We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for a night before an early morning flight in May. Booked a room with a cot and used there holiday parking aswell. Certainly not cheap but you pay for the location. Right opposite the terminal, accessed through a covered walkway. We chose this hotel as we have an 18 month old who we wanted to get to the airport with as little fuss as possible. This place ticked all the boxes. Checking in was smooth and leaving your car was easy. The desk is manned 24 hours a day so car keys can be dropped whenever suits. The room was spacious, clean and looked over the central reception and communal area. The only down side is the restaurants in the hotel were on the expensive side (which we expected with the location) and aren't great for those with young children. We opted to go next door to the Premier Inn to use the restaurant there. For it's location it could not be matched until the Premier Inn arrived. Gatwick is not my first choice airport but if I was to fly from there again and require a hotel with parking it would be a toss up now between here and the premier inn next door purely to try and save a few pounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a smooth stress free stay and found the convenience of the hotels location and parking packages convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you do have any special requests for your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and we will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,841
    2,526
    685
    216
    128
See reviews for
1,228
4,191
512
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay to get refreshing sleep before long or short flight. It is right on the door step of the airport. The room is clean, spacious, and a fab bath to soak in before they flight. There is a bar in the room with glasses and water, but if you are taking your own beers or bottles of drinks you may wish to take a bottle opener as there is not one in the room.
We go to the airport to get some snacks and beer, there is a Marks and Spencers food place there, and we get what we need to take back to the room.

The restaurants are good, but if you get a deal where it is bed breakfast and dinner, then the dinner is the same place you eat your breakfast, the Brasserie, I think it works out at around £17 per person and set menu, but if you wish to choose from another menu they deduct the £17 per person off the bill.
The food is great, and well presented, the bar area is very spacious and you could sit on comfy chairs have a nice drink.

The receptionists are friendly and very helpful, one time we stayed we forgot to print out our e-tickets, they gave us a free ticket to use the internet and printer, which was great, otherwise we would have had to see what we could do at the airport and may incur delays or unco-operative staff if we had not printed it out.

In our room, we got complimentary tin of Turkish Delights , it is the most delicious taste you could ever imagine. We always stay here before our flight from Gatwick and well recommended.
hope you enjoy your stay there too.

Room Tip: We have stayed here numerous times, and have had a selection of room areas, and well we cannot fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I am delighted that you found our facilities and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel could not be better located as it’s physically part on the North terminal complex – access to arrivals/departures is a two minute walk that never leaves the building.
The atrium is impressive and houses several bars and dining rooms, including oriental and fine-dining options. Sadly the overall effect is of the food court in an up-market shopping mall. It’s also very pricey, I ate in the most casual, and presumably least expensive, ‘Urban Café’ where a (tasty but unexceptional) burger, one side dish and one drink came in at over £26. Service was prompt and efficient.
Bedrooms are large and light, very clean and comfortable. However the lack of any opening windows made the room very stuffy and hence sleeping was difficult. The AC doesn’t help, providing cool, but equally ‘stale’, air. The unit was a little noisy but not overly intrusive. Personally, I’d also prefer a view of the outside world rather than the atrium, though I assume you can request an external facing room.
Otherwise, everything was well equipped, bathroom was perfectly adequate, modern and spotless.
Wifi was available, at a charge, but I didn’t try it.

Room Tip: Outside view and opening windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you found the hotels location convenient for access to Gatwick Airports, North Terminal, however I was disappointed to hear that you found the prices we charge in our bars and restaurants a little expensive.

We do also offer complimentary low bandwidth WiFi in all of our rooms and high speed WiFi complimentary in our Superior and Luxury rooms.

You are able to request an outside facing room with our Guest Relations team. They can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com ahead of any future bookings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Friendly, efficient staff. Ideal if you have an early morning flight from the North Terminal. Rooms are fine for what we needed, You can usually get a good rate with parking at the Lond Stay North Terminal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_London77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Your feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Gatwick North Terminal for one night prior to flying and used their park and fly scheme which we booked online through Thomson although you can do this directly with the hotel. The cost of 1 nights stay and 8 nights parking was around £150.00 which when you consider the cost of bus transferes to and from the airport and the convenience of having your car right there on your return is a very reasonable price to pay

The hotel is easy to find just follow the signs for the North Terminal then those for the hotel; it is situated right on top of the terminal next to a Premier Inn with which it shares the parking. Within seconds of pulling up outside the hotel a porter came out and took our luggage through while we parked the car as directed, by the time we had done this and walked back to the hotel entrance – a maximum of 5 mins – he had completed the paperwork and had taken our cases up to the main reception.

Check in was smooth and polite and an offer to take our luggage up to the room was made. Our room was lovely spotlessly clean with a huge picture window overlooking the runway. Bath and shower was great and the tea a coffee courtesy tray was full ad with a good range. The bed was massive and very comfortable and there were extra pillows available should you have wanted them.

We ate early evening in the Urban Café and the service was prompt, efficient polite and discreet. The food was hot and delicious and the wine that was recommended was tasty and complimented the food we had ordered. The food and wine was a bit pricey but better than I expected for a hotel of this calibre.

Check was very simple and straightforward, as we had already paid online and had not charged anything to the room we were able to just put the room key in the drop box and leave, if we had room charges or needed to settle up any payment then it is possible to complete an express checkout form with your credit card details and again put this along with the key into the drop box. If you did need to speak to reception then they are available 24hrs.

Once you’ve checked out then there is a covered walkway leading from the hotel straight into the North Terminal or if you are flying from the South then you can get the free mono rail between the two.

As we had a very early flight I am unable to comment on breakfast but all in all we had a very nice night in a great hotel…a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadydriverEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight. I will of course pass your kind comments onto our staff as I’m sure this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

Our Guest Relations team can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com if you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Room lovely but Urban Cafe terrible. We had two course meal as part of an overnight park and fly package. Service was awful. Waited ages to be seated, we were simply ignored. Waiter asked if we were ready to order, we said yes and asked what the soup of the day was. After telling us it was asparagus and potato, the waiter went away without taking our order! Wine is horrendously overpriced, the lemonade and lager we asked for came quite quickky but in the same glass! We had to ask for a spoon for the soup and the mains arrived before we'd even finished our starters! On a plus point, food was pretty nice... Caesar salad tasty although not sure tomatoes are a usual ingredient!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theartfuldodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Theartfuldodgers,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at the sofitel for one night before leaving for Jamaica.. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the luxury 8th floor...To be honest the rooms are pretty much the same as the rest of the hotel but the lounge opposite the lift is great...small food offerings and a great bar , all served at your table...It has a great view of the runway too...

The only poor point was the room service offering....A pizza that was almost inedible and a burger that wasn't much better at the low low price of £32. I feel slightly guilty saying this as the staff were charming and the hotel great but they really need to work on the food... The lack of food options in the airport airside gives this hotel a clear run so they should serve up better quality food.

Room Tip: the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were able to enjoy your evening in our Club Sofitel Lounge. I will of course pass your comments onto our team members and ensure that they are praised for their hard work and commitment. I will also take your additional comments regarding the quality of food into account.

If you happen to have any questions or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing