We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,979
    2,604
    714
    227
    131
See reviews for
1,282
4,333
529
873
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is a great way to extend your holiday by a day. We have now stayed here four times and every time have been really impressed. Check in was a little slow but once we were in our 8th floor room, we unwind. The bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds i have ever slept in and the soundproofing is fantastic, even though it overlooks the busiest single runway in Europe.
Now lets dispel some of the less favorable comments about the club lounge and the extra cost for this access.
Rita the waitress is a little gem, she keeps the food topped up (the warm french sticks are a dream) and she serves drinks cheerfully and with utmost professionalism. We normally lunch on the way to the airport and then the cold buffet with meats and cheeses are sufficient to keep you going.
I know that the lounge access rooms are normally around £40-£50 more expensive, but....
You are in a 4* hotel and if you are a couple and going to have 2 or 3 drinks in the hotel bar before turning in, well work it out folks, probably about the same as paying the extra and getting your drinks served to you free of charge in a pleasant lounge with free canape's and conti breakfast included the next morning.
I know i sound a bit like a "gimme all the freebies", but honestly this hotel is one of the best airport hotels i have stayed in and the lounge is just a bonus.
I will be back on the 3rd September for my 5th stay, and yes. i have booked the 8th floor.

Room Tip: 8th floor..... just book the 8th floor it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceedee131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Ceedee131,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night this June pre-cruise and everything about the hotel is convenient. Well located to the terminals and for us the train station for our ride next day to Southampton to catch our cruise ship.

The beds was very comfy and the room nice and quiet. We slept very well.

BEST TIP! We'd read that the restaurant at the hotel was top dollar and we were pretty tired to waste a lot of money on a meal so we just bought some beer, snacks and such at the Marks and Spencer right outside the hotel entrance in the airport.

As mentioned a false alarm at about 08:30 am sent us into a panic and we were a bit rattled.

Made our train in plenty of time.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room and ours was. There's a Marks and Spencer in both terminals for in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Bonjour Blye,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It was most unfortunate that our fire detection system was activated and I hope that this did not dampen your experience.

If you do have any special request or requirements prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here the night before our morning flight to Turkey. I was booked as part of a hotel and parking package. We pulled up at the hotel and were met buy a member for the parking staff. Hand over of the car was very smooth. We then went and dropped our bags and the early bag drop in the terminal. Check-in to the hotel was very smooth and the room was superb for the 3 of us. Very short walk across the elevated walkway that links the hotel driectly to the terminal and we were able to find somewhere for dinner. all very hassle free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Simon B,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our early flight. For convenience you probably can't get much better.
There is a walkway from the hotel to the north terminal. If you have driven you park in the multi story car park next door. It really is hassle free.
We paid for the executive suite on the 8th floor. To be fair, it's pretty much the same as the other rooms on lower floors you just get a nice view of the runways and a kind of club lounge for breakfast etc which is quite nice. I probably wouldn't bother paying extra next time as we had breakfast in the airport.
Evening meal was pleasant and the staff friendly.
Would stay again if early flight from north terminal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LPML1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LPML1977,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I was very happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and our location was hassle free for you.

I am glad that you were satisfied with the services and facilities that we have on offer here at the hotel and you were able to relax in our Club Sofitel whilst taking in the great scenery of the runway.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great position, with easy access to the north terminal and a good car park. Executive lounge is well run and has a great view of parts of the runway. Choice of restaurants, comfortable beds but very small and functional bathrooms. We found the service and food in the Oriental Restaurant not up to standard and very gloomy. Bar and reception staff excellent. A good place pre toots flight and so much better than most airport hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Chrissie F,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had an early flight from Gatwick's North Terminal and decided to stay the night before, booking the room on the eighth floor to have access to the club lounge. What a lovely experience it turned out to be! The lounge offered some decent finger foods with good cheese, and a great selection of drinks (including Bailey's!), the lounge server Rita was polite and accommodating, and I got to take some pics of plane landings for my nephew who's an avid planespotter. We ate at the Urban Cafe, and that was also pleasant, with a very good steak from Surrey cows. Overall, we really enjoyed our experience as we initially utilized the hotel only so we wouldn't have to get to Gatwick at an inhumane hour, but we ended up thoroughly enjoying the time there. This was a lovely start to our holiday, and we will happily return to the Sofitel at Gatwick. Will even try them out in the future at Heathrow if needed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessiedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear TessiDriver,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were satisfied with the selection of food and drink we have on offer in our Club Sofitel and I will certainly pass your comments onto our Head Chef regarding your steak in our Urban Cafe. I have also personally praised Rita for her hard work in our Club Sofitel.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing