We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel with reasonably priced food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel with reasonably priced food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to a longhaul flight, booking into the prestidge suite. On arrival our resavation was found quickly and the bell boy was so helpful and informative. Our room was clean and overlooked the runway which was interesting to watch. The room was comfortable and we were able to sleep well. In the morning the staff were concerned our wake up call did not sound so personally visited the room, we were up but felt reassured by this.

The club room offers a good selection of nibbles and you can wait in here until a restaurant table is available. There are a number of restaurants offering a wide selection of foods. These are fairly priced, not like other airport hotels.

Again in the morning the bell boy was helpful and checkout was very easy.

This is our 5th time here and we will keep coming back.

Room Tip: club rooms are worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Nadia M,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,950
    2,587
    706
    224
    130
See reviews for
1,262
4,308
526
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

As soon as you drive up to this hotel, you know it is first class. The room was spotless, the location perfect and the staff outstanding. And I would not look at any other hotel if I were you. It simply does not get any better :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morley1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bonjour morley1966,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with our accommodation and services here at the hotel.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived into gatwick and the signposts to the hotel were very poor, eventually found the way and reception staff were rude with about 5 staff doing nothing whilst a big queue to check in was forming! Got to room and it was nothing special. Nothing in mini bar, not even a water and the room service menu was missing out of hotel information booklet. Basically definitely not what I expect from a five star!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vict0ria_h240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Vict0ria_h240,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been using the Sofitel at Gatwick airport for the last few years as a stopover prior to travelling out of Gatwick to avoid the M25 traffic and stress. Parking is onsite and each time we have stayed the check in of both the car and us has been very quick and efficient. Whether you are travelling from the North or the South Terminal the hotel is perfectly located as its next to the monorail so you can be over at the South Terminal in a few minutes. The rooms we have stayed in have always been of a decent size for 2 adults and a child and are of a good standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Bonjour Sallyk74,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and your stay with us was convenient and stress free!

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had one night at the hotel before an early morning flight out of the North Terminal Conveniently located with its own walkway to the Terminal, it was a great place to stay. Efficient, warm welcome at Reception, well appointed room with comfortable twin beds, and reasonable food in the Cafe Restaurant in the large Atrium ( choice of two restaurants). Excellent buffet breakfast the following morning.

Much better than an early haul up to Gatwick, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Psychoeric,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here overnight with a week's parking, because of it is within walking distance of the airport. The car reception was very efficient and so was check in - in a vast foyer with restaurants and bars built around it. The room was clean and functional but with toiletries for one and minimal supplies of milk. However, that said, they were instantly augmented. The phone did not work, but was working within minutes of reporting it. We had a lovely, if somewhat pricey, meal at the Terrace Brasserie and left early in the morning after an efficient checkout. I cannot find fault with the amenities (except the lack of a swimming pool) or staff. I just went away feeling that it was rather impersonal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Bonjour JaneMay,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel London Gatwick.

I was very pleased that you found our accommodation to your satisfaction and that overall you had an enjoyable experience. With regards to your additional comment about the service, I am sorry that you felt it was rather impersonal. I have addressed this with the heads of department, and your feedback has been taken on board, this enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

Please contact our Guest Relations team prior to your next booking on 01293 555100 or e-mail guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com so that we can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I booked pre-flight overnight accommodation and two weeks parking at the hotel. On arrival I was told to drive into the car park and find a space. There weren't any spaces in the car park. There were at least 6 cars waiting for spaces. The staff were not helpful and did not have a suitable system for dealing with this situation. After a long drive to the air port this was not appreciated. I only got a space because I was driving round the car park and found a lady searching for get car looking to leave the car park. I gave her a lift to find her car and went in her space. This is the worst hotel holiday parking experience I have ever had...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Beagle02,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing