We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing restaurant”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Worth near Gatwick as part of a group of friends who were celebrating a 60th birthday. When four of us dined at the Restaurant we were extremely disappointed at the service. We we not offered any bread rolls when we sat down. Neither were we offered the wine menu, which we had to request. Other diners were served before us even though they clearly arrived after us. The wait times between courses was far from acceptable. On a positive note, I can recommend the cheese board.

Breakfast the next day (Sunday) was mediocre at best. Finally on the catering - as I have an allergy to the small pots of so called milk found in hotel rooms, I asked if I could have some fresh milk. I was horrified when I was charged £1 sterling for such a small portion when other hotels have provided this as a complimentary gesture. The mark up on such a mall about of milk was astronomic!

On a positive note, The bedroom and en-suite facilities were very comfortable and I enjoyed a good nights sleep. However we were NOT expecting sleep as the fire alarm system burst into action no less than EIGHT times during the approximately two hours we spent in the restaurant. Although I was told this was a one off problem one of my fellow diners believed he had seen similar comments on Tripadvisor. Fortunately I guess the problem was resolved as we did not have our ear drums burst a ninth time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear dwjfellowes,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was good to read you found our comfortable rooms and hotel facilities commendable. However, please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the service at the restaurant and food selection that was served during your stay. The appropriate management has been notified and these concerns will be addressed and corrected.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We do hope that you will allow us to have the chance of serving you when travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    416
    162
    55
    32
See reviews for
291
491
28
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed as this was part of my training accommodation. the rooms are okay - basic and clean. the big problem with the hotel is food - its horrible and slow. And you do not have many options as it is at least a 15min drive from the nearest store/habitat. The staff are also curt. all in all stay if you have to not out of choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hotelarjun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear hotelarjun13,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive comments with regards to our room accommodations. However, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. I apologize for any inconvenience the food selection and staff service may have caused you. We appreciate your comments and rest assured that they will be shared with our team for future improvements

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed over the night before our flight from Gatwick. The taxi is fixed at £11.50 from the hotel and it's only 6 miles to the airport. It was cheaper for us to stay over and park here than the long stay option at Gatwick parking only! Recently refurbished rooms and very plush, big comfy bed and a nice bathroom. My car was waiting for me right outside the hotel on our return and was kept on site unlike some parking companies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jms000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Schoeman_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear jms000000,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth Hotel. I am delighted that you were impressed by our recently refurbished facilities and that you decided to rate us as a ‘five out of five.’ As you quite rightly point out, our ‘Park and Fly Packages’ offer excellent value for money and provide a great alternative to parking at the Airport itself. We trust you had a good holiday and very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Schoeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked parking with a room to use on our return in the early hours of the morning. Recognising the potential for confusion, we ensured with reception before departing they understood we would be booking in around 03:00 on our return, and vacating at mid-day. On our return, we were greeted with a blank look and told we could not book in until after 15:00 that day. There were no available rooms, and no hint of any apology or understanding that, after a night flight, we now faced with a long drive home without the rest I had paid for. We have since been stonewalled, and clearly the so-called management could not give a damn.

We would now not stay there at any price.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank ammumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear ammumford ,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to give feedback. I have sent you a private message in order to obtain more details about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at this hotel, we use the park, stay and fly.
It is convenient for the airport,
The rooms are perfectly adequate and this time we were upgraded to a business suite which was a pleasant surprise.
The food is nice, the staff are friendly and overall we are very happy with our choice here.
We will be returning on our next holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieandmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Schoeman_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear frankieandmindy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to gain insight from a returning guest. I am pleased that we were in a position to upgrade your room during your recent visit and that you continue to benefit from our Park, Stay and Fly Package. We very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Schoeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's all right. The room was quite nice, but when we stayed it seemed to be packed with couples with rather poorly behaved children. Not the hotel's fault, but it still impacts on your stay! I was not impressed with the parking arrangements for the drive-park-fly facility which was why we came here in the first place. You have to leave your car key with the hotel and they move your car around... Not my idea of parking at all, especially with a pretty new, high-performance car! Had I known this was the arrangement on booking, I would not have come here. Still I live in hope that I won't come back to an extra 100 miles on the clock!

This was a 'mystery hotel' on a park and drive website; yes it was cheap at £85.00 and the roomw was well equipped, but I didn't feel like it was a great experience. We have stayed at much better hotels for not very much more. One final thing. The wifi is free - for 30 minutes and then you pay. I really resent paying for wifi at an alleged luxury hotel, especially at the rate of £10 for 24 hours!!! What a rip-off!

I will not return - on the basis of the drive-park-fly arrangements and the rip-off for the wifi.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear jono1949,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay. I am pleased that our rooms were sufficient enough for your needs. However, it is regretful that you were not satisfied with the park and fly arrangement and if the Wifi charges were not to your liking. These points you have raised are noted and will be discussed accordingly with management to ensure for improvements needed.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We spent the night at this hotel as we had an early morning flight to gatwick. We had also paid to keep the car there for the week we were gone.
Upon return we found the car had been moved (no mention of this was made) and the car had been left in gear, which meant we ended up bumping the kerb quite violently ... The handbrake had also been pulled up with such force it can now be used as a arm rest!
At the time we just wanted to get home after a very long 12 hour day and a 3 hour drive home.
The room itself was clean and very nice... The staff were ... Ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dash1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Dash1988,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received with your car prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth

Property: Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Address: Crabbet Park Equitation Centre Turners Hill Road, Crawley RH10 4ST, England (Formerly Gatwick Worth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#7 Business Hotel in Crawley
#9 Family Hotel in Crawley
#13 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth Hotel is ideally located 10 minutes from Gatwick Airport and is easily accessible from both the M23 and the M25. As a 4* AA accredited hotel with 118 modern and stylishly decorated hotel guest rooms you can relax in style. Surf the web in our hotel with high-speed wireless Internet.The hotel offers many Park and Fly Packages with 4, 8 or 15 days parking options. There is a wide range of hotel rooms to suit every taste, including a selection of stylish double and twin rooms, family rooms to sleep up to 4 persons,19 executive rooms all with mini bars and luxury toiletries, and 4 luxurious junior suites, with separate lounge area- this hotel is ideal for putting your feet up and relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gatwick Worth
Gatwick Worth Crawley
Gatwick Worth Hotel
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing