We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Works well for airport hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Works well for airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Sofitel London Gatwick is of course an airport hotel. And compared to the other gatwick hotels, I feel that the Sofitel is probably the best of them. We regularly stay at the Sofitel a number of times a year overnight, and we've never had any problems with it. The rooms are functional, comfortable and clean. The bedding is very comfortable. The bathroom is also relatively modern and clean. The wi-fi, whilst you have to pay for the premium package, has a reasonable speed.

Perhaps some other reviewers expect a great deal more, but for what you are paying for I think the Sofitel does the job very well. Also don't forget, it is connected by a walkway right to the north terminal and the shuttle monorail, which makes it very conveniently located.

Room Tip: Outside rooms generally nicer feel (more light), runway facing can be good if you like plane spottin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour HenryFletcher,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,663
    2,462
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,184
4,028
496
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Since this was the first night in a hotel for the start of our honeymoon we decided to go with something a bit more luxurious than the average airport hotel and based on the reviews decided the Sofitel would be a good choice. We were noted on their system as honeymooners so despite this sounding rather cheeky we did expect some level of acknowledgement which other guests we know of have received in the past. The check-in was quite efficient but we didn't get any room "upgrade" or welcome of any type so we just unpacked a few things and had a little bit of a rest. Later that evening we decided to dine at the "La Brasserie" with my partners sister and her husband. The meal was excellent.

During the meal my partners sister went up to the hotel front desk and enquired about why no acknowledgement had been made of the honeymoon. She had in fact called herself prior to our arrival to inform them of this. At this point a member of staff wanted to change our room which was a bit of a hassle as we had unpacked a few items already but I went up to the room quickly to assist them in moving our luggage. We didn't check the new room until after we had finished dinner but the new room was one on the top floor. Upon taking a look inside we found it was the same type of room however the one we had been given was of a more outdated style than the previous and on top of that didn't look like it had been cleaned particularly well. Since it was late we gave up and went to bed.

We did have a peaceful night's sleep which was good but didn't bother with breakfast the following morning and opted to have something to eat when we got to the BA lounge inside the terminal.

The location itself is fantastic and despite the poor review I would stay again based purely on the convenience of the hotel and the quality of the dining. However I feel it's a bit far-fetched to call it a luxury experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexBGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour AlexBGibraltar,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

stayed one night prior to an early morning flight. Booked as a 'hidden hotel' for £95.
Couldnt have been better. Quick check in, room was comfy and great view of the planes and terminal building, although soooo quiet.
Was nervous about where we would eat reasonably. But we ate fabulous burger and all the trimmings and had a bottle of wine, for normal pub prices, in the bar.
Great nights sleep, and a short walk to the terminal....bliss!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Bonjour cate j,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Sofitel London Gatwick.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the services and facilities that we provide in the hotel and I will of course pass your kind comments to our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I really like this hotel, and have spent a total of around 15 nights there. It's the most expensive Gatwick hotel I believe, and it certainly feels the most luxurious. Very professional and polite staff, extremely comfortable rooms, great shower and good sound proofing.
I'm not a snob, I've stayed in some really dreadful places eg. £3 per night in Cairo, as well as some of the best, but if I'm paying £125 per night there are certain things I don't really want to see.
This hotel, despite being the priciest at Gatwick, seems to attract a lot of very scruffy people on 1 night stays. We're talking shorts, t shirts, sandals, trainers, even late in the evening when it's near freezing outside. Loads of badly behaved children running around screaming, jumping up and down on the sofas in reception in outdoor shoes, totally unchecked by their parents, every single night I've been there.
As I said in the title, this hotel is a bit of a contradiction. It's the most expensive and luxurious at Gatwick, but in the bar they have football blaring out from the tv, rather than some nice laid back music, and this only serves to encourage the rather chavvy clientele.
The breakfast buffet has good quality food, very nice eggs and bacon. At £17 I think it's fair value. I'd love to try dinner there, but at around £100 with wine for 1 person I'm just not prepared to risk having an expensive meal ruined by having uncontrolled kids running around the tables screaming, unchecked by their chavvy, short and trainer wearing parents. I expect that in McDonalds when I'm paying £2..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilystoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Wilystoat,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a park and fly package. Arrived, parked, transferred to the North Terminal for a BA Long haul 12 hour flight to Mauritius with BA. Parking reception OK, BA flight excellent, Mauritius hotel good to very good, return flight with BA also excellent.
Arrived back for overnight stay at Sofitel - check-in poor to average had to explain the booking not once, not twice, but eventually they 'got it'. Decide to have a room service light meal and early night after travelling 12+hours, plus airport formalities ~ say 16 hour day.
Room service menu very poor, Fish and Chips, Burger n Chips, Soup n Roll, or Pizza. All with 12.5% Service charge and £3 Tray charge. So for two drinks and two 'meals' we had yes you guessed - 2 Tray charges albeit for one er..... tray! Needless to say that was challenged and to be fair they fessed up and said it was a er... mistake. Got up early for breakfast -they start at 6:30AM for cooked breakfast, prior to that its continental only. So arrived at 6:30AM on the dot, the cooked breakfast was luke warm and stewed, should have had the continental - what a mistake.
So was stopping at the Sofitel Gatwick.
Grossly overrated and priced, no help with luggage, and by the way the way from the concierge, "the car parks over there....!"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Bonjour rodders52,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and you felt there was lack of choice from our 24 hour Room Service menu. Our Breakfast is available from 5am, where a continental breakfast is served, however from 5:30am onwards you are able to order hot breakfast items from our a la carte menu and the chef would be happy to prepare this for you. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future and hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Chailey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had early flight from North Terminal so treated ourselves to room. Very clean, comfortable beds. Clean bathroom, nice toiletries. Nice atmosphere, very quiet. Staff polite. Very quick walk to north terminal check-in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianroyston3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Brianroyston3059,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing