We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issue with car park lifts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Booked a park and fly package. Found the hotel very easy with directions.But what a disappointment to find the car park lift out of action. My husband (who was celebrating his 60th birthday) had to struggle with luggage and I had to carry overnight bags from the second floor.When arriving at the 'the Park and Fly' reception we were told they knew it had been out of action. So why hadn't any notices been posted on the lift doors to inform guests?
Check in was very quick and we found our room to be very comfortable.
Dinner was a little wait but we were not into any rush and therefore enjoy watching the hotel busy life pass us by. The dinner selection was ok, but felt the choice could be improved.
We slept well and enjoyed the morning breakfast the variety of choice.
On return we again found(18 days later) the lift was out of action!!!!!!!!!!!
To me this was not acceptable.the only consolation was the man on the Park & Fly reception requested a porter to help with our baggage . All in all the hotel is very comfortable and easy to Gatwick both north and south terminals. Would we book here again?
Only on checking that the lifts etc were all in working order. I must stress the management must address this issue urgently! (Arrival 09/04/14- 27/04/14).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent visits to our hotel.

I would like to take the time to apologise for the inconvenience you encountered regarding our car park lift. Unfortunately we are currently undergoing engineering works in our car park, but do hope to have the lift back in order very soon. We do advise guests to leave their luggage with our doormen prior to advancing to the car park.

In regards to your comments concerning the selection of evening meals, I have passed these comments onto our Food and Beverage team, who will certainly ensure that your feedback is taken into consideration when our menus are updated.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel London Gatwick and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,566 - 4,572 of 8,235 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been to the Sofitel at Gatwick Airport a few times now and I've always had a great time. Apart from the fact that the hotel is very clean, has friendly staff and excellent restaurants, what makes the hotel almost perfect in my eyes is it's close proximity to the airport. It's a little more than a grand total of 100 meters from your room to checkin. The only thing I can really complain about is the air con and the inability to open a window (I personally hate air cons and usually sleep with an open window at night). That is all :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank ynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Ynamite,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I got the park and fly deal and I must say it was a bargain!!! I basically paid for the room and got the parking free. Very useful as it's literally a 2 minute walk to the North Terminal from here. I got a free upgrade to a room with an amazing view over looking the edge of the airport and the countryside.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay here again as you don't have to worry about battling your way through the traffic in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were satisfied with our Park & Fly packages that we offer at the hotel. Your feedback will be passed onto our ambassadors as I am sure that this will encourage them to keep up the hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the future.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was fantastic in every respect! We booked a night before our flight and night for when we returned, due to times of flights and distance to our home making hours unsociable. It included car parking as well, which was so easy, just a simple phone call and someone picked the car up from the hotel and brought it back on our return, all hassle free!

It is luxurious accommodation with great views from both of our rooms of the airport, not overlooked by anyone. On our first night we planned to arrive so we could visit London City, which was a great start to our holiday.

The hotel bar is an excellent place to relax and a perfect place to start and finish a holiday, our return flight arrived early so we finished our holiday off with a glass of bubbly and club sandwich, the latter or both are well recommended. The breakfast is fantastic, the variety is exceptional and the cooked breakfast is fresh and hot not like some buffet breakfasts I have encountered at other hotels. My only gripe would be no gluten free options available, but then I didn't ask so it may have been. If so maybe advertise it better.

The position of the hotel is perfect, easy access by tunnel to airport and shuttle service to south terminal to get train to London. We would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, bigger and more spacious. Beds are sooooo comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location of the hotel convenient for access into Gatwick Airport’s North Terminal. We do cater for different dietary requirements and our staff will try their best to ensure that these requirements are catered for if requested.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank FMeinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before a flight to Corfu. Two adults and a child. Lovely comfortable room, a camp bed type bed for my 7 year old son and a king sized bed for us. We didn't eat at the hotel but it had a couple of restaurants. It's within walking distance to the North Terminal. We used the parking as well, and got a good price for a night there and a week's parking (about £140). Would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank ladytubedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and were satisfied with our Park & Fly packages that we offer at the hotel.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Signage was a little poor on arrival in the airport, not the hotels fault. Ask one of the airport staff. I had to go up one floor then it was easy and a very very short walk

Check in etc was slick and efficient ,
Room very well appointed modern clean and really quiet this hotel is in the middle of the airport, I had previously stayed at the Hilton in gatwick so was expecting a bed for the night with a bit of plane noise etc, not here! Very very quiet, I couldn't believe how quiet it was, the bed was the most comfortable of my trip and so comfortable, upon my return home I upgraded my own bed.

Breakfast was wonderful and a great place to people watch if u are not in a hurry.

Check out again slick and efficient

Really easy to get to departures

I would highly recommend staying in this hotel if u are flying early in the morning takes the stress out of getting to the airport on time or even if u are just in the area worth a stay really comfy bed

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bregagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and you were able to relax prior to your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £93 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing