We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have stayed three times now and each is fantastic, a good clean up market hotel that is fantastically well placed for an early morning flight. If you can run to an executive room then you get free drinks in the evening and a free continental breakfast in the morning. On site parking works well, you will be back ay your car before everyone else has left the airport building.

I booked through www.youparkandfly.co.uk got a great price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax in our Club Sofitel lounge before your early morning flight.

If you have any queries or special requests regarding a future booking then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,883
    2,549
    693
    217
    129
See reviews for
1,241
4,236
516
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night before a morning flight to South Africa. Small room but didn't spend that much time in it. Room very quiet despite all the comings and goings and slept very well. TV and WIFI available in room but you have to pay for the latter beyond 30 minutes. Good food and drink options for dinner and breakfast. Cheaper in terminal but not as good. Breakfast for example was £15 or so and reasonable value. We have stayed in other hotels at GW and feel this is the best and most convenient for North Terminal, although certainly not the cheapest. We will certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight. We do offer complimentary WiFi for all guests for the duration of their stay. If there is any difficulties connecting then our Reception team can rectify this for you. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very Impressive Hotel with pleasant people although food tends to be expensive.
Ideally situated for Gatwick Airport being within the North Terminal although you cannot hear any plane noise which is an advantage when you need a good nights rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank terrygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to relax before your early morning flight. I will of course pass your comments onto our ambassadors and ensure that they are given the praise they deserve for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team at guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had to do an overnight here on way to Italy. Easy check-in, nice room, comfortable bed. Good choice of 3 different restaurants, we ate in the oriental which was excellent, but pricey ( 5 starters and 1 drink each was £65). But generally very good, and handy for the check-in at Gatwick north terminal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slusheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location of the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight from Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is quite an average hotel by Sofitel standards but its convenience, food and staff make up for that. The door staff are very helpful with your luggage and you can park here for your holiday if you stay overnight and book in advance. Great for that early morning flight.

The public areas are a little cathedral-like and cold and the rooms are not much better than a Travel Lodge. But if you want a great meal, the Brasserie is excellent. Book in advance.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the atrium on the higher floors for the best night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and your meal in our La Brasserie restaurant was satisfactory. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto our team members and they are given the praise that they deserve for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Much has been written about this place, so there is little new left to say. It is as close to the North Terminal as it is possible to get, and with the quick check out, it is possible to leave a bedroom and be at a check in desk in under five minutes. That's pretty much why we chose this place - no hassle on the morning of our flight.

Aside from that, it's nothing special. Not bad, by any stretch, but there is room for improvement. We arrived late at night (between 10pm and 11pm), and we had to wait an inordinate amount of time to check in. That's fairly poor at any time of day, but when it's late and all you want to do is get to bed, it sours the experience somewhat. Especially when there seemed to be staff milling about behind the desk who could have left their administrative tasks until the queue had become thinner.

But I don't want this to be a negative review. The positives outweigh the negatives. The room we had was fairly comfortable. It looked slightly tired, but there was a good bed which made for a great night's sleep. And after all, that is what an airport hotel is all about - being able to sleep well, and being closed to the terminal. In that respect, it was a good choice (and one we would make again).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced upon check-in. I have passed your comments onto our Front of House Manager, who is implementing the necessary retraining of our ambassadors to ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and I hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Decided to stay here the day before going on holiday. The hotel itself is situated 1 min walk from Gatwick North Terminal. A tunnel from the hotel links the hotel to the airport or you can cross the street and take an escalator.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel staff. They were very polite and certainly knew how to treat customers. As you walk in you see the hotel towering above you, it almost feels like your on the ground floor of a tall shopping centre with the bars, restaurants and water features. The glass lift took us to our floor and we entered our room. The room was basic. After what I had seen in the hotel I was dissappointed that the room was fairly sub-standard. It was comfortable and offered a good nights sleep but just expected more of a modern touch. We ate lunch downstairs and had a decent meal, and paid over the ends. We decided to order dinner to our room in the evening. This was also quite pricey.
Floor 8 offers a free breakfast in the cafe on the 8th floor and free drinks in the evening along with canapes. We didn't take the drinks but we had the breakfast which was very nice.
After checking out and reaching the airport my wife had reaslised she had forgotten her watch. We returned to the hotel and informed a member of staff. He rang housekeeping and had someone check the room. He asked us to accompany him to the room and the watch was found.
I would stay here again, as the service is the best I've experienced.
Just to add, there was an annoucement in the room about testing the fire alarm. It was very loud and annoying. The alarm then sounded and we were told to go to the closest fire exit. As we were unsure, we left the room and found the stairwell. Then again over the tannoy, we were told to that the drill was sucessful. The announcment was very loud, and made our ears ring for a while. The End

Room Tip: Floor 8, on the side of the cafe for a view of the runway, otherwise the view we had was another hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that some aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction, however I was disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you encountered.

I do apologise that you were not satisfied with the standard of your room. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments so improvements can be made.

We do conduct fire alarm tests every Thursday due to Health and Safety reasons. As this is a test, no evacuation is required. I am very sorry that this was not explained to you upon check-in and the necessary retraining of our ambassadors has now been implemented.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing