We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great start to a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,763
    2,502
    675
    213
    125
See reviews for
1,215
4,109
505
849
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Sofitel at Gatwick is very convenient providing ideal location to start my trip and provide parking too. Because of staying at this hotel on the night before my flight I was also able to check-in my baggage for my flight the night before. I've used this hotel many times before and will do so again. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and you found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very convenient if you are flying out of Gatwick North as just a five minute walk to the terminal lifts. Why could we not go from the hotel direct into the terminals though? Parking slightly confused as you are not sure whether to drop your bags at the front and then go park, or drag your bags from the car park. In the end I decided to drop wife with bags and then went and parked. Didn't try any of the restaurants or facilities. Expensive when compared with others - but no shuttle bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you were pleased with our convenient location. Out hotel is directly linked to Gatwick Airport's North Terminal via a covered link bridge. I am sorry if that was not communicated to you.

With regards to the car park, we recommend to drop the luggage and any passengers at the main hotel entrance before parking the car.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is exceptionally well situated being next to the Gatwick Terminals - 5 minutes walk if that. We had a good sized well appointed room with an iron, ironing board, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, safe and good luggage storage space. There was a fridge with two bottles of complimentary water (at least I hope the were!) which was a nice touch. The lighting was good with everything switched on and the air conditioning was effective. We were well received at reception and, indeed, everyone with whom we came in contact was helpful and pleasant. We ate in the bar - which was rather expensive - and had a superb beefburger and French fries. I found the hotel to be totally up to the mark and I had no criticisms of it whatsoever. It is much more than a one night stand airport hotel and if I ever have to use Gatwick Airport again I would readily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our facilities to your satisfaction. With regards to your comments about the water, two complimentary bottles of water are provided in our Superior rooms.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel, Gatwick the night before our flight. The hotel is in an excellent location, 20yds from the North Terminal. The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are spacious, bright and contain a great bed and pillows. I was, however, disappointed that I had a fridge, with chilled glasses but not even a bottle of water to share with my partner. Also, I tried to order a drink at the bar, only to be told it was table service, on receiving my bill I had a 12% service charge added, very cheeky. In all, a nice hotel, but the shine was taken off by some very minor essentials that you'd find in most other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel.

We are delighted that you were pleased with our accommodation and convenient location.

The bedrooms are equipped with a fridge, branded ‘My Fridge’, which can be stocked as you require or just used for your own purposes. The only fridges which are stocked are those on our Luxury floor and complimentary water can be provided upon request.

With regards to your comments about the service charge, all of our service charges are discretionary. If you are not satisfied with the level of service you have received or choose not to pay then, the staff can remove it from your bill.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Only slight hiccup was paying the restaurant bill. At check in the guy told us that we had been 'upgraded' and therefore qualified for a 10% discount off food and drink. When the bill came no discount applied. The helpful waiting staff checked with reception and they said no - a bit embarrassing however they honoured for us! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfourwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our hospitality and accommodation to your satisfaction. I must however apologise for the inconvenience caused in relation to the discount. Please rest assured that I have personally addressed this matter with our Reception Department

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed overnight in August 2013 because we were flying early from Gatwick the next morning. Perfect location for Gatwick North as it's connected to the airport, so no messing with shuttle buses in the morning.
The room was very nice with a really comfortable bed and good pillows. We ordered room service after arriving late in the evening and there was a good menu selection and reasonable price. The food arrived quickly and very tasty. Had a really good nights sleep (Didn't hear any airplane noise) which was amazing.
Really happy we decided to stay overnight, as it was the best way to start our holiday. We had a very good nights sleep and no hassle or worry about making it to the airport on time.
Only thing would be check in queue was quite long, but the reception desk looked fully staffed with 5/6 staff members, so sometimes these things can't be helped.
Will stay again if flying from Gatwick North again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your stay at the hotel.

I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our convenient location and facilities. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

With regards to your additional comments, I must apologise that your check-in took longer than expected.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing