We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable first stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
rushden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is the first time we used park & fly at Sofitel hotel. We usually park the car and use transport to north terminal. As our flight was on a Monday we drove down on the Sunday and stayed at the hotel. We did make a wrong turning on arriving at Gatwick but the doorman at the hotel soon put us right.
Parking was easy enough along with dropping off car keys and checking into the hotel.
The hotel room was on floor 5 and we had a view of the runway. The room was very clean and more than adequate for an overnight stay. The temperature of the room was spot on and we found the t.v straightforward to operate. The only negative thing was the amount of milk left for us with the complimentary tea and coffee. We had two cartons each but this was soon sorted as the young lady was cleaning the room opposite and gave us some more.
We didn't have an evening meal at Sofitel as we had already had a full English before we left so we just walked over to m & s and bought sandwiches and nibbles. With hindsight I could have bought a pint of milk while there but it wasn't until we got back to our room that I remembered about it.
My husband and I both found the mattress too soft but sleep wasn't a problem as he had an awful cold and I don't sleep we'll anyway. The pillows were soft too. We did go down to the bar and had a couple of drinks. The prices did seem a little pricey but staff were very polite and we had complementary nibbles too. At around 12.15 midnight the aeroplane noise just suddenly stopped as tho someone had flicked a switch.
The next morning we had breakfast which we booked when we checked in. There was all you could need for breakfast. Continental, full English, all sorts of cereals, various juices to drink and tea and coffee. It was all well presented and cooked food was nice and hot. It was self service too.
We checked out of our room at 12p.m and can honestly say we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pclarkeRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight from Gatwick Airports North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,950
    2,587
    706
    224
    130
See reviews for
1,262
4,308
526
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We normally get up really early and travel to Gatwick for our flights. This time we decided to stay overnight at the airport, and booked this hotel. An excellent choice, and on arrival we had the choice of an internal room looking into the atrium or a room overlooking the airport. We chose the internal room, and had a perfect nights sleep. The breakfast was exceptional, all that you might need, and plenty of choices. The check in and check out could not have been more straightforward, so all in all, the stay was first class, and will certainly be repeated. Thank you for a great start to our travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamic-hoteliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before you early morning flight. I will certainly pass your comments onto our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Sofitel Hotel is in a good location for the North Terminal but if you want to travel over to the South side to do some shopping you can catch the monorail it is only 5 minutes away, we stayed in the Sofitel December 2013 and the staff were polite and efficent, rooms are clean, and parking is a breeze - but...... £22 for two glasses of wine and £18 for fish and chips that i had to send back because they were over cooked (thank you for taking them off my bill) is unacceptable. This will not bring customers in, we would like vaule for our hard earned money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friend58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your, however I do apologise that you found your meal overcooked. I have passed this onto our Head Chef, who would like to link his apologies with mine.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying on holiday. Our room was lovely but we couldn't get the temp right . The aircon even on low kept the room way too warm so we turned it off and guess what it was even warmer . The repair guy couldn't help as it was a Sat night so we spent half the night lying on top of the bed wide awake before a long haul flight such a shame .

Also checking out at 5 am the computer was down so we have no idea how much the bill was

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I sincerely apologise that your room was too hot during your stay. We do have a duty manager available throughout the day and night and could have arranged a room move for you; however I can understand that this may have not been convenient at the time. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

After a very long flight with a late night arrival we were very pleased to have booked the Sofitel at the north terminal. It's easy access to the terminal and reception was quick and efficient. The room we had (classic) was small but had everything we needed for the night , very clean and a very comfy bed. We'd stay here again if travelling to/from gatwick.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay in our hotel. I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you arrive at Gatwick in the early evening and your next morning departure is not too early the Sofitel provides a great value, comfort option. Make sure you find a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The staff we met at reception and in the dining room were all efficient and welcoming. Dinner was enjoyable and the buffet breakfast offered a comprehensive choice. A great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I am delighted that you were satisfied with the services and facilities that we provide in the hotel and I will of course pass your kind comments to our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then our Guest Relations team can be contacted directly on h6204-gr@sofitel.com

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Sofitel is the perfect hotel to use if flying out of Gatwick. We stayed here in December 2013 before flying to Mexico. We had travelled up from Cornwall by train changing at Reading to arrive at the Gatwick Airport Rail station. It took us only 7 minutes to catch the monorail from the South Terminal and then walk to the North Terminal to the hotel connected by a walkway bridge. Easy aswe arrived and so very convenient the next day as we walked to departues to check our luggage onto the flight. No stress - only a gentle stroll.

Our hotel check-in was quick and our room was all that we needed. A comfortable bed. Space for our luggage. Clean and Quiet. Secure and with good bathroom facilities.

The Sofitel has a bar that has good service but not a lot of atmosphere. We eat in the Gatwick Oriental Restaurent had thoroughly enjoyed a selection of very well prepared South East Asian dishes, well served, and at a reasonable price costing £40 per head for 3 courses with wine.

In the morning we departed with our check-out taking less than 2 minutes feeling relaxed, rested and well served.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I was delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our convenient location.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing