We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before flying out from the South Terminal. Booked a c
Ub room which was not cheap but worth every penny. The lounge was very nice with a lovely selection of food and drink with a lovely staff member. You can watch the planes take off and
And which is a real plus.
Room was clean and on the 8th floor. Reception was lovely and easy check in. We were early too and that was no problem. Drinks were good and normal price for hotel at a airport. You should know that if you travel.
Only minus side was the restaurant (the Oriental) it was awful and the staff rude but they have nothing to do with the hotel. Nice way to,start a holiday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Mark D,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,680
    2,469
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,186
4,044
499
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely hotel with the most comfortable beds and pillows we have ever experienced. We were enjoying a good meal when the alarm went off and we had to decamp to the car park. It was fortunately a false alarm but our meal was cold on return but we were immediately offered a replacement (declined because we had eaten more than half before the alarm went off) and the checking in and out of the car and ourselves was smooth and efficient. We will do this again.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor but the lifts are quick. We overlooked the shuttle train service between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janicecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Bonjour janicecambs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sofitel London Gatwick.

I was pleased to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep and enjoyed the “MyBed” Sofitel beds and that our alarm did not subtract from your overall enjoyment of your stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brockenhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Sifitel at gatwick airport was an excellent place to stay and keep our care prior to our trip to Verona. A 4 day trip meant that our care could stay at the hotel carpark for no extra charge. Good venue, pleasant staff and 2 minutesd walk to the terminals.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekbrowne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Derekbrowne24,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was really impressed by hotel conditions and overall atmosphere.
Room was spacious enough. Good breakfast.
Cons.:
- There was no window (objective reason, airport close by), but over the night was forced to switch conditioning system.
- Some towels were clean but smelled with lemon acid or smth similar.

Summary for a price 79 Pounds per night (probably corporate rate) this was very good hotel!
Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Better rooms starting from 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour J333333,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were recommened this hotel from our tour operator. We were travelling from Gatwick for the first time. Our train shuttle was simple and flowed into the terminal. We couldn't see the signs for the Hotel clearly, tho this may have been us. The staff near this area were less than helpful. Finally we get there. The walk down to the hotel was very plush and pleasant. It looked very impressive. So top marks for the hotel up to now!!!!!! We were swiftly booked in and followed directions for our room. On entering there was a massive window with FAB views for our child who loves to watch the planes coming and going. We then noticed there was NO bed for our son. We rang reception SIX times to no answer. The room was very small and we couldn't possibly see where the bed was going to go.????
We didn't unpacked the overnight bags as we expected to move rooms. We all made for the reception, we explained we tried to ring them 6 times and the reply was "oh we were busy". We calmly explained our situation and the lady said its ok we will have a bed moved into your room. We explained there was no room and she replied "oh there is, lol".
We decided to go to the bar for a drink. Oh my goodness, £6:60 for a pint. We never paid that on a cruise or an international sports game. We were shocked but had to pay it. What else can you do. We had our drink and left to see the bed in place!!!!! It was placed smack bang in front of the window in front of the chair and we could sit in the chair or move around the main bed without clambering over the double bed. Absolutely ridiculous.
We kept cool and went to get some thing to eat. There was a good selection of eating and drinking. We decided the expensive prices were not going to spoilt our hols. Bite the bullet and pay up.
Our son ate from the Kids menu and we ordered from the normal menu. We had eaten our starters and were still waiting for our drinks and wine. Our main meals were just ok. Our sons main meal should have come with the starter it finally came out after we received our main. For goodness sake its was a pizza. We complained to the waiter and he said "so sorry" he was rushed off his feet. He offered us a free glass of wine though we had only just received our bottle!!!!!!. We got our lovely desserts promptly and they were lovely. We are still awaiting our free glass of wine!!!! So we are at the end of the meal and hubby asked for the bill. He went to pay without checking the bill. On checking it. We were booked in for meals inclusive and this was clearly NOT taken off the bill. We again went to reception. They said would sort it by the morning. Why they couldn't do this then and there I really do not know. We had a lovely night sleep and packed and ready to go went to sort the previous night bill out. Too our astonishment they asked us to pay the whole bill and they would refund the inclusive meals onto our card asap. We were totally astonished. We had to leave paying a higher price. We explained to the lady at reception our concerns she was not bothered in the slightest and just replied "sorry". I would never stay here. Pathetic standards with toooo high price. One of the hotels next door will be our choice and we know the standards and the price is worth it.
Well we had a grt night sleep

Room Tip: only don't stay here if you expect good value and quality service and decent food, as we certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CornishJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Cornishjedi,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TETNEY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a one night stay here, before catching an early morning flight. Highly recommend this hotel- no noise at all-even though only a short walk from the terminal. Fantastic service at reception, excellent restaurants, wonderful room etc. It was a lovely relaxing start to our holiday flight. We left the car in their care(all inclusive), which was driven round to us on our return journey. The biggest benefit was that it is only a short walk from the hotel to the terminal- and all under cover!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Bonjour Valerie C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel London Gatwick.

I was glad to hear that you were pleased with our hospitality and accommodation that we provide in the hotel and I will of course pass your kind comments to our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing