We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERNIGHT BEFORE EARLY FLIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Millthorpe, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OVERNIGHT BEFORE EARLY FLIGHT”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We turned up without a booking. No problem getting a room. What a lovely surprise! Had a lovely room overlooking the airport. The bed was amazing, like sleeping on a cloud. We had dinner in the Chinese restaurant. A bit expensive but delicious. So convenient to walk across the walking directly into the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne19562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I am delighted that you found our hospitality and accommodation to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding the service you received.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,950
    2,587
    706
    224
    130
See reviews for
1,262
4,308
526
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been using this hotel for many years as an overnight stop before a morning flight.

The hotel is conveniently connected to the north terminal, and next door to the monorail to the south terminal.

The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and many have spectacular views across the airport. The whole hotel has an air of opulence and a feel good factor that for us means, arriving at the Sofitel marks the real start of our holiday.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ktrott1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay and you were able to enjoy our dinning facilities. I will of course pass your comments onto our team members as this will serve as an encouragement for them to keep up the hard work.

If you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guernsey channel islands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was very surprised that all the staff on the front desk were not English - I was referred to as Madame - I am not in France - my paperwork said Madame too. The man was very helpful but both I and my travelling companion struggled to understand him - I work in other countries all the time. No help with bags to the room which is a shame. Room was clean if not a little tired looking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymestrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear about your experience at check-in. Your comments have been passed to our Front of House Manager, who will be addressing this matter with our ambassadors.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you, please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com if you have any specific requirements or requests prior to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stay here every march before my annual trip to mexico and over the last 5 years it has been consistently excellent, the room is always spotless and very comfy, the staff are friendly and efficient , my night before my flight has now become part of my holiday-I check in at the Sofitel then I check my bags at the 'day before check in' and that's it my holiday has started :)
I do find the food at the sofitel very expensive so either buy a 'picnic' at the marks and spencer which is nearby in the north terminal or last year as I was flying from the south terminal when I popped over to the south terminal to check my bags in ( very quick and easy by monorail) I had stopped at the 'giraffe' restaurant and had a meal there ( highly recommended) .
In the morning I have a leisurely breakfast in the hotel before the short stroll to departures, it all makes my holiday start relaxing and stress free, I can not think of a better way to start a long haul journey.
Yes there are cheaper hotels in the vicinity but none of them start your holiday off in the cossetted and relaxed way that the Sofitel does-in my opinion it is worth every penny.
Just booked for March 2014 and cant wait to be back !

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the atrium have lovely views but if you are claustrophobic ( like me) ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damionsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you had a comfortable nights stay before your early morning flight.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon and if you have any special requests or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to help.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The tunnel to the North terminal is a real bonus, and the team handling the car parking were helpful and on the ball. Rooms are 4+ star with all the usual amenities and clean. Informal eaterie was comfortable and pleasant, though quite pricey for the quality - but that is airport living for you. Gym quite small but proper machines.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall a very good experience and good value for money as we went through BA. Decided to book a room to avoid driving to the airport the night of the big storm and were very glad we did. A helpful doorman / concierge allowed us to park outside whilst we waited for the valet parking service to collect it. Reception staff were friendly. We booked a triple room which was fine although our son's bed was a temporary bed so quite small. The main bed was very comfortable and the room quiet despite a lot of people arriving who had had the same idea as us. Bathroom adequate with a decent shower. No water in the fridge. Breakfast prices outrageous so went across to the terminal which is literally a couple of minutes walk. Staying here made the whole travel experience much less stressful and we would certainly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight. I do apologise if you were not satisfied with the prices that we charge for breakfast.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Nice room and quiet. The Chinese restaurant is absolutely excellent. The check in staff failed to let my mother in law know we had checked in one hour before and she sat at the bar waiting for us to turn up when we already had! There was just something missing from the normal Sofitels. I know it is an airport hotel but I want more from a Sofitel just don't know what sorry

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased that you found our accommodation to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your meal in our Gatwick Oriental restaurant, however I am sorry that other aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing