We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Killaloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very convenient for an over night between flights.
I imagine they save a floor for people who book through booking.com etc.
as the quality of our room this time did not match the quality of the room we stayed in on our first visit when we booked over the phone. It was very average.
The room was shabby, the bed was much smaller and very uncomfortable. Cleanliness wasn't up to scratch and the shower was a trickle. Very poor and hard to rinse long hair.
We mentioned all these things at check-out & the receptionist said she would look into it...no apology.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It would be most helpful if you could provide us with more details of your reservation in order that we can investigate it further? Our Guest Relations Manager can be contacted on 01293555100 or h6204-gr@sofitel.com

Sincerely

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,680
    2,469
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,186
4,044
499
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I had long haul flights and so decided to book into the Sofitel hotel the night before departure and the night we arrived back in the UK. We booked on the Gatwick Airport hotels + 15 days parking deal (£205) for the pre-flight night, and just booked a room at the hotel (£144) for the night we returned. We got very good value for money, as if we'd have booked the parking and hotel separately, it would have cost a great deal more.

Accomodation: Checking in was very straightforward and professional. On both occasions we had a basic room (usually we upgrade to the room above basic), and it was a good size and was well decorated and appointed. The beds were very comfortable. Despite being so close to the airport (a couple of mins walk under a covered walkway), it was extremely quiet and on both occasions we had an excellent nights sleep.

Food: On the outbound stay we booked a meal in the main restaurant and it was absolutely delicious. We were very impressed! On the inbound stay, as we were a bit jet lagged, we had a early evening meal at the brasserie, which has pizzas and pastas and that was equally good. The following morning we had a full English breakfast, which is buffet style and served in the main restaurant. Again we were equally impressed.

Overall: Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel for travellers, particularly if you're going on/returning from a long-haul flight, and I would also recommend using the hotel + parking deal. We will definitely stay at the Sofitel Gatwick when we next fly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Your feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with our accommodation and dining faculties.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We (husband, daughter & I) stayed at the Sofitel for one night prior to our holiday. We used the park & fly option.

The park & fly was very easy and stress free.

The hotel was really lovely, very glamorous looking, nice spacious rooms, great customer service and ideal location literally in the airport.

Food was quite expensive. We had room service dinner & it was delicious. There is an M&S is the hotel so we grabbed breakfast bits from there to eat in our room in the morning.

Would highly recommend the Sofitel & park & fly for a stress free start to your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahmWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and as well that you were pleased with the Park and Fly package that you booked.

If you happen to have any questions or queries regarding a future booking, then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just had an over night stay waiting for my sister to arrive back and all I can say is wow, I do agree that the rooms r rather small but we arrived to be given a double room with a z bed in for my daughter which made the room feel aLot smaller but after going to reception and saying that I wasn't happy on how squashed we was, we was offered to upgrade to a suite for a supplement which I was delighted with, if you want to feel extra special have a suite which then gives u access to the Sofitel lounge with complimentary alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks and snacks plus in the room you get 2 mini fridges packed full of beverages. Oh and the view!! Wow again we had 4 mega size windows with views of the runway, if u want the wow experience ask for room 700/702 :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libsueplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Libsueplum,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We flew out of Gatwick on an early morning flight and required a one night stay. We chose the Sofitel because it was within walking distance to the terminal we were flying out of. Staying here took all the stress out of flying so early. Nice hotel, extremely comfortable bed. We had a view of the Tarmac but could not hear any noise. A very quiet hotel. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Beth1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I am glad that you found our hospitality and accommodation to your satisfaction and that you were pleased with our location.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

You dont expect much from an airport hotel but the Sofitel at Gatwick is a bit of a treat. It is effectively inside the airport so you can go from the plane to your room in 20 minutes, which if you are tired is fantastic.
The hotel is very smart and the bedrooms quite luxurious. There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel but I didn't bother.
However I did slip down to the Marks and Spencer in the airport to buy snacks and magazines. Pretty cool to effectively have a shopping centre in the lobby. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We experienced another wonderful stay at Sofitel. It's always reassuring to know what you will expect in terms of service and comfort and Sofitel ticks all the boxes.

The team at Sofitel make each guest their priority. Smooth, speedy check in is best we have experienced and it's a good feeling to be in your room within a short time of stepping into the hotel. Location is hastle free as you can take your luggage trolley direct from the terminal to the hotel with easy walkway access.

We dined in Le Brasserie and food was delicious with emphasis on quality and presentation. Restaurant service was attentive with very pleasant engaging staff making our dining experience enjoyable.

The management keep standards high and all areas of the hotel are immaculate.

Thank you Sofitel Team for once again making us feel like VIP's !

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SauvignonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you were pleased with our services and that your dining experience in our La Brasserie restaurant was enjoyable.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick in the future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing