We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the upturn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Since I last visited, there has been a notable improvement in both the hotel and staffing. Reception was adequately manned and check-in easy.

The hotel has added a multistorey car-park to its facilities and set up a separate parking concierge. This is a welcome improvement for those many guests who want to overnight and take longer term parking. It also fits in quite nicely with the British Airways arrivals lounge which is situated in the Hotel.

Bath-rooms seem to have been refurbished.

Mangement is also being pro-active; whilst we were there we suffred from the same power-cut as the North Terminal and within two days I received an email setting out the circumstances with an apology.

I'm now happy to recommend this once again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the runway is a nice way to while away an hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Ian_9,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,549 - 6,555 of 8,010 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The perfect answer to getting away early without losing (too much) sleep. You do have to throw money at it but definitely worth it as far as we were concerned. Combined with Easyjet's new 'night before' luggage check in service from 8pm for early morning flights, this was the way to have two hours more kip before flying. Very high standard of accommodation with decent size room, comfortable bed etc. plus the food in the Brasserie is of an extremely high standard, not just 'for an airport' but from any restaurant you might choose to dine at. All this, plus being able to walk into the terminal in the morning.
We will definitely be staying at the Sofitel again.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was great. No need for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Highgateglobetrotter,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here twice within a week on both legs of a return journey to Norway and was very impressed. The room was comfortable and, surprisingly, given how close it is to the airport, quiet. It was ideal to be able to walk to the hotel direct from the North Terminal and if you need the South terminal, the shuttle rail link is a two minute walk away. Best of all, the food was very good both in the restaurant and on Room Service. Breakfast was at a very reasonable discounted rate if you paid in advance at check in. This will undoubtedly be my first choice of hotel when I have to stay at Gatwick.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Mary081,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here before a long haul flight.Got the train into airport from the west country and stayed the night before our flight.Adding the cost and convenience made sense. The bed was extremley comfortable.Everything in place and what you would expect from Sofitel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Webbelly,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is another Oasis Hotel in a plethora of not so good ones !
The standard is way above the competition, from the delightful staff at all levels who make you feel very welcome to the sheer elegance of the Bedroom this hotel excels.

The bedrooms are all encompassing with an extremely comfortable bed, cleanliness was ultra apparent, a wonderful escape from the madness of Gatwick.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but If you like to watch the planes come and go, then ask for an air side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Paulegsy,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenofthenorth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had an early morning flight from North Terminal and didn’t want the hassle of shuttle bus transfers from hotels further afield. The Sofitel is practically in North Terminal and so is ideal for an overnight stay. We used some spare airmiles miles for the booking but there were plenty of good deals available online.

When we arrived there was quite a lengthy queue for check-in but they had 4 staff on duty and the queue moved reasonably quickly. Check-in itself took very little time and we were soon in the lift to our 5th floor room. When we arrived we discovered we had been allocated a twin instead of the double we had booked. A quick return visit to the very apologetic reception staff rectified the problem and as there were no doubles available on that floor we were reallocated to a better room on the 7th.

The room was very comfortable and overlooked the runway but was very well insulated from any airplane noises. All expected amenities were present, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and good quality soaps etc were provided. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Our booking included a full English breakfast, which was served in La Brasserie restaurant. There was a very wide choice of juices, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, breads etc, plus an excellent hot buffet for the full English. The smiling waiters were very quick to provide tea, coffee etc and to bring refills when pots were emptied.

After breakfast it was a 3 minute walk to the terminal for our flight.

Our stay made for a very relaxing start to our holiday and we would use the Sofitel again without any hesitation

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Officer_Dibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Officer_Dibble,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £97 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing