We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - we arrived early on a freezing cold day and were able to check in early which was very nice. Room (622) was warm, clean, and well equipped and we had a nice view of the planes taking off! We had dinner at the Brasserie which was absolutely delicious and was included in our room rate (a special offer, booked direct with the hotel). After a long hot soak in the bath with lovely L'Occitane toiletries, a great dinner and a super comfortable bed we both had a great night's sleep. Whilst there was extensive construction going on outside we didn't hear any noise at all - the hotel seems to be very well soundproofed. The access tunnel from the North Terminal was partially closed but it's a pretty short walk from the Terminal to the hotel so we didn't feel this to be much of an inconvenience - a bit chilly in the winter but otherwise fine. Breakfast was also delicious and included in our room rate. All in all, a great stay. I would suggest that if you are thinking of staying here you check the hotel's own website aswell as any other hotel booking sites - in this case we actually got a better deal by booking direct. However, it's always best to search around as often this is not the case.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour SoloTravelGal,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,790)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7,197 - 7,203 of 7,790 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

A slight problem on this stay was the work being done at Gatwick which made a detour necessary to reach the hotel. However, this was not the hotels fault and is only temporary. The standards at this hotel are hard to beat, from the friendly welcome and information given by the reception staff to the bar staff, restaurant staff and cleaning staff. The rooms are warm and comfortable, the food is great, nothing is too much trouble and you feel as though you start your holiday from this point on. We took friends with us this time and they felt the same as us and we are all returning again at the start of our next holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour robsanPlymouth,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We spent 2 nights at the hotel Christmas Eve and New Years day before and after our holiday. I have stayed at a number of hotels around Gatwick and for the past few years I always stay at the Sofitel as it is the best and the most convienient.
The food in the terrace restaurant was ok but very small portions, and on Christmas eve the bar service was very slow and a number of people did complain but there was alot of people in the hotel that night. I think this was also due to the chinese restaurant and the other bar being closed. The food on New Years day in the brasserie was excellent and the service was far better and more like the service we usually have. The shuttle is closed between the north and south terminal so if you are travelling from the south you need to book the bus at the hotel in advance which I think was £2.00 each way. If you are travelling from the North it doesnt make a difference you just have to take the lift in the car park to the ground floor and walk accross the road.
Even though service wasnt as good on Christmas Eve I would still recommend this hotel as the best in Gatwick.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUSTYBREEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour BUSTYBREEZER,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Excellent hotel and staff would highly recommend it to anybody however we booked meet and greet parking through the hotel and the company was called Maple Manor which was a very disappointing service.
They collected the car efficiently when we arrived at the hotel but when we come back from our long haul flight we just wanted to get home and when we went to collect the car it took us 45min just to get through to them by phone as this is the procedure. When we eventually got through it took another 40 Mins for them to meet us with our car.
Overall the holiday and hotel experience was great but we most definitely wouldn't book through Maple manor meet and greet parking again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Angela_Paddy,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We choosed the hotel because of the direct access to the terminal. And we didn`t regret it. Nice reception area with restaurants. As other people has mentioned the room is very soundproof, from planes and other guests. Very nice beds. We would stay at this hotel again if we`re flying from Gatwick another time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-D-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour P-D-Norway,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

The receptionists we dealt with were very friendly and cheerful.

We were in room 420. The room was a good size for an airport hotel and very light and bright with large windows - it overlooked the carpark but you don't stay at airports for the view!! It was spotlessly clean and all the fixtures and fittings were in a good state of repair.

The bathroom was good, again very clean and, the water piping hot but it made one heck of a racket as the bath filled up! The shower was lovely and powerful and the towels fluffy.

The bed was large, had a wonderfully soft feather mattress topper and duvet so was lovely and comfortable, we slept well. The air conditioning was a little noisy but not enough to keep you awake.

The room had a safe, fridge, a beverage tray with lovely large mugs on it (the staff came quickly when we asked for extra coffee sachets).

Only down points; the early morning alarm on the tv did not activate and we couldn't use the 'express checkout' on the tv as it wasn't working! You could hear the 'planes take off in the room - I know that sounds daft but at many airports you don't hear any aircraft noise.

We left too early to try the breakfast. We went and got something from the 'Simply M&S' in the North Terminal to snack on in the room.

We were very happy with the deal we got, as for about £10 extra we got 15 days car parking thrown in and it was very easy and quick to walk to the North Terminal for checking in.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Dedicatedtraveller,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here prior to an early flight to Mexico. Having read the reviews I was really looking forward to this one – overall though I was rather disappointed. The major problem was that having retired to bed at 10.00 pm drilling started outside our window -there is major construction work being undertaken at Gatwick. I rang reception to ask if the drilling was likely to be going all night to be told yes! To be fair, we were moved straight away to an atrium (inward facing) room, but why put guests in airport facing rooms where it is known there is a significant degree of noise, especially when the hotel is half empty? This ruined my sleep as on two different occasions I had to return to the old room to collect documents etc I had forget to pack in the rush. This aside the hotel is impressive in its grandeur but a little soulless. I accept that by definition most guests are somewhat transient in airport hotels so it must be hard to build up any rapport. But this is supposed to be a luxury hotel after all so I would expect more in the way of ‘emotional labour’. The receptionists were willing enough but the bar staff were at best robotic. Drinks were, for example, deposited along with a command to ‘enjoy’ (ironically I assume?) with no eye contact or smile etc. I would use the Sofitel again because it is so convenient being connected to the airport but as an airport hotel per se I much prefer the Holiday Inn Grand Plaza

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristol-City-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Bristol-City-Peter,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £97 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing