We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dissapointed”
Review of Gatwick Manor

Gatwick Manor
Ranked #54 of 262 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Whatever the reason for a visit, The Gatwick Manor is the perfect historic setting for enjoying delicious traditional pub food, including seasonal specials and leisurely Sunday lunches. We also share our grounds with a Premier Inn, if you are wanting to stay with them you will have to book through their website due to the differing companies. We also cater for weddings and party functions, however this is set aside from the Chef and Brewer business. If you are interested or need more information please dial the normal number and press option 1.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After reading such great reviews i took 3 visitors from germany on thurs 5th july. despite booking by phone several days before nobody seemed to know about it and we were made to hang around the bar for a long time even though the restuarant was only half full. the food was very average. my friends all had sirloin steaks 2 of wich were cooked incorrectly and the portions of chips etc were very small. i had the mixed fish , the salmon was overcooked, the seabass lacked flavour and the cod was like a piece of tasteless wet sponge. I am sure it was frozen and defrosted badly and the flesh had become soggy. despite pointing it out to the waitress and leaving half the fish, nothing was done and no alternative was offered. we ordered a bottle of white wine which we had to remind the waitress to bring after about 10 mins she brought a bottle which was not chilled properly and plonked it on the table with no chiller and no offer to open and pour to taste. it was a very cheap and poor quality wine for the price we paid. tasted like a 3.99 supermarket special. when we left the staff didnt seem the slightest interested wether we had enjoyed our meal or not. all in all a very poor experience and not one that i will be returning to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    176
    105
    52
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Popular local restaurant, but disppointing”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I attended a company event at Gatwick Manor. The hog roast dinner was excellent, although we were not impressed with the waiter who came around at frequent intervals while the guests were milling around and rather rudely told people to remove their glasses from the tables as they had linen tablecloths which would get stained! Where has customer service gone? Facilities for the evening entertainment were good and the staff unobstrusive, although the bar was considerably understaffed which left people having to wait for quite a long time for their drinks.
We stayed the night at the Premier Inn on the same grounds but hada self service breakfast in the restaurant. There was a notice by the croissants to say that if one wanted them warmed, to ask a waiter. He was most obliging in taking them away to be warmed. When the arrived a few minutes later they were anything but warmed through. The surface was at a slightly higher temperature than ambient and the insides sitll cold. The croissants themselves were of a poor quality - for the sort of restaurant Gatwick Manor is attempting to be, the quality was not adequate - more like Tesco's value range than Waitrose butter croissants. Completely unsatisfactory for the grade of restaurant or the price of the meal. My wife had the full English breakfast and was entirely satisfied.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WitchesBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have eaten at this pub a few times and have also popped in just for a drink. It is convenient being near the airport and the staff are very friendly. The prices are very reasonable and the outside seating area is great in the summer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaz281188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dont go for breakfast but dinner is excellent”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the premier inn next door for a wedding recently.
We gathered here for a family meal On the Friday night and all 12 of us were impressed with the service, food and value. The young lady serving us wasn't phased by any of the extra requests or questions she was polite, really sweet to the 2 young children we had with us and the food was of extremely high standard.

The same cannot be said for the breakfast that is offered, expensive and limited with moody miserable staff who cannot speak but point and grunt, i guess mornings are not their forte!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

1st visit service so slow but food great 2nd and 3rd time great both times went back because the food was and always as been 1st class for a pub

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatwick Manor also viewed

 

Been to Gatwick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing