We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after long alight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great after long alight”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great place to stay after a long flight, quick check in, comfy beds which is just what you need after 22 hours on a plane. Slept like a baby all night. So easy to walk down the tunnel to car hire in the morning

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maud_cyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Maud_cyril,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,955
    2,590
    708
    225
    130
See reviews for
1,265
4,315
526
871
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selsey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We had a one night stay on the 26th September before an early morning flight.

Check in was very quick and simple but we did find the staff that we spoke with seemed a little off towards us.

We had upgraded our room to ensure a runway view and high floor. And what a view we had.... We were right on top of it all! Although we were so close to the runway there were no issues with the noise during the night.

The room was well equipped with a large comfortable bed, air con and mini bar. The En Suite was also very good and had a full size bath which was lovely to relax in.

My one complaint would be the noise of people leaving the lounge late at night but we were only a couple of rooms down from there so if I were to stay again I would ask to be further down the corridor.

We did not use any of the facilities in the hotel but the areas we did see all appeared very clean.

On the whole a very enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoselsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Leoselsey,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We met up for an evening meal with our parents who were just about to leave for a week end away... the restaurant was essentially an upmarket canteen, the food on a par with my school meals and we were charged £9.00 for the privilage of parking there ...and that was after we complained and got a discount. The problem is once you are there you are stuck!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank easysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We apologise that the food served in our restaurants was not up to our high standards. We trust that you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are not representative of our usual service. Your comments have been passed onto our Food and Beverage Manager for further investigation.

With regards to car parking, our parking is chargeable for all guests and visitors.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed in October on a park and stay package booked with APH car parks. Check in very quick and efficient and painless. The rooms are comfortable with good soundproofing, excellent beds, clean and efficient bathrooms, so you can have a relaxing comfortable night and then walk into the airport in time for your flight. One downside are the prices in the restaurant and bar but otherwise this hotel can only be recommended and although we live within 40 minutes drive of Gatwick we always go down the night before to avoid any major problems on the M25 and this hotel is our favourite and only choice for North Terminal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Peggy010,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

So convenient for north terminal and parking is close by, (not 20 min bus ride away). Its it efficient and impressive with huge atrium .We paid for one night pre (early morning flight) and 10 days parking. Can be a bit noisy room wise depending whereabouts you are on the corridor as people are coming and going all night - luck of the draw on room allocation. Be prepared for pricey drinks at the bar. We always eat at the Oriental restaurant - set menu, pretty good but again not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Kentcritique,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

If you are flying out early from Gatwick North Terminal I can fully recommend the Sofitel overnight stay and car park. The whole experience was excellent. We arrived the night before and parked the car, walked through to the terminal to check in, back to the hotel for a very comfortable night's sleep. Up at 4:30 got ready dropped off the overnight bag back in the car and and just walked back through to the terminal, straight through security and off on hols.
When we arrived back, we walked through the the hotel, picked up the keys, brought the car round to the front, loaded the bags and away, it couldn't be easier and so stress free. No waiting for anyone to turn up, buses, or anything.
The guys on the carpark reception were excellent and patient whilst we sorted things out. I kept my keys overnight so I could put the overnight bag back in the car before leaving the keys and going on holiday. Brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Grish123,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great hotel, great location, great service at checkin. Fast and efficient.
Definitely the place for overnight for early morning flight from gatwick. 2 mins to north terminal departures.
Room was comfortable and quiet. Well provided with tea and coffee

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Sandy B,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing