We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel London Gatwick
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$104
US$89
Sandman Gatwick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ibis London Gatwick Airport(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$126
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (8,625)
Filter reviews
8,626 results
Traveller rating
4,556
2,856
802
261
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,556
2,856
802
261
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe oriental restauranturban cafela brasseriesouth terminalan early flightchoice of restaurantscovered walkwaythe club loungesuperior roomcar parknext morningstart your holidaycomfortable bedsgood nights sleepquick checkan overnight staypre flight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,225 - 5,230 of 8,626 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel both on our outbound and inbound legs to break up a long haul flight. Rooms are very nice, and of course the convenience factor is amazing! Service was efficient and friendly, and they also went out of their way to confirm we had a crib already placed in the rooms. I also think the price was pretty reasonable, all things considered. We will definite, stay there again, and certainly recommend it highly.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BRonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were pleased with our hospitality.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team directly on h6204-gr@sofitel.com .

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

my sister and i realy enjoyed our stay at your hotel. everone was so helpful and charming i would certainly return we had such a lovely experience. thanks to you all. we certainly recommend you to all our friends and family i am sure they will enjoy it to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight. I will certainly ensure that your feedback is passed onto our ambassadors and that they are praise for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel couldn't be more convenient when flying into or out of the North Terminal as it is physically connected to the terminal. You don't nead to go outside at any point so if you're flying somewhere warm, pack your coat before you leave the hotel.

The reception/bar area is a comfortable place to relax and enjoy a drink or coffee.

The bedrooms are tastefully decorated. The single beds are wider than average at 1metre and have really comfortable pillow-top mattresses. The lighting is okay but could do with the option of a central ceiling light in addition to the table lamp, standard lamp and over bed lights. Our room had a comfortable armchair. There was also a mini-bar which on our first stay came with complimentary bottled water but on our second stay (a week later) was empty. I don't particularly like the bath/shower set up. There is a glass door which you need to open to get in or out of the shower. It moves back across the toilet and when you get out of the shower it drips water everywhere. The shower is of the fixed head variety. I prefer the sort that is detachable from the wall. They were a bit mean with the toiletries - only one bar of soap so you had to remember to take it with you when getting in the bath. The toiletries weren't as nice as those I've had in Sofitels in the far East (lemon verbena).

We had an excellent dinner in the main restaurant on our first visit (a Saturday). The receptionist had tipped them off that it was my birthday and they delivered my dessert complete with candle on a plate on which the chef had piped Happy Birthday in chocolate sauce. On our second visit (late on a Sunday) I had an indifferent burger in the Urban Cafe. My friend said her fish and chips were good though.

On our first visit the receptionist was charming and welcomed me back to Sofitel. On our second visit we received a rather surly welcome and a mistake with the room rate which took an age to sort out. Luckily I was able to show the receptionist their confirmation email on my iPad in order to get the correct rate.

Breakfast was very good on both occasions. The grapefruit juice tasted like it had been freshly squeezed. The eggs were nicely cooked and the bacon was lean, the sausages delicious. There was fried bread as well as the usual hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, and grilled tomatoes. The cold offerings included fruit and yogurt.

The hotel was quiet notwithstanding its proximity to the runway.

I've stayed in all of the Gatwick on-airport hotels in recent years and this one is definitely the best both in terms of bed comfort and quality of food/service in the main restaurant. I'd suggest staying here even if you are flying from the South terminal as the shuttle station is just around the corner when you enter the North terminal from the hotel so you can easily get to the South terminal in a matter of minutes, all without going outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found our proximity to the North Terminal convenient to catch your flight. I will also ensure that your comments are passed onto our ambassadors and we will address them, where retraining needs to be considered and where praise should be given.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here the night before our flight and chose here for the sheer closeness to the terminal. Check in was quick and efficient and it was so easy to go to the terminal to check in our luggage the night before. Room well appointed and quiet and we got it at a discounted price. Restaurant and bar a bit pricey but to be expected. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you felt that the hotels location was convenient for the check-in desks at the North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great hotel for an overnight stay before a flight. So easy to walk there from the north terminal. Extremely comfortable. Found food prices high, so ate in the airport terminal itself which is just a few minutes under cover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews