We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight to Lapland and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely and clean and we really liked the bathroom. We had a room overlooking the runway which was brilliant, my grandson (21 months) loved standing on the windowsill watching the planes taking off and landing.
Check in was quick and the staff we spoke to were all very nice, didn't have breakfast as we checked out at 4.30am.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,897 - 4,903 of 8,191 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

The accomodation was fine and the reception staff fairly welcoming.. But could have been clearer directing one to the correct lift to use for the room!! Very confusing.
It was nearly 10 30pm,surerly not a late time for travellers. An empty dining room offered tired looking warming dishes of inedible food. the restuarant was closed. THe 'coffeebar' offered a brief menu.The glass of wine was cloudy and off. They did change it The food arrived inedible,greasy soft squid,salad????? and cold chips....All piled up .half the quantity and double the quality and it may have been acceptable. "Who eats this food? The staff were surly and intrusive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager, who will be implementing the necessary retraining to prevent similar occurrences from happening again.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I do hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and it is my hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is the first time we used park & fly at Sofitel hotel. We usually park the car and use transport to north terminal. As our flight was on a Monday we drove down on the Sunday and stayed at the hotel. We did make a wrong turning on arriving at Gatwick but the doorman at the hotel soon put us right.
Parking was easy enough along with dropping off car keys and checking into the hotel.
The hotel room was on floor 5 and we had a view of the runway. The room was very clean and more than adequate for an overnight stay. The temperature of the room was spot on and we found the t.v straightforward to operate. The only negative thing was the amount of milk left for us with the complimentary tea and coffee. We had two cartons each but this was soon sorted as the young lady was cleaning the room opposite and gave us some more.
We didn't have an evening meal at Sofitel as we had already had a full English before we left so we just walked over to m & s and bought sandwiches and nibbles. With hindsight I could have bought a pint of milk while there but it wasn't until we got back to our room that I remembered about it.
My husband and I both found the mattress too soft but sleep wasn't a problem as he had an awful cold and I don't sleep we'll anyway. The pillows were soft too. We did go down to the bar and had a couple of drinks. The prices did seem a little pricey but staff were very polite and we had complementary nibbles too. At around 12.15 midnight the aeroplane noise just suddenly stopped as tho someone had flicked a switch.
The next morning we had breakfast which we booked when we checked in. There was all you could need for breakfast. Continental, full English, all sorts of cereals, various juices to drink and tea and coffee. It was all well presented and cooked food was nice and hot. It was self service too.
We checked out of our room at 12p.m and can honestly say we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pclarkeRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight from Gatwick Airports North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We normally get up really early and travel to Gatwick for our flights. This time we decided to stay overnight at the airport, and booked this hotel. An excellent choice, and on arrival we had the choice of an internal room looking into the atrium or a room overlooking the airport. We chose the internal room, and had a perfect nights sleep. The breakfast was exceptional, all that you might need, and plenty of choices. The check in and check out could not have been more straightforward, so all in all, the stay was first class, and will certainly be repeated. Thank you for a great start to our travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynamic-hoteliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before you early morning flight. I will certainly pass your comments onto our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Sofitel Hotel is in a good location for the North Terminal but if you want to travel over to the South side to do some shopping you can catch the monorail it is only 5 minutes away, we stayed in the Sofitel December 2013 and the staff were polite and efficent, rooms are clean, and parking is a breeze - but...... £22 for two glasses of wine and £18 for fish and chips that i had to send back because they were over cooked (thank you for taking them off my bill) is unacceptable. This will not bring customers in, we would like vaule for our hard earned money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friend58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your, however I do apologise that you found your meal overcooked. I have passed this onto our Head Chef, who would like to link his apologies with mine.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying on holiday. Our room was lovely but we couldn't get the temp right . The aircon even on low kept the room way too warm so we turned it off and guess what it was even warmer . The repair guy couldn't help as it was a Sat night so we spent half the night lying on top of the bed wide awake before a long haul flight such a shame .

Also checking out at 5 am the computer was down so we have no idea how much the bill was

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I sincerely apologise that your room was too hot during your stay. We do have a duty manager available throughout the day and night and could have arranged a room move for you; however I can understand that this may have not been convenient at the time. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After a very long flight with a late night arrival we were very pleased to have booked the Sofitel at the north terminal. It's easy access to the terminal and reception was quick and efficient. The room we had (classic) was small but had everything we needed for the night , very clean and a very comfy bed. We'd stay here again if travelling to/from gatwick.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay in our hotel. I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing