We will also investigate why your food took so long.
Once again, our sincere apologies.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing