We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This Hotel has recently undergone a grand refit (of its reception area)
The Rooms are ...compact...The Luxury rooms are also compact.
They have no walk in showers in luxury rooms, even the Suites have a bog standard bathroom (small) with a shower above the bath, the rooms are pretty tired...the tables and carpets are worn out in the Luxury Club Rooms on 8th Floor.
The Club Lounge is quite nice, however one long standing staff member, a gentleman who has been there for several years, does not appear to like guests in his Club Lounge, he is most grumpy and unhelpful...I have garnished this information during several years of repeat stays...he doesnt get any better.
The Oriental restaurant is quite good, although I wish they would NOT serve frozen prepackaged deserts.
Lounge bars are good. Brasserie should be avoided for any meal.
Great views of airport IF you have a high floor and right location.
Easy to get to Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0rldTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced in our Club Lounge. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager, who will be addressing your feedback with additional retraining. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.
I was also disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard of your room and have passed this onto our Maintenance team to investigate.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,801)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,226 - 4,232 of 7,801 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank martin2417
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Having stayed in the Sofitel at terminal 5 Heathrow we booked for the Sofitel at North Terminal, Gatwick.....and we certainly not disappointed. The ease and convenience is certainly a bonus,
added to this is the truly superb service, and the excellent and comfortable bed. We had a wonderful sleep, an excellent breakfast followed by a short walk, under cover to the airport.
Our return flight was late 1.30 am ! but the process of picking up the car was made easy, and then we were on our way home.
Thank you Sofitel we will back in 2015, and returning to Heathrow Sofitel in September.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avoca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location of the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight from Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015!

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marm71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Arriving at the hotel by car it is not made clear that you can park in front to unload baggage - we tried to but there was a queue behind so had to move. The car park is cheaply designed and badly finished with very little room to manouvre making entering and exiting access ramps quite a feat, made obvious by the damaged barriers at each entrance and exit to each floor. Signage to the hotel from the car park is abysmal.
Rather confusing and surly manner from car park staff at ground floor but warm welcome from reception staff at 1st floor level.
Lifts to rooms small and show signs of bad / rushed fitting as doors scrape when opening and closing.
Rooms clean but furniture shows signs of abuse and bad fitting / fixing (wall panels loose). Beds comfortable but the room we stayed in was very hot and air conditioning noisy enough to keep a light sleeper awake most of the night (industrial duct vents into room).
Restaurants are themed, very expensive for the quality offered with staff attempting to convey the theme as best they can with costume and accent. I should have realised what was to come when I was told that the beer on offer in the 'French' restaurant was either Cobra or Peroni. Stuck at an Airport for the night you either pay the price or go hungry; a meal for two, standard quality wine and standard quality food, no desert, no starters over £120.00 is just too much.
Buffet style breakfast was very good apart from terrible quality tea which we left.
Check-out was quick and easy and the walk to the North Terminal quite easy. Exiting the car park entailed re-parking and re-visiting reception on the first floor as prepaid parking had to be re-validated.
All in all rather disappointing - would rather stay a little further out at a 'real' hotel with more freedom, better value and real hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to learn of the difficulties you encountered during your stay. Your feedback regarding our car park will certainly be taken into consideration the next time we refurbish the hotel. I will also pass your comments onto the relevant department Managers regarding the condition of your room and ambassadors.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for a second time with my son recently before our early flight, we had a luxury club room and had a wonderful evening in the club lounge, I would thoroughly recommend this as a wonderful way to start a holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to relax in our Club Sofitel lounge before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay in if you are travelling from Gatwick. The service is first class the bedrooms and bedding are excellent. The wifi is a disgrace; they employ a maddening and idiotic system that requires scraps of paper to be delivered to your room with codes to speed up the basic ( dreadful) standard system. They also restrict one user to each room ( incl doubles) unless you ask for another scrap of paper. If you try the basic package & then wish to upgrade you need to speak to a 3rd party technician, which takes over an hour. I wished to watch an internet broadcast and this set up caused me to miss most of it. What a shame, without this significant frustration I would rate this hotel excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window. If you are using wifi do not log on until you have the upgra...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beltayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay however, I was disappointed to learn of the difficulties you experienced during your stay and would like to offer my sincerest apologies. We are aware of the current limitations with our internet service and we do have a Duty Manager, available throughout the day and night and had they been aware of your concerns could have rectified them for you.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests prior to your next visit then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £98 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing