We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pre-flight hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good pre-flight hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here with our children the night before catching an early flight. We had booked a family room and what we got was superb. We had our own room with en-suite bathroom and the kids had a huge room the connected with ours. It was all really clean and well appointed and even though we could sit and watch the planes coming in from the rooms, we didn't get any noise at all. We had dinner in the chinese restaurant and this was also very good. Our waiter was superb and even made a small origami plane for our youngest daughter. In the morning, we just walked straight out of the hotel and into the terminal, which was really easy and I guess, why this hotel is that bit more expensive than others. For us, it was worth every penny when travelling with two children. We had also paid to park the car here for two weeks and took advantage of the park and fly service. This was great as we just drove into the hotel car park, took our luggage upstairs and then we were allowed to keep the keys till morning and drop off a small bag to the boot of the car with our travbel clothes in and a few bits I couldn't squeeze into the suitcase! The car was waiting for us on return and was fine. A good experience all round that made travelling early in the morning that bit easier.

Room Tip: all are very similar so you can't go wrong, but if you have children, book a family suite - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour AnnieLincolnshire,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,673
    2,464
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,185
4,036
497
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our third stay at the Sofitel and it's consistently proven to be a good Hotel. The staff are particularly attentive, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. The beds are particularly nice and comfortable. We had requested a view of the airfield, and we were lucky get a 5th floor room that gave us this. The service in the atrium area was very prompt and efficient, it's a great area to sit and catch up with e mails / work etc. The Bar staff were similarly quietly efficient ( there when you needed them but attentive without being overbearing) . It's location means that you have food options a plenty if you don't wish to eat or drink in the Hotel. It was difficult to fault anything at all and it was so nice to leave the bustle of the airport and as soon as you walked into the Hotel it felt calm and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Bonjour Martin D

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Does absolutely everything you can expect from an airport hotel. The rooms are pretty well appointed there is a good choice of food and the bar isn't too bad either. Once there you don't even have to venture outside again to get to the terminal so it's a very easy start to a trip for business or pleasure

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Davidh1977,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent Saturday night availing of the park and fly deal .On arrival with our vehicle we were shown where to park and our bags were taken to check in for us , check in very smooth and we were allocated a room on the 8 th floor . The room itself was reasonable with a very comfortable bed but the thing that let it down in a bad way was the bathroom , it was compact but the worst part was the shower which was wall mounted in the bath with a shower curtain , it was awful and not what I would expect from a Sofitel hotel . We had a second room booked and when I went to check in with my friend on his arrival the receptionist informed him that he had been upgraded to a room with lounge access ,I was a little surprised as I had booked the rooms and used my loyalty card in doing so , I asked her how come he had been upgraded and I hadn't ? Her reply was ' sir you were already upgraded when you checked in ' , I was pleasantly surprised but shocked that I had not been informed of this by the girl who had checked me in !!!
We did use the lounge and the snacks and drinks on offer were of a good standard and the service was excellent , an added bonus was being able to watch the World Cup final in a nice relaxed setting with a free bar !!
Overall I would use this hotel again but I do hope they are planning some room upgrades .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Bonjour Andjayne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and were able to get a good night’s rest in our Sofitel ‘MyBed’. However, I was disappointed to learn of the dissatisfaction you have expressed regarding your bathroom and check-in experience. You will be happy to know that we are undergoing maintenance of our shower screens and hope to have these installed as soon as possible. I have also passed your comments onto our Front of House Manager, to ensure that all upgrades are explained to our guests upon check-in.

I do hope that you experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and I hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here due to having an early departure from North Terminal.

Although the property is immediately next to an area with frequent aircraft movements, the triple glazing is excellent and we slept like babies. The bed was also wonderfully comfortable.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but did have a glass of wine in one of the bars. Service was excellent and the ambience relaxing.

In the morning, check out was friendly and efficient and the terminal just a short 5 minute stroll.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you're taking an early flight from Gatwick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_James_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Bonjour N_James_F

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback relating to your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay, and also that you had the time to take refreshment in one of our bars.

If you would like to book a runway view for future stays with us, then please contact us directly at slg@sofitelgatwick.com .

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as a quick stop-over on my way overseas. The staff were very friendly & helpful and my room was tidy, clean & modern. I was a late arrival so just ordered room service. It arrived quicker than expected & tasted delicious.

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dubzbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Dubzbugz,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing