We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years for both Business trips and transiting through Gatwick on holiday trips when overnight stays are required. It is attached to the North Terminal via a covered walkway and even if you are travelling from South Terminal, the walkway brings you out at the terminal transit shuttle – you couldn’t get more convenient really. Generally the staff have always been friendly and attentive, the rooms clean and well equipped. Food and drink is a little pricey but it is an Airport hotel and being a Sofitel, you’d like to assume of better quality. If you use this hotel in combination with the Airline's night before check-in services, you can be sitting relaxing in the hotel knowing that your bags are checked in for your flight the next day and all you have is a few minutes walk straight to Departures with no queues. A no brainer really. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpaOpa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found the location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,801)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,342 - 4,348 of 7,801 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Overnight stop over en route to USA. Quickest check in ever. Queen room with lounge access. Excellent facilities. Free wi-fi. Ordered room service food. Very tasty. Again quick check out in morning. Really first class for efficiency.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and were able to get a good nights rest before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed for one night on 02/03/14 in a "luxury club room" was can only be described as small and average, other than being on the lounge floor and having access to the smallest lounge I have ever been in. The room was clean and fairly comfortable.
The main reason I picked this hotel was it was part of the North Terminal which meant an easy walk in the morning to catch my flight. The check took 25mins as the person on reception could not find my booking the supervisor found it in 20seconds. Similar problem on checking out.
I had room service which was fast and good.

Would not stay here again their are much better options around Gatwick that a taxi ride will sort any location issues.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our ambassadors accordingly. All of our rooms are of a similar size except our Junior and Prestige Suites, which may have been more accommodating to your needs.

If you happen to stay with us again, then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice hotel great location for Gatwick North Terminal. We ate in the brasserie- had to ask for bread as we were not offered any and then proceeded to wait 20mins for it, as chef had to bake it! This
was at 8.30pm on a Monday evening! Service poor and prices on menu we're extortionate. Would stay at hotel again but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophile32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the relevant department managers to ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future, please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com ahead of any future stay is you have any special requests or queries.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had an early flight and so stayed here overnight. Enormous bed in single room, fantastic bathroom and very quiet. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a good TV. For £100 I reckon it was good value. Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. You certainly don't feel as if you're in an airport but you're only 5 minutes from check-in. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elcoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First off, I should say that we only stayed here for 2 nights - 1 on our way to Naples, and 1 on the way back.

In saying that though, this is a very pleasant hotel. The lobby area is quite impressive with great glass elevators just like Charlie's chocolate factory. Well almost - they don't crash through the roof and fly away..... unfortunately.

The rooms are fine - not of a luxury standard, but clean and comfortable, and the room service is a godsend when you've been travelling a long time.

There a number of decent restaurants / bars, but during the day this area is quiet and relaxing.

Service was great. We got up late and missed breakfast one morning, but they managed to rustle me up a very tasty bacon sandwich anyway. And when we were leaving, we mentioned that room service had forgotten a bottle of water we ordered. We didn't think it was a big deal, but the receptionist removed the bottle of water from our bill and also removed the room service charge because she said the service wasn't good enough! It's small touches like that that make you want to book again.

Finally, there's the location. It doesn't get much closer to the airport than this. In fact, it's pretty much IN the airport, with a corridor leaving directly from the lobby to the terminal.

All in all, very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors. The elevator is too cool. Unless you have a fear of heights of cours...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Front Office Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and will pass on your comments regarding our ambassadors as i am sure that this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £98 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing