We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about the car park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hotel, shame about the car park.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our stay at this hotel was only spoiled by the fact that while parking the car I managed to scrape the rear nearside wing of my car on the "scaffold poles" attached to the column at the start of the ramp up to the first floor. The column is painted yellow and easy to see, the "scaffold poles", which seem to be there as a handrail, were impossible to see when I parked at 6.30 at night and not much easier to see in daylight when I took some pictures. An employees comment that "it happens a lot" didn't help matters and I will be seeking advice on this matter. The cost of repair has been estimated at £3,000 and although I can see that Building Regulations (BS6399 Part I and BS 6180) say a lot about protecting pedestrians, albeit on a ramp intended for vehicles, I think the car park owners could take a few simple steps to either warn drivers of the hidden obstruction or actually fix the handrail in a different way to avoid any possible problems in the future. DRIVERS BEWARE!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGrahamJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for submitting your review.

We were disappointed to read that you damaged your vehicle whilst using our car park. We do not have ‘scaffold poles’ as you refer to them within the car park. The barriers you refer to are part of the steel infrastructure. The approaches to and from the ramps meet with building regulations and we have over of the course of the year many thousands of vehicles using the facility without mishap. We have many large SUV vehicles including mini-buses and flat bed trucks negotiating the car park on a regular basis but occasionally when parking accidents can happen and we do understand how frustrating this can be.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and it is my hope that we will welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,950
    2,587
    706
    224
    130
See reviews for
1,262
4,308
526
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is the best airport hotel I have been to.
Perfect location, clean room and clean bathroom.
Bed was comfortable.
No noise from outside.
The bar area is a bit manic and expensive, but you can relax there.
5 mean covered walk to the terminal.
1 min from car park.
Check in was easy too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeirdFish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our Virgin Atlantic flight to Cuba left from the South Terminal but we chose to stay at the Sofitel because it's (in our opinion) the best hotel at Gatwick.
Not the cheapest - but very convenient for both terminals. Excellent breakfast and very attentive staff both on reception and in the restaurants. The gentlemen on the concierge desk were very helpful.
You can eat in the terminals cheaper but probably not as good.
The rooms overlooking the atrium are quieter,the outer rooms with larger windows have airport views and are slightly noisier.
Train from Gatwick South to St Pancras took 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our hospitality and convenient location.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick .

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Quite simply the best UK hotel I have stayed in. Friendly staff, fabulous food, stunning design, total convenience for Gatwick Airport, Gatwick Express and overland train network. Runway views from some rooms, a jaw-dropping atrium. Just 100% pure luxury.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheBigW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our hospitality, accommodation and convenient location.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here before a flight, first time at this hotel
it looked lovely on website and as we have to travel looked forward to a great nights sleep in soft beds. However the air conditioning was so bad this didn't happen. The price is not cheap so we expected better.We are staying again in august so really hope some adjustments have been made!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelfordHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay.

I was disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding the air conditioning in your room and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

Please contact our Guest Relations team prior to your stay in August on 01293 555100 or e-mail guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com so that we can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing