We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect solution for a stress-free early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Sofitel gave us a very comfortable night's stay ahead of an early flight from the North Terminal. The convenience of having just a short walk straight into the terminal gave us valuable extra time in the morning, so we could start the journey relaxed after a good night's sleep.
The hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, high standards, and good service, so our stay there became an enjoyable bonus part of our holiday. Our room had all we needed, and a good view of the airport too. We would really recommend it, to avoid the stress and extra time of an early drive from home to the airport if you have an early departure. For the quality of the hotel, and all it offered, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and your visit was a stress free way to kick start your holiday!

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,885 - 4,891 of 8,388 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had stayed at the Sofitel before and booked for the night before our early flight out.
We had to change from a pre-booked park & fly package to room only and the local staff (unlike the central Sofitel people) were very accommodating in changing our reservation.
When we arrived we were met by a porter and our cases were transported up to reception.
The reception staff were friendly, booked us in efficiently and reserved us a table for dinner.
We were in room 577, which has an internal view only, which was of adequate size for a one night stay. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There was a crack in the washbasin in the bathroom and the safe is on the floor - which could pose problems for anyone with mobility problems.To operate the shower over the bath you had to press the plunger DOWN rather than UP (as is the convention) which might explain why the unit was loose and becoming detached from the wall.
We had a very good meal in Le Brasserie - quite expensive, but good quality and service - point of detail, the windows needed cleaning.
Overall though a very good hotel which we will use again for Gatwick airport trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax in our La Brasserie restaurant for your evening meal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I always start my holiday off with a stay at the sofitel and look forward to it with great pleasure , sadly this stay Monday march 17th my eighth) was a huge let down . The hotel situation remains the best there is for location , rooms are spotlessly clean but the service side of things was very poor on this visit . Waited to check in , and although I was first in the queue when another receptionist came to assist and logged on to her computer a man stepped out of the queue behind me and walked up to her and rather than tell him there was a queue she started to assisting , had I not protested she would have checked him in leaving me standing there like a lemon,
When she did check me in despite my having emailed ahead requesting a runway view room and having this confirmed to me and being a returning guest , and an Accor card member when I got to my room it was right next to the shuttle to the south terminal - possibly the worst location in the hotel.
When I returned to reception to get the room changed I was ably assisted by a young lady Eleni? A trainee who was very helpful and friendly and put me in the room that I had originally requested.
In the room there was no milk for tea and when I rang housekeeping for milk the lady who answered the phone barked at me "look in the fridge ", which I had already done ,and told her this she then said she would bring some , and of course didn't , meaning another phone call half an hour later to get it .
To cap it all off the sink in the bathroom didn't drain AT ALL , surely housekeeping had noticed this when cleaning, why didn't they report it .
None of these problems are major problems but they meant that the usual sofitel experience of feeling cosseted and looked after simply did not exist .I felt like I was in the premier inn just over the road rather than staying in a luxury hotel .
The only staff that I encountered that were of the correct standard ( apart from Eleni) were the concierge and bellboys who were a pleasure to deal with and extremely pleasant and helpfull.
With the premier inn just over the way the thing that sets the sofitel apart is it's service and this was sadly lacking on this stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Damionsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed to our Front of House Manager and the additional retraining put into place to ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

If you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

One short overnight stay for an early flight the next morning. The room (Classic) had a king size bed which was very comfortable, it was spotlessly clean and quality complimentary toiletries were provided. Our room was very quiet and the temperature was fine. Check in and check out was quick and efficient, staff were friendly and helpful. A short walk later and we were in the north terminal. The only downside was the cost when compared to the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on an overnight trip back from Africa, on arriving into the main atrium the hotel looks impressive, reception staff were helpful and efficient, check in was smooth and we took the lift up to the fourth floor to our room. Room was spotless clean, disappointingly small and incredible hot! The heat in the room was not resolved by the air conditioning either when we attempted to set the temperature low but given we checked in at 23:30 and were checking out at 09:00 and we were both exhausted after a long trip back to the UK we decided to just "get on with it". Bed was okay, clean linen, pillows tad uncomfortable but overall passable. The hotel did not supply any complimentary bottle water (unlike the Hilton at Gatwick which does), so given the heat in the room it was disappointing this basic added value touch was overlooked. Our room was on the side of the hotel opposite the Premier Inn and unfortunately it was positioned extremely close to the North <> South terminal shuttle train which I think runs all night every 5 minutes or so, as the train arrives into the terminal it is noisy and this was far from ideal in helping achieve a good night's sleep. To be honest I personally had a dreadful night’s sleep this is not necessarily attributable to the hotel directly but the heat and noise did not help. Checkout next morning was again efficient and smooth. Overall have to say the hotel looks great but I think there are other hotels situated within a very close proximity to the airport that offer better value for money and I suspect a better sleep quality. Certainly the Hilton did when we stayed there on the journey out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the North <> South terminal shuttle service, the service is ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newsatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction. Bottled water is available upon request and is stocked in our Superior and Luxury rooms. We have a Duty Manager throughout the day and night and had they been aware of your concerns could have rectified them for you. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £100 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing