We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel catering for one night stopovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a clean, well run hotel. We stayed there on a 14 day park and stay package, prior to flying on an early morning flight. It's clear from other customers in the lobby that this type of overnight stay makes up a lot of the clientele. In that respect the hotel is a bit noisier and has more kids running around than you might expect for it's star rating. The location is ideal for the North terminal and it's possible to walk from the reception to check-in in about 5 minutes. This alone makes it somewhere I would willingly stay in again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank TifTifUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour TifTifUK,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,084 - 4,090 of 8,070 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here before a morning BA transatlantic flight. Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and air con was easily controlled. There was an error on the booking (we were missing a room!) but this was quickly and seamlessly sorted out. We have overnighted at other hotels at Gatwick and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Boo_Radleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Bonjour The_Boo_Radleys,

Thank you kindly for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you had your issue resolved on check-in efficiently by our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed your stay with us here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Sofitel London Gatwick is of course an airport hotel. And compared to the other gatwick hotels, I feel that the Sofitel is probably the best of them. We regularly stay at the Sofitel a number of times a year overnight, and we've never had any problems with it. The rooms are functional, comfortable and clean. The bedding is very comfortable. The bathroom is also relatively modern and clean. The wi-fi, whilst you have to pay for the premium package, has a reasonable speed.

Perhaps some other reviewers expect a great deal more, but for what you are paying for I think the Sofitel does the job very well. Also don't forget, it is connected by a walkway right to the north terminal and the shuttle monorail, which makes it very conveniently located.

Room Tip: Outside rooms generally nicer feel (more light), runway facing can be good if you like plane spottin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour HenryFletcher,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Inspectorjon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Since this was the first night in a hotel for the start of our honeymoon we decided to go with something a bit more luxurious than the average airport hotel and based on the reviews decided the Sofitel would be a good choice. We were noted on their system as honeymooners so despite this sounding rather cheeky we did expect some level of acknowledgement which other guests we know of have received in the past. The check-in was quite efficient but we didn't get any room "upgrade" or welcome of any type so we just unpacked a few things and had a little bit of a rest. Later that evening we decided to dine at the "La Brasserie" with my partners sister and her husband. The meal was excellent.

During the meal my partners sister went up to the hotel front desk and enquired about why no acknowledgement had been made of the honeymoon. She had in fact called herself prior to our arrival to inform them of this. At this point a member of staff wanted to change our room which was a bit of a hassle as we had unpacked a few items already but I went up to the room quickly to assist them in moving our luggage. We didn't check the new room until after we had finished dinner but the new room was one on the top floor. Upon taking a look inside we found it was the same type of room however the one we had been given was of a more outdated style than the previous and on top of that didn't look like it had been cleaned particularly well. Since it was late we gave up and went to bed.

We did have a peaceful night's sleep which was good but didn't bother with breakfast the following morning and opted to have something to eat when we got to the BA lounge inside the terminal.

The location itself is fantastic and despite the poor review I would stay again based purely on the convenience of the hotel and the quality of the dining. However I feel it's a bit far-fetched to call it a luxury experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexBGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour AlexBGibraltar,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

stayed one night prior to an early morning flight. Booked as a 'hidden hotel' for £95.
Couldnt have been better. Quick check in, room was comfy and great view of the planes and terminal building, although soooo quiet.
Was nervous about where we would eat reasonably. But we ate fabulous burger and all the trimmings and had a bottle of wine, for normal pub prices, in the bar.
Great nights sleep, and a short walk to the terminal....bliss!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Bonjour cate j,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Sofitel London Gatwick.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the services and facilities that we provide in the hotel and I will of course pass your kind comments to our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I really like this hotel, and have spent a total of around 15 nights there. It's the most expensive Gatwick hotel I believe, and it certainly feels the most luxurious. Very professional and polite staff, extremely comfortable rooms, great shower and good sound proofing.
I'm not a snob, I've stayed in some really dreadful places eg. £3 per night in Cairo, as well as some of the best, but if I'm paying £125 per night there are certain things I don't really want to see.
This hotel, despite being the priciest at Gatwick, seems to attract a lot of very scruffy people on 1 night stays. We're talking shorts, t shirts, sandals, trainers, even late in the evening when it's near freezing outside. Loads of badly behaved children running around screaming, jumping up and down on the sofas in reception in outdoor shoes, totally unchecked by their parents, every single night I've been there.
As I said in the title, this hotel is a bit of a contradiction. It's the most expensive and luxurious at Gatwick, but in the bar they have football blaring out from the tv, rather than some nice laid back music, and this only serves to encourage the rather chavvy clientele.
The breakfast buffet has good quality food, very nice eggs and bacon. At £17 I think it's fair value. I'd love to try dinner there, but at around £100 with wine for 1 person I'm just not prepared to risk having an expensive meal ruined by having uncontrolled kids running around the tables screaming, unchecked by their chavvy, short and trainer wearing parents. I expect that in McDonalds when I'm paying £2..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank wilystoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Wilystoat,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing