We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for one night prior to flying out to Egypt. The room was comfortable and was well equipped. It was very quiet considering it's an airport hotel. Didn't hear the planes or other guests. We had a dinner package which meant that we could eat from a fairly restricted menu or have an allowance and eat from the a la carte menu. Food was good. Breakfast was even better, considering how busy it was. There is an undercover walkway directly from the hotel to the North Terminal building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Robin A,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,894
    2,551
    693
    219
    129
See reviews for
1,242
4,245
518
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was booked in here by Monarch Airlines because the flight I was on had to make an emergency landing at Gatwick. After a six hour wait, with no information, we were told at 10.30 pm that there was no flight until the next day at 12.15.pm.

Finally found the hotel, and was much relieved to find it pleasant and welcoming. My previous experience of airport hotels has been pretty dire, and I was apprehensive. We were checked in quickly and offered a meal even though it was 11pm. The room and bathroom were good, apart from the fact it was near a lift shaft (my fault for not realising and asking for a change) You couldn't hear any noise from the planes. A comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the top floor away from either of the two lift shafts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Vivienne03,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and although a short visit, you were able to relax before your rescheduled flight.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOS
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Good-Nice big room, easy access to the North Terminal, and car parking packages.
The Bad- Fire Doors in corridors are dated. Making them loud during the night and early morning when people are going through them.
The Ugly- No access to car park from Hotel which was a surprise, you have to exit the hotel, and walk through a smaller car park, then into the multi storage car park. Asked at reception and was told it was the only way to get there.
Didn't eat or drink here so can't comment.

The extra - We got a good deal on a parking package, stayed in the hotel upon return. Recently stayed at the Hamilton by Hilton, (also at the North Terminal) and was just as nice (and newer)

Room Tip: As far away from elevators as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Spydog007,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Usually stop at the Sofitel London Gatwick and have done so for a number of years, reception and bar staff always friendly and helpful!

Have seen some of the comments about the staff and must admit have never found the negativity to be the case! If you smile and be polite it's amazing what people will do for you!

Have always found the rooms clean and the beds extremely comfortable, which is great for a good sleep before an early morning flight, which is usually the case for us!

We usually drop off the luggage early afternoon at departures and then come back to the lounge bar area...and relax!

Room Tip: High room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Mel P,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I arrived very Late 2330 as expected. Checkout is 1200, any thoughts of a peaceful lie in and avoiding the madness of rush hour were quashed. The maid knocked on my door and attempted to open it just after 0800. I gave in and went to see what she wanted. She's was very pleasant, not at all rude, but she had a work sheet saying I would be leaving at 0800, this was news to me and its happened before.

I like the Sofitel, the beds are great and the rooms are comfy, but really why badger guests in this way. There are other hotels on site that don't do this. I would rather stay with Sofitel but won't be if this happens again.

Room Tip: In my experience all rooms suffer from aircraft noise to some extent - it's an airport. Arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear E3388Travel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay, however I was disappointed to learn of the disturbance you encountered during your stay and I would like to offer my sincerest of apologies. Please rest assured that the appropriate departmental managers have been notified and retraining implemented of our ambassadors to ensure that this does not happen again.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and it is my hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for one night on the 8th floor of this hotel before setting off on holiday the next morning.
The room was very comfortable and we had access to the premium lounge which enabled us to have canapes and free drinks before and after dinner.
Would recommend this hotel for cleanliness,comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hants_holiday_makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Hants_holiday_makers,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked the Sofitel as part of a package with meet and greet parking from Maple Manor, via Holiday Extras. We stayed on June 2nd before flying to Antigua.

The hotel was easy to get to and there was just enough room fro our car in the drop off / meet and greet area. The Maple Manor guy was 5 minutes late which having phoned them 20 minutes in advance was a little disappointing but OK. Check in was rapid and the room very pleasant and comfortable. We had dinner at the Urban Café which was excellent and the service was great.

The only downside was the quality of the nights sleep. The room was hot and you can't open the windows. The air con would have been too noisy for me to sleep to. Also the bed was soft so each time we turned the other one was bounced around. Not great but I would stay there again and give it another try. It was clean and fresh and very convenient.

The BIG negative was Maple Manor parking on the way back. We arrived on a Saturday at 5.45am. We collected the luggage and as instructed started calling them at 6am to arrange for the car to be brought to the terminal. It took 50 minutes just to get through and then the operator basically was not interested and made no apology. It took another 15 minutes for the car to arrive. Very disappointing and I would not use them again.

Clearly Maple Manor is nothing to do with the Sofitel hotel and not their fault. I just want people to know that MM are unreliable.

In future I would try the hotel again and book their own in house parking in their multi storey car park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Silver32,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing