We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we stayed here overnight after a cancelled flight back home from the US, we purchased a bottle of wine at the main bar at 12.50am to take up to our room to drink (£29.80), the very nice bar man allowed us to sample the wine prior to ordering to make sure it was to our taste, we charged the wine to our roon , and adding a £2 tip, we ordered room service when we got to our room a pizza and a roast beef sandwich, (£30.05 which included a £2.50 tray charge) we tipped the waiter £2, we did express check out at 7.00am after having a quick breakfast, we had to have our B&B rate confirmed, as we were told that breakfast was extra for us!! the staff i cannot praise enough, polite, professional, and all had a smile to greet you with.

a few days after returning home we received our invoice, to our surprise, hidden charges added to the bar bill of £3.73 for service charge and a further £3.76 added to our room service, on telephoning as to why we were charged these extras , "its service charge sir" its on the bill you can have it removed it you say at the time of signing. Im afraid that with all the travelling, spending nearly 2 days about an airport, a 6 hour flight, an hours bus journey to the other side of London at 12 o'clock at night, lost luggage, the last thing i was checking was the added service charge, 12%, so why not point out there is a service charge as you sign the slip, remembering we handed over cash to the staff, or better still dont add it initially , advise to how much the 12% charge is and tick if you would like to add it. This way you arent tipping twice, this is how it was done in America for our stay there, because you can bet your bottom dollar the staff dont see the 12% of everything they serve and are ''tipped'' on.

This has left a sour taste in what up until now was a pleasent stay all be it brief, i for one will check the slips you automatically sign when charging to your room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andybhoy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, however was disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced. Service charge is added to all food and beverage items purchased within the hotel. This is stated in all of our menus and bills, however it is a discretionary charge and can be removed at any point during your stay by asking one of our ambassadors to remove it. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,801)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,475 - 4,481 of 7,801 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our son before traveling the next morning the staff where very accommodating and our room was immaculate, my husband also has a wheat and gluten allergy and staff did everything in the restaurant to a accommodate his food intolerance. Fantastic customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will certainly pass your comments onto our ambassadors in our restaurant and praise them for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

very close to Gatwick North Terminal, perfect for next morning flight, the room itself is clean, quiet and it has a very comfy bed and nice bedding, the club lounge is cosy but we had everything we want and more, over all we are satisfied and will return again for sure!

Room Tip: get a premium suit and enjoy the club lounge
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lihMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotels location convenient for access into Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staff very attentive and nothing seemed to be a bother for them.
The one down side was that bar prices were very high.When we were going to the North terminal in the morning with quite a bit of luggage it was no problem for the staff to take us there,

Room Tip: Rooms all very sound proofed none better than other.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiemcnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Archiemcnicol,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Greenish
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we arrived on the 28th December to stay and park our car. What an absolute nightmare. I appreciate that it was high season but total chaos. We had great difficulty parking our car to start off with as the car park was so jam packed that everyone was having to leave their vehicles where they could. We had to queue for nearly half an hour to check in to our room which is not great after a 3 hour journey. Thank goodness we arrived when we did and after going to our room went straight to the bar area and managed to get a table in the bar which we did'nt dare leave all the time we where there as there was no room in any restuarant for over an hour or anywhere for anyone to sit as it was completely full everywhere. We had a bar meal in the end which was very average and very expensive. Overall never again. An overnight stay which I thought would be so easy, was'nt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolktwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am very sorry for the length of time you had to wait to check into the hotel. On the day of your arrival the hotel was particularly busy and our computer system had crashed, which meant our check-in process was much slower than it usually is. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

It is regrettable that you have chosen not to stay with us again on the basis of this particular experience. May I thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £98 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing