We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant night sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant night sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for the night as we had a flight 5am from Gatwick. We arrived around 11pm and were welcomed by polite and helpful staff. The hotel itself looked very impressive on arrival. Our room was very clean tidy and well presented. The pillows were the most comfortable ever, was tempted to run away with one. We both used the gym which was although pretty basic for us served us well.
Overall a excellent nights stay, and definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhbrowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and you were satisfied with the service received from our team members. Your comments will certainly be passed on as I am sure that this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,664
    2,462
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,184
4,029
496
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Sofitel Gatwick Airport

Travelling one hundred plus miles to Gatwick airport this hotel is a must for an overnight stay prior to a next morning flight. While the accommodation prices are more expensive than the other Gatwick hotels this is well worth the extra £30 or as the hotel is adjoining Terminal 1 and the quality of the accommodation is of a high standard. We booked with Late Rooms .Com and paid £123 including a first class breakfast.
The room we found to be very comfortable with small fridge and tea /coffee making facilities.
In the terminal a few minutes’ walk away through a tunnel there is a24 hour Marks & Spencer’s food shop located ideal for a sandwich and a bottle of wine if you prefer the solace of your room instead of using the hotel restaurants or bar.
We had also pre booked for breakfast which for an extra ten pounds per person was very good value as this turned out to be one of the best hotel breakfasts that we have encountered. A wide choice of well prepared food to suit all requirements including bacon and eggs. Gluten free bread is available on request plus the coffee is excellent.
We would without question stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were satisfied with the services and facilities the hotel has to offer.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

A good value Sofitel very close to the Northern Terminal at Gatwick. Room space adequate for extra suit cases with good selection of toiletries. Flat screen TV but no sports channels. Bar and restaurants provide well priced good quality food served in a clean airy environment. No aircraft noise check in and out well served by hotel. Excellent value and clearly very managed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location of the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight from Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived early for a next day flight. Excellent room. Smooth checkin and perfect staff. Breakfast is pricey but was superb.

Would definitely stay here over the Hilton at gatwick. Different class similar price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paisleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your comments onto our ambassadors as I am sure that this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a great overnight stay at the Sofitel on 18th April. Room was well appointed and bed was extremely comfortable. Also had a lovely - if a bit pricey, evening meal. Proximity to North Terminal is excellent and will definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyDr0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location of our hotel convenient for access into Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's such a shame we had a bad time with this hotel. The location is perfect, straight through a tunnel to the North Terminal. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. We changed room 4 times, the first room was ok but the hotel rave about their superior beds and they weren't very comfortable. The mattress seemed hard, you could feel the springs and although they added a padded mattress topper it didn't make much difference. The 2nd room we were moved to had a terrible smell of vomit in the bathroom, the 3rd room was so near the lift shaft all you could hear was the motor running. Our last room (by this time it was past midnight) was ok, the bed seemed a little more comfortable but it was baking hot and the air conditioning was very noisy. We didn't sleep at all so started our break away exhausted. We ate at the restaurant opposite reception and the food was good, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It's just the rooms that let the hotel down.

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure you're away from the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLewisHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of our beds. We regularly receive positive views on their comfort and I must apologise that you did not experience this.

I hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing